We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Save Saved
You added Portrait Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portrait Roma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites) (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Tucson, AZ, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic in every way----location, comfort, service, views.

Wonderful location for business and luxury travel---and revisiting the treasures of Rome.

Looking forward to returning in the Spring to my most favorite city
in the world----and to my now most favorite hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
207
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived for a short stay of just three days to an extremely warm and friendly welcome. We were made to feel relaxed and comfortable, the room was gorgeous and well equipped, and we were given lots of detailed tourist information. The i-pad in the room was a lovely touch and very useful. We loved the personal interest the staff took and appreciated the bottle of champagne and cake we were sent to celebrate our anniversary. The location is central and within walking distance of all the main landmarks and shops, and it was great to be able to pop back and make a coffee in the room. I can definitely recommend this hotel for comfort, location and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad you enjoyed our en suite personalized Ipad with all the Lifestyle Team Services dedicated to each of our guests, to better organize your stay starting from our "Restaurant Suggested List" where each of them has been tested by the Team with the purpose to avoid the standards or lower category of restaurant, or our tailormade" Roman Experiences List" in where the Lifestyle Team try to give informations and suggestions to make each stay unforgettable.

I will share your nice comments with our team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I are empty nesters and like to treat ourselves to great location, service, and comfort when we travel. We love the Hotel de Russie and have stayed there before, but for service and attention to detail, the Portrait is our top pick in Rome. We've stayed with them twice now and the level of courtesy, thoughtfulness, and helpfulness can't be matched.

The hotel is at the corner of Condotti & Bocca Di Leone, just across from Hermes. Great location for both dining and sightseeing but still quiet and relaxed. The rooftop views are wonderful; we spent a lovely evening just sipping wine and looking at the Spanish Steps and enjoying the fire place.

It's difficult to call out the team members for special attention because everyone was so kind. Francesco, Thomas, Roberto-all were exceptionally gracious and professional. They are always willing to help make arrangements for visits and transports. I have always felt that they genuinely cared that we enjoyed our stay with them and our visit to Rome.

We are planning our next trip to Italy and will book again with them; it's worth every euro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest ,

many thanks for the time you decided to dedicate to us writing this amazing review.
The Staff and me we are very proud about your kind words, a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.
But the final phrase "We are planning our next trip to Italy and will book again with them; it's worth every euro" is the real great message all of us we receive from this review, for which we thank you very much.

We hope to welcome back soon,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Hard to imagine a hotel ranked #1 can exceed expectations but truly outstanding, service, breakfast and the rooftop views are absolutely amazing. Location is impossible to beat and room furnishings are fantastic as befits the ownership.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your recent stay. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team which I know they will really appreciate. I was pleased that we exceed your high expectations, it means a lot for all of us and i wish to thank you for your kind words.

What we try to do everyday is create a memorable atmosphere , anticipate all your needs, smiling during our daily work, and consider each of our guests part of our family.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if your travel plans will bring you back to Rome,


Kind regards,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fantastic place to stay in Rome. The breakfast is so good and the quality of service and accommodation is outstanding. Definetelly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in my life. The rooftop terrace view where you can sit down and enjoy the view while drinking something is priceless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. It is the staff that make a great hotel and I was delighted that we met your expectations.

I'm also very pleased you loved the concept of our Rooftop honesty bar, where you can enjoy an amazing view of Rome, with your self made drink, at a fair price, without any overcharged service.

Please do come and stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to Rome and had the pleasure of staying at the Portrait Suites. It has been almost a year since our trip but we felt compelled to write a review because of how much we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location can't be beat - designer shops right below and the Spanish steps just a short walk away, the view from the roof top is amazing, and the modern, unique decor was beautiful. However, what truly sets this hotel apart from the others is their staff. Gianluca and his team went above and beyond our wildest expectations and paid attention to the smallest of details. They arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and bring us right to the hotel (very comforting for people who have never traveled abroad before), everyone on the staff remembered our names from the minute we arrived, they gave us fabulous restaurant recommendations daily, and they provided us with a delicious morning breakfast each day. Without a doubt the next time we are in Rome we will be staying at the Portrait Suites!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tony R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed the services you received from our concierge team.

I will share your nice comments with our team.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and look forward to welcoming you back .

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This small hotel comprises 14 suites and is situated on the most up market shopping street in Rome just down from the Spanish steps (opposite Hermes). It is beautifully furnished and designed. Great staff. Excellent rooftop terrace a d bar with views over Rome. Very central location for all the major sites.
Breakfast is Italian style ie mainly cakes and bread which is a minor niggle. Would have preferred toast and more cereals as an option. Also charging extra (8euros per person) for an omelette or scrambled egg is irritating when you are paying 670 euros a night for a room. It should be included or if profits are that tight just increase the room rate accordingly.
That aside loved the hotel and will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Redrated,

I appreciate you taking the time to share comments on your recent stay. As a hotel, we constantly evaluate everything that goes into providing a remarkable guest experience. Your note about the extra breakfast charges will be addressed directly and will help us to shape and strengthen our current initiatives. We fully understand your point of you.

Please rest assured that this matter will be followed up to ensure will be much more attentive in the next future.

I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome again to the Portrait Suites,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Portrait Roma 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portrait Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.