We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the glowing reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Spalletti Trivelli to your Saves list
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Houston, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Believe the glowing reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I must confess that I am a hotel snob. This hotel, however, lives up to my expectations. From the instant we were greeted at the front door, my partner and I felt welcomed and appreciated. Imagine my surprise when a credit card was not required at check in! The public rooms in this mansion hotel are elegant and comfortable at the same time. I did take some time to admire the Oriental rugs and beautifully framed antique prints. Our room was well-appointed, comfortable and featured a small balcony overlooking a park. The bathroom was large by European standards. I must also note the air conditioning system was superb given that it was so hot during our stay in Rome. The breakfast spread was delicious and featured home-made preserves and freshly baked cakes and breads. A hot, delicious made-to-order breakfast was also offered. The hotel features a small, charming garden that you can overlook from the open French doors in the public spaces, Finally, it is true--there was a complimentary honor bar in the public living room AND in our room! Unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
212
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed for 2 days with my mother. Understated elegance, we were made to feel so at home, despite the very grand surroundings. It must be experienced to be believed. After a long day's sightseeing it felt great to come back to such a special place, have a drink and a few nuts/sweets (all complimentary), relax in the sumptious bathroom/bedrooms and then go out for dinner. At night it was a wonderful treat to settle in one of the lounges, again with a drink and a magazine. It was like in a movie set! I felt so at home, that I even put my feet up! The breakfast is very nice too, lovely homemade produce. The staff are very unintrusive, there are buttons to press in the reception rooms, should you have a wish. For us, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independent Republic of Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

This place is truly outstanding and if you can afford it, I doubt there is a better place to stay in Roma. The Villa is located about 3 minutes walking from Trevi fountain and next to the Quirinale gardens. The place is a Villa remodeled as a hotel; each room has a name representing some of the most important sights in Roma and common rooms make you feel like you are in a palace. Service is spotless, from the time you check in, (Sir, would you like to drink something in the garden) to help in all type of requests, to the time you leave. The rooms are beautiful, mine did not have the best view but was really elegantly decorated and the bathroom was the size of a Manhattan studio.
The daily collazione is pretty good.
Bottom line- The damage is steep but for a special romantic treat with the woman you love, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

The Villa Spalletti Trivelli must be one of the best kept secrets in Rome. It's hidden in the shadow of the Quirinale Palace on a quiet street, and many of the taxi drivers that we hired had never heard of it. No big sign out front, and it looks like a private residence when you drive by it at night -- just a simple lighted entryway. If I was a celebrity and wanted a quiet, elegant place to hide out, this is where I would go.

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted at the front door by the staff who quickly gathered up our bags and took them inside. Within five minutes, we were escorted to our room, which was simply beautiful. Our bags were there within minutes as well. We splurged a bit and stayed in the Grand Deluxe Suite, which included a large bedroom, living room, huge bathroom, entry foyer, and walk-in closet. The room was spotless, and the bathroom looked like we were the first guests to ever use it. Not so much as a water spot on any surface... simply perfect. As we were getting settled, we noticed a "low battery" indicator on our in-room safe. I called the the front desk to ask about getting the battery replaced, and within 3 minutes, a gentleman dressed in a pressed uniform arrived at our room and replaced the battery. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful with our requests, giving us a complementary laptop computer to use (internet access is included in the room rate), making restaurant recommendations and reservations, and even escorting our guests up to our room on several occassions without even being asked. We had a tour guide meet us at the hotel before a tour one evening, and she said that of the many hotels that she has seen in Rome, the Villa Spalletti Trivelli was the most incredible one that she had visited.

As other reviews have said, you really feel like you are visiting a private villa (and a quite elegant one). The staff is all impeccably dressed, and are friendly and pleasant to deal with. Because the hotel only has 12 rooms, they get to know you, greeting you by name when you come and go. We enjoyed having friends who were staying at another hotel over during our visit to have drinks with us (no additional charge) in the garden. This hotel has figured out that not charging guests for every little thing builds a lot of satisfaction and good will (although, the hotel is definitely not inexpensive to stay in, so you are paying for what you get... it's just nice to not get nickeled and dimed to death for every little thing that you use or ask for). Drinks, snacks, breakfast, internet access, local phone calls, ice -- all complementary.

Breakfast was very nice, and was served from about 7 a.m. - 11 a.m. Lots of different juices, pastries, bread, preserves, fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, and cereal. If you want a hot meal (such as eggs and bacon), you can just ask for it and it's cheerfully provided. There is no set menu, so you just have to ask for what you want. In addition to the complementary mini-bar located in your room (which includes mineral water, Coke, Diet Coke, juices, all kinds of liquor, beer, chips, nuts, and candy) the was a regular bar (also complementary) set up in the downstairs rooms starting at about 5 p.m. and lasting well into the evening. That bar included similar items, as well as sparkling wine.

All in all, this hotel was a calm oasis for our stay in Rome, and I can whole-heartedly recommend it. When booking, I found the best rates on the hotel's own website. They often had special rates that did not appear on other travel websites.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just spent the last two nights of my ten day Italy trip here at the Villa and I wish I could have stayed longer. It really is like someone has offered you their villa to stay in while they are away. Quiet and elegant living room, library and lounge areas with complimentary bar and snacks; exquisite rooms; and the most pleasant, attentive service, all hidden away in a quiet nook in the center of Rome. If you like small, refined and quiet, you will love Villa Spalletti Trivelli.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

What an experience: a hotel with grace, charm, efficiency, and a wonderfully warm staff. The Villa is just that: a villa. So it's not for everyone. There's no lively bar scene and the location is out of the main part of Centro Storico--but it's a 5-10 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and a 15-20 minute walk to the Pantheon.

The rooms are beautiful (and quite accurately depicted on the website) and the garden provides a perfect respite in a busy city. The staff went out of their way to help us: we had friends over for a dinner (which you need to arrange in advance) and had a great time planning the meal with the chef.

Being at the Villa is absolutely like being a guest in a gracious home. It's quite a splurge--but it's also quite an experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key biscayne florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Our stay at the Villa began with a late-night greeting by the night desk manager, who guided us down a manicured garden lane into--YES!--discreet, free parking in the center of Rome. Situated two blocks from the Presidential Palace, security and peaceful evenings are guaranteed, plus a wonderful selection of pathways to virtually all of Rome's wonderful destinations. I don't know the ratio of staff to guests, but it has to be among the highest among 5-star properties, and the attitude and treatment are royal and genuine; no obsequiousness here, no snotty waiters, no condescension. Truly lovely people who love their work--making you totally happy. We were so delighted with our stay, that I am now sending my sister and her son on a first trip to Rome so they, too, can experience this Villa. All roads may lead to Rome; they should lead to Villa Spalletti Trivalli!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Escapio, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Spalletti Trivelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.