We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, central and beautiful area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme to your Saves list
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Piazza Adriana 5 | (Scala B) (Gate B), 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #679 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
dublin,ireland
1 review
“Fantastic location, central and beautiful area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We have just returned from Rome having stayed in the Roma dei Papi hotel. We got the shuttle from the airport which had been arranged with the hotel for €50, it brought us direct to the door and the chauffeur brought our cases into reception for us. It doesn't look like a hotel from the outside but looks lovely nonetheless.

The room we were allocated was very spacious, with a large bed, international tv stations, mini bar, telephone,hairdryer, safe and ensuite. The room was lovely and warm and I had the best 2 nights sleep ever.

As it is a family run hotel I was just expecting a croissant and coffee for breakfast, but there were cereals, ham, cheese, juices, teas etc. as well. The breakfast area was compact, though it didn't matter as we couldn't wait to get out and explore what Rome had to offer.

The area surrounding the hotel is great, beside the Castle Saint Angelo and Bridge, which are fantastic landmarks, and only up the road is St. Peters Square and the vatican. Across the river is piazza navona/ pantheon and surrounds with great restaurants everywhere.

We recommend getting the hop on hop off bus and it stops just across from the castle on your way back to the hotel. It is also good for going to Termini if you need to catch the bus back to campino airport. It was €18 for 24 hours and €23 for 48 hours. It also gives the history of Rome as you travel.

If I was going to Rome again( which I presume I will after throwing my coin into the trevi fountain) I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — comfortable spacious clean room with fantastic location, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — compact breakfast area but decent breakfast itself.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Location - the hotel is very hard to find so if you are arriving by taxi, get the hotel to book it for you. We made the mistake of getting our own taxi (which was 10 euro more!) and spent half an hour trying to find the hotel. If you are arriving by other means, just ask anyone where the COOP is and the hotel is about 20 yards to the left. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk to anywhere in Rome and just over the bridge is Piazza Navona, lovely at night. The area is very nice and feels safe at night.
Hotel - Don't expect luxury but the hotel is nice and very clean. It is quite modern and has everything you need. There is a fridge in the room, small plasma TV and bathroom with good shower. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. My only criticism of this hotel are that the beds are not very comfortable and the pillows were awful (I think they had been washed and had gone very lumpy), the breakfast was mediocre. If the hotel paid attention to these things it would be perfect.
I would recommend this hotel mostly for it's location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

This hotel is very centrally located. You can walk to most of the major sites. This hotel is also close to 2 different bus stops. Very safe area. The room was very clean and breakfast was good. Only downside was the bed was very firm. Front desk staff was very helpful when we needed directions.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

This is a very nice little hotel, beautifully located for walking to Vatican, Piazza Navona, Pantheon and other sights in Rome. It was spotlessly clean and had no unpleasant bathroom odors which we have experienced in other small hotels. Some reviewers experienced problems finding the hotel, but our taxi went right to the address which we had written out for him, and we knew, from other reviewers, to look for Scala B and ring the bell (there is no hotel sign). The staff was friendly and helpful; called the airline to confirm our departure flight. Upon arrival we found a bottle of wine chilled in the room to celebrate our anniversary.

The only down side to the hotel is the breakfast. We do not expect eggs, bacon, etc in small European hotels; however, we do expect good bread or rolls and good coffee. Breakfast consisted of sliced bread from a package, thickly sliced salami, Kraft cheese slices wrapped in cellophane, croissants, and yogurt. There was no fruit, fresh or canned. The coffee (there was a choice of "American" from a coffee pot or espresso or cappuccino from an espresso maker) was very "thin" with hardly any coffee taste--like not enough coffee grounds were used.

That said, we would stay at Roma dei Papi again; but we would buy good rolls to take to breakfast, as we did the last morning of our stay.

  • Liked — Convenient location and cleanliness; pleasant staff.
  • Disliked — Breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Roma dei Papi for 3 nights while visiting Rome. The rooms were impecably clean, the bathrooms were spacious and it was overall a lovely experience.

Breakfast in the morning is served in the little dining area and it's plentiful and very good. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful - and although a few of them spoke very little English, it wasn't frustrating at all, they were so patient to work through the language barrier!

The only difficulty we had with this hotel was finding it! There is no signage on the building for the hotel or the address, so we were lugging our bags around for quite some time trying to find it! But, the location is wonderful, just across the street from Castel San'Angelo and about 2 blocks from St. Peter's/Vatican City.

  • Liked — Proximity to attractions, room size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Incredibly difficult to find the building that the hotel is in.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

The perfect location within 20-30 minute easy walk from much of what of what Rome has to offer. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially during the crisis of being the victim of pickpocking at the Pantheon. The room was small but extremely comfortable and clean. Coffee, espresso and baked goods were available everymorning, a COOP was two doors down the street and a number of good restaurants just around the corner. I would highly recommend this small hotel to anyone who wishes to experience our favorite city in the world.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

This is a lovely little hotel a stone throw from the vatican. The staff are helpful and the owner who was out on arrival insisted on returning to meet us and show us the best places to go. The breakfast is great and i cant see what the problem with other reviewers is. Overall a superb little hotel and cant recommend it enough

Andy, Stoke, England

  • Liked — the helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme

Address: Piazza Adriana 5 | (Scala B) (Gate B), 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Dei Papi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.