We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Save Saved
You added Villa Spalletti Trivelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A magnificent private villa which has been beautifully converted to a luxury hotel. The public rooms (drawing rooms, library and dining room) retain their private feel whilst the gym and spa are modern and befitting a luxury hotel.
Our bedroom (one of the garden suites) was in the adjacent building and was very comfortable and spacious and boasted two very smart bathrooms.
The staff was friendly and helpful and assisted us with bookings and directions.
The location of the hotel, on the Quirinal Hill, is also very good being an easy walk to both the Colosseum and the Trevi fountain.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    17
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
197
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our stay at Villa Spalleti Travelli in November of 2011 was unforgettable. I believe the lack of egoic attention some Tripadvisor guests have noted is a level of understated kindness and elegance, which allows a grace and privacy rare in our world. Our room, attention to luggage, meals, and quiet mornings and evenings in the gardens, public rooms and library were so precious. We meandered to the Bernini sculptures at The Villa Borghese (ticket appointment needed), the Forum, Capitoline Hill, and our beloved Pantheon. Our stay will be remembered all of our lives.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and stop over at the Villa Spalletti in late November 2012, following a cruise of the Holy Lands which terminated in Rome.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who took charge of our luggage and following handing over passports we were ushered to the dining room for a welcome drink. No further fuss or requirement to sign any documentation. We were then taken, when we were ready, to our room and provided with a full explanation of the available facilities.
Previous reviewers have more than adequately described the exclusiveness of this venue, its location, facilities and decor.
During our stay we only saw two other couples and a family, which was mostly at breakfast time.
On an evening we enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the lounge areas more often than not on our own which made us feel like we were in our own private Villa, this was very relaxing after a full day walking around the sights in Rome.
The service is designed to be and is discrete adding to the ambiance of these premises, if you require anything you press a button and a member of staff will appear from the kitchen area, they may occasionally pop through into the lounge to check the drinks and replace any of the wine, which was always kept well chilled in an ice bucket, or any of the nibbles consumed.
My wife used the Spa facilities and had a full body massage and treatment, this she reported was excellent and good value for money compared to similar treatments elsewhere.
We also used the Turkish Baths and other facilities in the basement area after a days sightseeing, the Spa staff had gone off duty but towels and other requirements had been left out with a note for guests to use.
The Villa is located in a quiet street only 5 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain and close to the other attractions in Rome centre.
We cannot fault our stay and it made a very relaxing end to our cruise before our flight back to the UK.
Thank you to all staff and in particular for sorting our luggage problem out at the end of our stay.
We certainly would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thruxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

for anyone looking for something different from the usual international hotel this may be for you. Villa Spalletti is a grand private villa in a quiet district of Rome, near the Piazza Quirinalle. Unusually compared to most hotels it has no fewer than three comfortable lounges so you can relax in comfort. In the evening complimentary drinks are available as is the mini bar-an almost unheard of pleasure. The staff are helpful and arranged for a tour for us to the Vatican Museum. i t is not cheap but I assume that you will have worked that out when you booked.

Room Tip: there are i think two rooms with a sitting room as well and this may appeal. we looked at 3 or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The review written by westvillagetraveler has it spot on: I can add that with only 12 rooms and a five night stay, my daughter and I were surprised that our name was never used once to address us! Mind you, I never knew the names of the staff: no one had on any identification and there always seemed to be another young attractive woman busy behind a computer. Important point: the 'welcoming letter' found in our room sounded great but the staff has no idea how to engage with guests. We requested their restaurant suggestions for two nights - each of which were less than remarkable - one awful - very disheartening. We asked the staff to request reservations for three other Roman restaurants that our Italian chef friend in NYC had recommended. We were told by staff that those three restaurants were 'not on the hotel's list' but we still requested they reserve us a table at each. Those three experiences were fabulous and we shared this information with the hotel staff who were hesitant to accept our enthusiastic endorsement. The 'honor bar' seemed odd: only a sparkling wine, never any red or white wine but plenty of liquor, if that's your preference. The physical plant is unique; lovely, historical villa whose public rooms could be a museum. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed; the external and internal shutters kept the street noises at bay. High heels in the room above kept us apprised of our neighbor's early departure one morning. We felt this property an oasis in a great location but we made it that, despite the indifferent staff. And maybe we just needed to snap our fingers more often...

