We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***THE Place to Stay in Rome***” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Spalletti Trivelli to your Saves list
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“***THE Place to Stay in Rome***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Villa in mid July for 5 nights. There were 7 of us travelling. My hubby, myself our 4 boys and our nanny. We had an amazing stay at the villa. Since there were 7 of us staying at the hotel, we booked the hotel's apartment which had more than sufficient room for all of us to stay. Even though we had to walk a few meteres to get to the main part of the hotel, we were able to use all of the amazing ammenities and had our daily mid day break in the beautiful, secluded garden.The apartment was very clean, nicely decorated new bathrooms and kitchen. Washer/dryer, air conditioning in all of the rooms. The bathrooms had very nice toiletries. The kitchen had unlimited free drinks, juice, water, liquor. I am quite picky on where I want to stay and it has to be clean. this was IT. Customer service was SUPERB. The staff at this boutique hotel were some of the best in the world, and we have travelled a lot. We were close to everything, the coloseum, Trevi Fountain, Presidential palace, Vatican, Pantheon, lots of great Gelato shops, restaurants etc. We walked everywhere. In short, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: the detached apartment is great for families or groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
212
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We unfortunately didn't have the chance to stay in Villa Spalletti Trivelli as part of our honeymoon, which we had very much been looking forward to, as we were caught in a very frustrating extended flight delay due to Hurricane Irene on the East Coast of the United States. As soon as I found out our flight had been cancelled, I sent a copy of the cancelled itinerary to Villa Spalletti management to show evidence of our predicament. I also called the reservations agent in Rome to let them know, more than three days before we were to arrive. Our flights were cancelled multiple times because of the hurricane, causing us to lose several days of our honeymoon. :-(
I was informed that Villa Spalletti management would need to subsequently rule on our case as to the deposit. After an extended delay, I was informed that our deposit would be non-refundable, despite the clearly beyond-our-control circumstances of our inability to begin our honeymoon as planned, and the substantial efforts we had made to show good faith and communicate the circumstances to them in as timely a manner as possible.
I had very much looked forward to our stay, and am surprised that such a fine hotel would treat us in this fashion, when the cause of our change of plans was very clearly and publicly out of our control, and we gave them ample opportunity as soon as we could to put the room back up for reservations.
Villa Spalletti Trivelli sounds like a beautiful place with great reviews, but didn't show good faith in our case, making an already frustrating situation at the outset of our honeymoon all the more dispiriting. We had a wonderful time during the remainder of our honeymoon, elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We regret to acknowledge your idea of us acting without good faith. We always try to be customer oriented on evaluating the circumstances of a late cancellation, and our understanding in your particular case is an example of this attitude.
Your cancellation was performed less than 48hours before arrival, as per our email correspondence, which means you had to be charged the entire stay as stated in your reservation. We decided NOT to proceed with full charge but only kept the 30% deposit of your 1 night stay instead (Sum that could have been refunded by your travel insurance). In addition to this we also guaranteed a dedicated discount on your eventual future reservation (perhaps not 'been sufficiently clear ?). We really hope you will be able to come visit us in the next future.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

To all who are considering staying in Villa Spalletti Trivelli! This very private place,which has a fairytail ,magic charm, is one and only hotel we'd stay in Rome. Minute you ring masive,antique doors you are entering the most beautifull place in the city. This palazzo with fireplace, antique furniture, soft carpets, beautifull paintings and gobelins on the walls,where you rest after exploring Rome has everything you wish for on your relaxing holidays. It's quiet,
warm place where you are aloud to enjoy old times charm with complimentary drinks by fireplace and listen just to clock ticking. Rooms are amazing overlooking garden or little street.Breakfast is delicious and has a great selection. Thank to all wonderfull people of Villa Spalletti Trivelli!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were on our honeymoon for 7 days in Paris and 7 days in Rome.

I booked this hotel for 7 nights and it was just amazing! We dont understand how anyone can give this place a bad review. The staff all spoke great english which is a bonus. The building itself was spotless and in great shape. The are very overstaffed so there is always someone catering to your every need. Everytime we gave our key to the desk to go out for the day or even for a few hours someone went in the room and cleaned up, closed the shutters, restocked the fridge (FREE DRINKS!) etc...

The service was amazing. It was like we travelled back in time and we were Italian aristocrats who had many servants living is this amazing villa. We just loved it! We were a short walk from most attractions. There are MANY great restaurants. One tip travellers. Just because you have $$ don't spend them at the expensive restaurants. We learned that the cheap ones are WAY better. We had dinner at a recommend restaurant next to the hotel and were very disappointed. The next day we went to another that costed 4 times less and was just amazing. We found this to be true for every restaurant we visited. AVOID TOURIST TRAP RESTAURANTS! Eat as far away from the tourist area's. I know this is not a part of the hotel review but please listen.

But overall I will 100% be back to the Villa. If Rome didnt have so many places to visit we would of just stayed at the Villa all week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at Villa Spalletti for 4 luxurious nghts. A true secret, close enough to the madness of Rome CBD but far enough away to chill out. Elio and all the staff are exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff are bilingual. The Spa and Turkish bath is out of this world. Beautiful breakfast buffet which we took out to the exquisitely manicured gardens. The detail in room finishes, crockery, furnishings are all of a beautiful standard. This was the first 4 nights of our holiday and boy - did these guys set the bar high! we absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

After 6-7 trips to Europe, each with a splurge or two, this is absolutely the best hotel we ever visited. Located off the beaten path overlooking a quiet park at the top of Quirnal Hill, you ring the doorbell of a Reniassance home to summon the reception. Great! our room is ready, but not before a guided tour of the museum-like public areas. Rooms were impeccable, every amenity imagineable, including a complimentary minibar. The entire staff was professional and gracious. For example, we had to change plane reservations home due to Hurricane Irene...staff helped dial the airline and offered me a drink while I sat on hold! Breakfasts and dining room decor are indescribable. There's also a beautiful garden in back with a covered patio for cocktails and another is an optional breakfast area...you'd never know you were 200 yards from Via Navionale.
This is a fantastic, magical place.

Room Tip: Rooms have names not numbers. Ours overlooked park in front and we enjoyed watching neighborhood do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I am surprised to see a negative review on here because we found it to be absolutely amazing. It was elegant and stately without being one bit pretentious. I took my parents here on their first ever trip to Italy and have to say that the Villa was one of the highlights of the week. The suite was comfortable and lovely and provided lots of privacy. We also enjoyed the complimentary cocktails in the evening!
I couldn't say enough good things about this place - well worth the money.

The one note is that the staff had recommended a restaurant around the corner from the hotel, Rinaldi (?). It turned out to really just be a mediocre tourist trap which was overpriced so I would suggest avoiding it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Escapio, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Spalletti Trivelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.