We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife still talks about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portrait Roma to your Saves list
Portrait Roma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites) (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“My wife still talks about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is a gem. the service and quality provided better than a 5 star hotel anywhere. personalized service as soon as you check in which is done in their 2nd floor room as the first floor space is taken up by the Ferragamo stores where you get a 10% discount as a resident of the hotel. Their breakfast, served in the room was quite the breakfast with many options and served in your room at your specified time. As we were on our honeymoon we got some bubbly in the room along with some tasty dessert on arrival. the hotel has thought of almost everything with a multiple head charger for your phone and tablet from all major manufacturers. a personal ipad with reccomendations for your stay and many other useful tools for your stay. The honor bar on the roof where you can go hang out and relax is a self service bar where you just make your own drinks and then write down what you have used and it will be added to the bill. fitting name for the bar. the only thing that went wrong was they sent us to the same restaurant 2 times in a row although at different loacations by 2 different receptionists. the restaurant was called "il localino" and after having a meal there we understand why both the receptionists sent us there as thier first reccomendation. they had a different name but the same menu. we just didnt want to eat in 1 place twice on our short trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
238
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here during my husbands birthday. Everyone greeted him and they put a cake + champagne in the room when we came back from dinner.
The service was absolutely fantastic - everybody greeted us with names. They ask you to fill out a form before we arrived where they ask about the purpose of the stay, your favorite fruits, flowers and such! And they remember the answers when you get there.
The location is also fabulous - right in the center and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just got back from a trip to several European cities, including Paris, and our last few days were spent in Rome. We were traveling with 2 children and we had never been to Rome, so we trusted the Tripadvisor ranking, and were not disappointed. We had been at some of the top European hotels on the trip in some amazing cities but none compared to this hotel for location, staff service, professional management, room size and decoration, etc, etc....seemed the hotel had opened the day we arrived since everything was so clean and new.

Thanks very much Gianlucca and Francesca for the incredible few days, for arranging our tours and making our lunch and dinner reservations...Sabrina and Christopher miss you guys, and my wife misses the shopping!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Portrait Suites was an amazing find. It is definitely an extremely special hotel. Extremely high end, very boutique. The staff are warm and gracious and you feel as if you are staying in your own private home.

The location simply cannot be beat... a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps and amazing shopping.

The rooms are high end and extremely comfortable. Most rooms have small kitchenettes (which I didn't use). One of the most fabulous features is the roof deck where you can dine and which has fabulous views of the City.

The price tag is steep but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback.

The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the Team involved in this project. Many thanks from all of us.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from Europe and spent 5 nights at the Portrait Suites. This hotel is second to none! The location is amazing and the staff wer fantastic. From the minute we arrived we got 5 star service and nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfasts that are served in the room each morning are delicious! Don't book anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is far more luxury apartment than traditional hotel. the staff are very, very attentive whilst being unobtrusive. They are so helpful and look after your every request. Beautifully appointed, and spotlessly clean suite with every creature comfort you could want. The only disapointment was having to breakfast in the suite as opposed to the roof top terrace, but you cant blame the staff for the weather!
All round fantastic place and worth every euro. Excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your feedback. I'm so sorry you couldn't have your daily breakfast up to our rooftop terrace due to the weather conditions.

But in case your future travel plans will bring you back to Rome, please do not hesitate to contact me, i will do my best to arrange your breakfast in a heated corner in our rooftop terrace to enjoy a breathtaking view of Rome.

Each trip is a tailormade dream, and we are here to make it true!!!

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived in Rome and went straight to our hotel. The staff that greeted us, Francesca and Francesco, were amazing. They offered us espresso and dolce as they introduced the hotel to us. It was quite obvious that they had great pride in their city, positions and the company and hotel they worked for! They personally took us to our rooms and didn't leave until we knew how to enjoy our stay at Portrait Suites! The rooms were unbelievable, we had a full suite with a living,dining and bedroom and our children had another. Each room was as luxurious as we could have imagined! We overlooked the via Condotti and what an experience to wake up to the sounds and sights of the beautiful city. We looked out and were able to see the Plaza de Spana and all the beautiful buildings surrounding us. Our every desire was attended to immediately and with a smile. Christmas morning we woke up to a beautiful breakfast in our room with all the food we are used to at home, Panatone, Crustada and decided we would love to do this every year. The staff are amazing, the rooms are amazing and opulent and we always felt like we were coming home to our "familia" at the end of our long days. We were always greeted with a smile and a genuine interest in what we experienced that day by whoever opened the door for us! I cannot say enough about this true gem in the heart of Rome! If its possible, get on a jet today and don't get off til you are at Portrait Suites! Roma! Ciao Bellas, me piasano, e grazi multo! The Zimmermans

Room Tip: The rooms are all wonderful! Just let the staff pick and you will be thrilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Zimmermanns,

sincerely i'm very proud of each of our staff member. They deserve each world of your feedback and only thanks to them we can follow our project of a new sense of hospitality.

Your review enforce our will to do always better offering not only a very well appointed Suite on Condotti Street, but an unique and memorable experience out of the time.

I really hope to welcome you back in the future,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#1 Business Hotel in Rome
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Portrait Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portrait Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.