We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save-up, it is special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portrait Roma to your Saves list
Portrait Roma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites) (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Save-up, it is special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I was here for business, but all I could think about was bringing my wife on the next trip. The terrace that overlooks the Spanish steps is magical and very romantic. The quality of the rooms is TOP notch, showers full of power and voluminous water, and the bed linens make you want to live in them. But, the ideal location beckons you on with galleries, shopping, architecture, food and atmosphere. The photographs on the walls add a timeless feel that accentuates the elegance of the hotel: understated and luxurious, and quality all the way!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
246
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

So much for the hype but little value. Prices are extortionate for what is classed as your average fair. Would have been ideal if there were some extra services. Overall a nice stay but way to expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Finley M.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.We truly regret that you did not feel that our service levels were where they should be. We pride ourselves our ensuring that every guest is looked after, with the most care.

While we commit to offering an ultra-luxury experience, we do not label ourselves with a specific star rating. Based on the Lifestyle and Guest Assistant Team services, amenities and product, we believe we provide one of the most unique hotel experience, thanks overall to all the Staff, with his daily efforts to welcome and personalize each single stay, with individual preferences and wishes.

We truly value your opinion and hope to welcome you back in the future. I remain at your disposal if I can ever be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The rating on TripAdvisor and the below reviews say it all.
If you have a few Euro to spend then look no further, this boutiquish hotel is stunning, rooms with views over the Spanish Steps, a root top terrace for excellent breakfasts and stunning sunsets while sipping cocktails.
The service is definitely the best thing about it, from the moment you arrive to the personalised and friendly check in experience, to the Concierge service to the friendly maids and breakfast people.
Gianluca was a huge help and he made our stay remarkable, we will never forget!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear OddFuture,

many thanks for your review. I appreciate the time you spent to describe the experience you had at Portrait Suites.
The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the Team involved in this project. Many thanks from all of us,

We really hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in Portrait Suites for a long weekend in March. Would definitely recommend this as THE place to stay in Rome. Rooms beautiful with everything you need. Location fabulous, a peaceful little haven in the middle of the busyness of the Spanish Steps. Most importantly though, are the wonderful staff. Nothing too much trouble, both before my stay with helping with restaurant reservations and during the stay with help with directions, suggestions etc. Hotel has a rooftop honesty bar with incredible views over Rome. Loved this hotel and cannot wait to return. Other hoteliers should book a stay and take note of what good service is all about!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This a gem; a quiet, tasteful, discreet and sensual hideaway amidst the throngs of the Spanish Steps chaos. The service is impeccable and knowledgable and personal, without a fault. The design and style of the rooms impressed me more than any other hotel I have stayed at. The rooftop terrace has heavenly views over the rooftops of Rome and bathed in evening light with a glass of champagne, I can think of few other places that compare. Thank you, I just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff are unbelievable - juba is the king. Nothing is impossible for this team and the place is luxury. The rooms are perfect with everything you good need. Location near the spanish steps is perfect. It feels like a private apartment with a personal staff. Breakfast on the terrrace is a must and the cappacino is sent from the gods!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was our honeymoon and they have upgraded our room and made our stay special.The staff were very kind and helpful and they try their best to satisfy all your needs.
The hotel location is also perfect!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was 2 floors the bathroom is located down stairs where also have a sauna , shower ,batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#1 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Portrait Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portrait Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.