We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - The Place to Stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Save Saved
You added Villa Spalletti Trivelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Mount Dandenong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming - The Place to Stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A must stay in Rome - warm welcome at 8:00 am for very early arrivals with the offer of breakfast as our room was made ready. Charming and gracious rooms and spared spaces downstairs were very spacious and comfortable in grand style.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    17
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
197
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good hotel. Our room was lovely, we had a suite which was just perfect with two lovely bathrooms. The gardens are lovely and we especially enjoyed the early evening glass of prosecco sat outside. One small complaint is that it is disappointing that can't get tea/ coffee in your room without paying also breakfast could be slightly improved with more of a selection of hot food. Overall though it was a centrally located oasis of calm.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A truly magnificent hotel, only twelve rooms, so you hardly see any guests.

Free in room bar and downstairs bar free between 1730 and 2300hrs.

The bedroom was fine, king size bed, large TV and decent size bathroom.

Breakfast had large choice and most pleasant sitting outside.

Central location, staff friendly and efficient.

We would definitely stay here again, It deserves its high rating.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Villa was as expected, absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed our room which was very spacious and immaculate. The bathroom was huge and beautiful with marble and very nice fixtures. The favorite perk for us however was the all inclusive mini-bar. It was very well stocked with beverages and snacks all at no additional charge. You can also partake of the bar downstairs in the library at no charge which was a nice stop before heading out to dinner.

The gardens in the back are so peaceful and pristine. We would sit with our drink while waiting for our taxi for dinner each night. There were other people staying in the villa but it felt so very private. During breakfast we had only one other family in the dining room and I don't think we ever saw any other guests on our same floor. I can see why the Villa is frequented by VIP's who wish to remain anonymous.

The staff was friendly and was eager to help with whatever we needed....dinner reservations, etc.
The Villa is definitely one of the favorite places I have ever had the opportunity to stay, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We suffered through the hordes of tourists at all of the famous spots and then relished the private sanctuary Villa Spalletti Triveli offered upon our return. There are so few guests sharing this sizable villa even during peak season that you feel you have it to yourself. It is tastefully decorated minus a few eccentric choices. The staff were always at hand when you needed something and hidden from view when you didn't. The location was superb and within walking distance of all of the sites except the Vatican.

The best parts... A private retreat in the heart of Rome...quiet, comfortable, relaxed. Complimentary cocktail in the garden after a long day of crowded tourist spots. Helpful, friendly staff with no attitudes. Mercedes pick up service at the airport was a great stress free welcome. Location, location, location.

Could be improved... Breakfast was dull and the same everyday. The spa services were pleasant but not memorable.

It was a great start to our first tour of Italy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, an oasis in the heart of Rome. Excellent attentive staff that genuinely make you welcome.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

With a mere twelve rooms, this beautiful Villa in the heart of Rome is a unique property. Although a few items in the guest room didn’t seem quite in keeping, the rooms are pleasant and the hotel’s public areas are beautiful and evoke a bygone era. Unfortunately the service let it down – staff were illusive, and turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. Given the hotel’s size, room rate – and compared with other leading European boutique hotels – I expected a far greater level of service. Some more detail should you wish...

Arrival & Guest Room
* From the moment of the door being opened, staff were friendly and welcoming. An orientation was provided, before being shown to the guest room.
* The guest room was decorated with old world charm, including original art works. A complementary mini-bar was replenished daily. The bathroom was of a high standard, with extra large towels, luxurious bathrobes and Ren toiletries. A lack of attention-to-detail let the overall (otherwise old world) room appearance down – most notably a modern cupboard and wardrobe, large wall-mounted television, a transparent plastic side table, and numerous notices covering the bureau (see photos).
* The turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. On notifying front desk on both occasions (upon return, post 10pm) no apology was forthcoming. When provided, turndown was very average for a premium hotel.
* A few notable omissions from the guest rooms were:
- Tea/coffee making facilities – noting room service incurs a 15 Euro surcharge to any order.
- Rug fasteners – the rugs slide on the wooden floors (not great if you aren’t so quick on your feet).

Public Areas
These are definitely the primary selling point – a garden with outdoor seating area, and two beautiful lounges and a reading room charmingly decorated with (I assumed) family photographs. A complementary self-service bar offers a selection of spirits, soft drinks and a sparkling wine. Staff are rarely seen but can be called via a bell.

Breakfast
Included in the room rate, it was largely a self-service affair – staff did not appear unless you rang the bell for service. There is a Continental breakfast buffet including self-service tea & coffee. Eggs are made to order upon request. In all – more of a B&B breakfast than what you would expect of a luxurious boutique hotel.

To summarise, a pleasant stay in a unique property; unfortunately a lack of premium service would make a return visit unlikely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our property and sending us your feedback. Thank you also for the nice words spent on the Villa. We have no record of any skipped turndown service in April or May, nor about special requests in regard, We usually keep trace of everything. If by any chance it happened we sincerely apologize. As stated from most reviews and in some of our earlier replies the kind of service we offer is not the usual one you would find in a hotel . We try to give a discreet service with a home touch. It is your house and you have to enjoy it that way (that is why we offer free drinks at the selfservice bar, no coffee/tea facilities in the rooms, you normally wouldn’t find them in a private home, complimentary minibars, complimentary homemade buffet breakfast, etc. ) In the rooms we had to meet all the needs of a traveller: need for information andin-room entertainment (plasma tv’s and ipod docks), A/C, telephone lines etc. We also tried to add a modern twist to the classical style (the perpex, not plastic, tables created by a famous italian designer) that maybe not everyone may completely appreciate, but luckily/unluckily people have extremely different tastes.

Thank you anyways for mentioning all these details that we will indeed keep in mind to try to continuously improve our level of service


Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Escapio, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Spalletti Trivelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.