Room Tip: Colonna Room: can be king bed or twins - walk in closet, tub and spacious shower, separate writing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Property and sending us your feedback. We are always very open to "constructive criticism."
After meeting with the staff who were on rota during your stay, I realized that from our point of view we were not aware of any problems and we certainly never received any complaints from you or any other guests during the same period . If there was any kind of problem, we urge our guests to let us know of all their needs or if we could possibly help any further.
Now turn to the second point : restaurant list . Our recommended restaurants list is a collection of restaurants that guests have visited and told us of their more than positive experiences along with a selection of well-known and loved roman restaurants. We take on board your personal point of view and we always try to re-visit restaurants to make sure they're up to standards.
Regarding to the honor bar , it 's more frequented after dinner upon guests return and they always lean towards the spirits and liquors.
We are very glad that you enjoyed some part of the stay and if we ever will have the pleasure to count you among our guests again, the staff and I will be very happy to make sure any further assistance or wishes that you may have , will be met.
Maria Merra
gm
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After reading the many five-star reviews on this website before our trip to Rome, I fully anticipated writing a glowing report upon my return. Unfortunately, I cannot describe our experience as "Excellent" and, at $1500 per night, my rating of "Very Good" is a push. At first, I ranked the property "Average" but must acknowledge certain aesthetic features.

Unquestionably, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is a grand, well-located structure--filled with some beautiful antiques. The public rooms have a rather hushed museum feel. The suite we occupied is spacious, with a pretty garden view. The linens are quite lovely and the bathroom bright and well-equipped. A note, the lighting in the room is uneven. The choices are: a series of dim lamps or a continuous up-lighting mounted on the full room perimeter embedded in the ceiling trim which basks the room in hospital-like florescence.

Reception, a series of side-by-side desks crammed under the main foyer stairway, is a hive of activity--several people glued to their computers as if they worked at NASA. With twelve rooms to manage, I cannot imagine what they are tending to but, for when approached, they seem slightly annoyed at the interruption. The words aloof and indifferent come to mind. English is a problem here and in the breakfast room.

The "honor bar" is a nice touch and breakfast OK. I kept looking for all the "remarkable" service but it eluded me.

Lovely building, stellar location, sweet young greeter, quiet ambiance, garden, spa--these are the positives to take it over the "Average" hump.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore generale at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write about us and share your experience. Guests' reply are always very welcome: your comments give us the opportunity to improve our service .
I understand from your review that as a general overview you enjoyed the Property and apparently in your opinion we didn't match your idea of "remarkable standards" about lighting and number of employees at the front desk. I will try to sort out your doubts, first of all about lighting. Let's say that our point of view is offering a range of possible lighting levels. Lamps in the room allow determining the best light according to guests preferences or opt for a maximum result: it's really a matter of personal point of view. Regarding the number of employees, as general manager I don't feel we are overstaffed as there are many activities to be carried out every day and my staff do work hard. Running a business in the field of hospitality is not at all an easy task. Also, our employees are very fluent in English for both education and professional experience. I must say that we co-operate with two prestigious universities and we sometimes offer students an opportunity to do an internship.
Hope this clarify . Please feel free to contact me should you wish any further info.
Warm regards
Maria Merra
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed two nights here and was blown away with the service and beautiful decor. There is a wonderful breakfast put out each morning and complimentary drinks and chips put out in the evening. Honestly, this is a great find and not sure others could even begin to compare. Great location and beautiful spacious public park across the street. My room had a quaint balcony that looked over the park. The windows and tall doors in this hotel are breathtaking .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#36 Family Hotel in Rome
#121 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Escapio, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Spalletti Trivelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.