We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Portrait Roma to your Saves list
Portrait Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites) (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I wouldn't even think about staying somewhere else when returning to Rome. Everything about this hotel is stellar. The staff does a great job of making you feel like they're all there just for you. Each of them is fantastic. The rooms are modern and furnished with high-quality materials. They's done a great job with soundproofing and we never heard any noise once in the room. We were a little worried when we made the reservation that the room would be too small since nothing larger than a studio was available. But even the hotel's smallest room type wound up being larger than most hotel rooms in the US and extremely comfortable. The location, among luxury shops near the spanish steps, was convenient for everywhere we wanted to go. Believe all the other reviews for this hotel - it's among the best I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    28
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
275
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at many wonderful hotels in Italy on our honeymoon in July. This hotel was stunning! I felt as if I had an apartment in the city in of Rome. The staff was always there to greet us at the door. They also helped to book dinner and get around the city. The hotel is located on a street filled with amazing shops! We would highly recommend staying here on your next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest ,

many thanks for the time you decided to dedicate to us writing this amazing review.
The Staff and me we are very proud about your kind words, a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.
But the final phrase is the real great message , it means a lot for of all of us!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went to Italy for my 50th birthday and stayed 3 nights at Portrait Suites in Rome. They should call it "Perfect Suites" because the whole experience was absolutely perfect! They upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. The room was beautiful with a stunning bathroom. The location is perfect! Right on the upscale shopping street with views of the Spanish steps. The breakfast was perfect! Delicious juices, yogurts, and croissants. The service was perfect! My husband planned some special events and we booked some sightseeing and a cooking class through them. Each event was as described and booked with top notch people. Summed up - PERFECT!

Room Tip: Pay for the upgraded room - it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad you decided to spend this special day with us, enjoyed our rooftop breakfast and the service you received from our Lifestyle Team.

The Portrait Suites is part of the local neighborhood, enabling guests to delve into local experiences. From exploring the nightlife of Rome, to enjoying afternoon tea on our roof-top, we personalize your stay inside our hotel, and enrich your explorations outside of it.
The Lifestyle Team is always at your disposal, 24 hours , as well your personal guest assistant. We love to share our passions with our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this amazing boutique hotel in Rome with my fiancé and my parents and we had the best time ever. All the staff there were fantastic, committed and extremely professional. All they do to make you feel special is under a very genuine, authentic and natural atmosphere. Nothing is forced, while you are resting or enjoying the city they are one step ahead ready to please you.
By the way, the decoration, furniture and ambience is flawless, effortless chic (Salvatore Ferragamo style of course) and full of little details that makes the big difference. One more thing? I forgot my blackberry and they shipped it to me right away and before I even note it. Thank you Gianluca and and all the crew for such an amazing experience. We will be back.

Gaston and Emanuela.

Room Tip: Room 215. Has a little balcony facing Via Condotti. Unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I and my family spent 3 nights in Rome at Portrait suites, it was the third time for us and sure not the last! the suite was amazing very clean, a kindly staff available to arrange for all our needs.
we will back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I spent our 25th Anniversary with them and enjoyed every minute of it.
It is indeed the perfect hotel. High quality across the board on everything they do. We cant say enough good things about the staff and their ability to make sure your is stay everything it can be in Rome. It is the perfect location, close to the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of everything. We will be back and will be recommending it to all our friends and anyone else who asks. WELL DONE
Colonel Don Allen and Dr. Barbara Allen

Room Tip: Save booking your special tours for them to book. They did an outstanding job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have recently had 4 nights at Portrait Suites in Rome and had a lovely stay. Every one was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Very well appointed rooms and very clean. Breakfast on the top floor overlooking Rome was lovely. Great location for shopping and sight seeing. The art deco and history on Salvatore Ferragamo was very interesting. Hope to get to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#24 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#186 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portrait Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.