We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aug 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jouan Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Jouan Guest House to your Saves list
San Jouan Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Francesco Berni 7, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,494 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aug 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

San Jouan was recommended to us by one of my friends who stayed there before. We are glad we followed her recommendation. Great hospitality, very welcoming and helpful staff.. Serene ambiance, my friend and I felt like home! Conveniently located, just walking distance to Coliseo, downtown and Termini. Wouldn't have a second thought before we go back..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    71
    19
    10
    13
See reviews for
16
88
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked this b&b for one night an wished I had booked for two it’s a fantastic place to stay, a little hard to find at first so I just took a taxi from the termini cost €10.00. Once there you will find your way around very easily the metro stops practically at the end of the road as dose the tram. When I arrived the lady on reception was excellent with tips and directions even hand wrote out the map for me to find the metro and a supermarket. The rooms are like a 4 star hotel standard I should know I work in one. Mini fridge, air con, an ensuite bathroom with toiletries, safe and not forgetting the most important these days free wify and that’s not enough there is also a computer in reception for guest use free of charge. I was shown my room advised about the 3 keys you get one for the main gate, one for the front door which is not locked but they give you a key anyway just in case and then one for your room. B&B is in such a quite area no noise problems at all, very centrally located only two stops from the termini on the red line. I did not have breakfast so I can not comment on it. I can’t say a bad word about this place staff were welcoming and couldn’t do enough even spent time on Saturday morning ringing around to try an find another hotel or B&B for our second night stay in room. I will definitely recommend this B&B to anyone going to Rome and most definitely will be returning to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in San Jouan for our first week in Rome. It was a pleasant stay. The hotel is very well located, has comfortable rooms and a great staff, especially the Brazilian girl at the reception, Caru, who is very helpful and sympathetic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed staying in San Jouan as staff members are friendly and helpful, the rooms are cozy and extremely clean and the location is very good.
Staff: Very helpful and friendly.
Cleanliness: Excellent! much better than what I expected for the price.
Rooms: New and modern.
Location: Close to a metro station that takes you anywhere. Easy walkable distance to the Coliseum. Things tend to be cheaper around the hotel and there are a couple of great restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

At first, my husband and I were worried because when we arrived at San Jouan, the intercom outside the gate is not working. We only managed to enter after 30mins when a guest went inside. What a relief!

Overall, the guest house is clean and our room is big and cozy. It's worth what we paid for. Location is good and the area is safe and quiet. Nestor is helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Everything was great at San Jouan guest house. It lays near the metro station from where you can visit the hihglights. The room was very nice: clean, airconed, satelite tv, nice bathroom and a great bed . Also the staff was verry helpfull.

We will come back here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Let me start , it's not a hotel it's a bulding with four floors with 2 apartments in each floor and each one contains three bedroms first they give you five keys for all the doors as there is no reception they close the doors at night and go home and come back at the morning, the house keeping cleans the room every day but if u want to change the towels or the sheets you have to pay extra fees, the lift was sooooo small, the bathroom was clean and big the room was normal and the girl in the reception was helpful , i dont recomend the breakfast for anyone it's just a cup of tea or coffee with a couruasant , its very expensive for the value,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Jouan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jouan Guest House

Address: Via Francesco Berni 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,494 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Jouan Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jouan Guest House in Rome have six beautiful bedrooms, with en-suite baths, hairdryers, terry-towel robes, cable TV, telephones and air-conditioning. The private bathroom with shower and bidet is ensuite. San Jouan Guest House in Rome It's a Great accomodation on Via F. Berni, 7 , was opened in November 2005. Situated inside an historic Roman building near the San Giovanni Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Jouan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jouan Guest House Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jouan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.