We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Marco to your Saves list
Hotel San Marco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villafranca 1, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #485 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived very late at night but registering at reception was straight forward and helpful. Rooms are basic with welcoming air conditioning and everything is clean with the beds being comfortable. We stayed 3 nights while in Rome then returned for 2 nights after our cruise. We slept peacfully at night with no disturbances. The breakfast included gave plenty of choice.

The people on reception were very helpful and understanding. Nothing was a trouble. We always went to the bar area late in the afternoon for drinks and chatted with the girls on reception. They printed off information for us and also our airline online confirmations. I went to the reception one day to find about twenty people checking in and returned in 30 minutes to find they had all been dealt with and my query could be done.

The Hotel is convienently located to Termini Station and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: If a couple advise you wish a double otherwise the beds ar made up as singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    90
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
40
97
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is situated in a good position close to the city and walking distance to the railway station. The room was only small but clean with a shuttered window opening out to a lovely view. There were lots of places close by to eat and the area was clean and friendly. No clock or hair conditioner in the room though but I would definately stay there again. We LOVED Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel is very close to Castro Pretorio Station e not so far from Termini, what is a good point.

The breakfast isn't bad, but without fruits or an apparatus to warm cheese in the bread. They can improve the breakfast with low investments.

The room is old but very clean. There are several options in the cable TV.

The staff is not friendly specially at the front desk.

The elevator is for only two people. I was in the 6th floor and was always scared using it.

If you will stay one or two nights in Rome it can be a huge option, but if you are looking for comfort avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We just had to walk to reach the hotel from Roma termini, indeed close-by . Hotel is nice and quaint however my initial experience with the hotel receptionist was quite shocking !. The lady could barely handle pressure of handling 3 client who are peacefully standing in a queue to collect their room keys.they had serious issues with room check-in process , they would not let guest enter their rooms until 2 pm even if the earlier guest had vacated before 10 am. Was a bit peeved by their service at that moment .
The rooms were standard , ok decor,clean sheets .bathrooms were clean.
There are many dining options close-by . access to Roma tourist locations was very convenient through metro line 5 mins away from Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Good location, could walk to most attractions, front desk staff were very helpful although we had to get over a bit of a language barrier as we only speak english and some staff only had broken english if any. Having said this we specified english speaking hotels when booking the trip. Our room was over a restaurant who cleaned up their bottles at 2am every morning, so a wee bit noisy. Our room was good - tv, small fridge, free wifi - bed was very hard. Breakfast was delicious a fantastic choice of cereal, cold meats and cheeses, cooked eggs, bacon, fruit juices etc - very yummy. The lift was tiny, so be prepared to go up one at a time with your luggage, we managed to fit two in at a time (with our luggage) but it wasn't easy :) also no tea & coffee making facilities in the room (but this may just be standard in Europe)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Rome was our last destination in the Europe tour ( France - Switzerland - Italy). We had three rooms booked months in advance at San Marco. However, on arrival, we were told there was NO third room available! We had to literally argue our way through to get the required no of rooms. upon check in we realized that the bathroom of one of the room was stinking badly and the basin was out of water. We were in a generally nice mood and would not have cribbed but the front office manager was really rude. He made it look like it was our fault...almost! He refused to act on the situation and after a lot of argument agreed to even come up and inspect the room. After this initial issue, we thought the rest of the stay would be smooth, but the AC in two rooms was not working! there was a control panel in the room but the AC vent was empty...Again the manager said that NO hotels in entire Rome had AC...it was unbelievable as the third room AC was working just fine! The staff at the Bar was also equally rude. We needed some hot water. But they told us we can give you hot water but not the kettle/ any vessel to carry it in. They simple did not understand hospitality or even the fact that we were actually paying for our stay and not staying there free of cost.

The breakfast was more than pathetic. Most of the bread was not even fresh. The three days we stayed there, we did not have breakfast even though we were booked on Bed & Breakfast basis.

If the keep the staff behavior aside, the hotel is quite nice...value for money.
Rooms are spacious enough. Metro station is near by and many eateries at a walking distance.

But I am sure Rome out of all the places has hundreds of better options for hotel that offer the above plus hospitable staff.
Considering we dropped a coin at the Trevi fountain ...! and will definitely return to Rome, we are certain that we will not stay at San Marco again and wouldn't advise anyone else to.

Room Tip: Don't Stay here...Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

After flying all the way from Australia via Dubai,we arrived late afternoon in Rome to discover that the room we had payed for a MONTH ($856.00 A Dollars) before and which had been confirmed was not available..HUH!..They then panned us off to another hotel the Milani which after travelling around the world I would rate as the biggest dump ever.My wife was in tears and the stress was unbelievable...We did not stay at the Milani and were lucky to find an apartment courtesy of a local restaurant owner ....@ 70 Euros /Night...San Marco ..your incompetence and off handed attitude was breathtaking and I will spread the word

Room Tip: Do not book hotels through a travel agent as they cannot guarantee that you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via Villafranca 1, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #485 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.