We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Village & Camping

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Village & Camping to your Saves list
Happy Village & Camping
Via Prato della Corte 1915, 00123 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

What a fantastic campsite! We camped in a small tent here for 4 nights and had a great time. The sites were small but large enough for a car and a small tent. The bathrooms were clean and the free shuttle bus to the train station was a fantastic service. We never had to wait long to get to or from the station. It took about half an hour or so to get from the train station to the city (you change trains once to get to the centre of Rome).

Our most favourite thing about this camp site was the onsite restaurant and shop. We ate here most nights of our stay. The food was delicious, reasonably priced, and there was a good variety. My husband celebrated his birthday during our stay and one of the staff came and sang happy birthday to him in Italian. It was the highlight of his day! The staff are very friendly and helpful too and there are three computers with access to the Internet.

I would recommend this campsite to anyone - it was the best one we stayed at in Europe during our month camping.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — distance to the city
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    28
    16
    14
See reviews for
30
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Had a brilliant two stops here as myself and my wife travelled Italy July 2007. The food on site was excellent and would recommend to all. Ideal location for day trips to Rome as the site provides a bus service to the train station then Rome in 5mins. The staff were all freindly and pleasant. We stayed in one of the sites chalets which was good and the air conditioning was a bonus. This site is ideal for families.

David James-Ash

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Happy Village has great cabins that slept 4 comfortably in 2 air conditioned rooms. The cabin had a full bathroom and a fridge. The restaurant had great, cheap pizza and the morning coffee was perfect. Stefano at the front desk, who spoke perfect English, was especially helpful going the extra mile to liason between us and our rental car agency for an issue we had. It is close to Rome and the shuttle service worked great.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

Overall we liked Happy Camping. It was an easy off from the Ring Road around Rome, and then Happy Camping gives you a shuttle to the train station of Prima Porta where you ride down to the Flaminia Metro stop (have to pay again for the Metro, so factor that part in). There are maybe 5 camping facilities in this same area that all give free shuttles to the same train stop, so the others might also be good. We liked Happy Camping so we returned twice more, finding it clean and easy to use.

A couple more comments:
1. Need your own toilet paper. Otherwise toilets, showers, etc were clean and modern (not so at all camping facilities) and there was actually hot water as stated.
2. They have a pizzeria and store....these were nice to have and made life very easy. Also fresh pastries and cappucino in the morning. Yum.
3. Pool hours are 1000 to 2000, much more generous than most of the camping places we stayed on our trip. They also did not require a bathing cap. Other places were closed for swimming at 1900, who is ready to get out on a hot summer day at 1900, especially kids??? And the hair cap thing is just plain annoying.
4. When they say that their last shuttle pickup is 2030 they mean it. We waited for the train back but it didn't come on time so we were there at 2037 and they would not come back and pick us up no matter the pleading. We had to hire a taxi for 30euro, a whopper of a penalty!
5. We did not find the staff particularly friendly for the registration, but the store/pizzeria staff were wonderful.
6. Considering all the other places we camped, we rated this one tops, except for the missed shuttle at 2030.

Overall, a great place to station yourself for Rome.

  • Liked — inexpensive, convenient, clean
  • Disliked — a bit curt on the registration staff and too early return shuttle from Rome
  • Tips/Secrets — don't miss the last shuttle!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Village & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Village & Camping

Address: Via Prato della Corte 1915, 00123 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Shuttle Bus from Happy Camping to the nearby Metro station of Prima Porta, which allows to reach the old city center (Piazzale Flaminio) in just 18 minutes. Completely new bungalow with or without bathroom with or without kitchen. All with small private garden. Swimming pool for adults with fully equipped solarium + supervised swimming pool for children (open from May to September). Bar with porch and T.V. room, market, pizzeria and panoramic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Happy Village & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Village And Camping
Happy Village & Camping Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Village & Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.