We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but well kept with charming service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diocleziano to your Saves list
Hotel Diocleziano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Melb
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old, but well kept with charming service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Good:
- Free mini bar replenished every day
- free breakfast
- staff that greets you everytime you walk in and out. They also helped with calling and booking restaurants, spa treatments etc.

Bad:
-Internet was on/off.
- The room is very warm, the good thing is we can open the window to cool it off.
- There was no room service option, and because my husband was sick I had to run out to get food at night, rather than just calling room service

I would actually give this hotel a 3.5 out of 5 if I can, overall the service was excellent and with the free daily mini bar and breakfast it is value for money. The hotel looked quite old though (look, some would say 'charming' and maybe if you like the old world feel it would have been nice. But for a couple who like sleek, modern design it's probably not what we are after) but it's very well kept.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    439
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
331
863
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed 4 nites at the Diocleziano and had a great time in rome. Staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. Room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Free in-room wifi and complimentary softdrinks in minibar are nice touch. Buffet breakfast also good (with cappucino and espresso/fresh squeezed orange juice). Location is close to Termini rail station. Would definitely stay here again -- thanks to the incredible staff for their suggestions and warmth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. We had a superior room and although not large, it did have a large terrace and was spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. We stayed for 2 nights and slept really well, no noise from other bedrooms or traffic. The breakfast was fine and served in a very pleasant dining room, the first morning (SUN) there was no tea or coffee offered us and we poured our own from a large urn which tasted horrible, however the next morning, lovely coffee and tea was brought to our table, so much better. The hotel proved to be pretty good location wise, very close to the train station and buses. We ate at Babbo's the first night, which was fantastic, I hadn't been able to book on line and asked the hotel staff to help me out, which they did, keeping me informed with emails all along. We also used the hotel's recommended private car to and from the airport, this was great as it took all the hassle out of commuting. All in all a great little hotel with incredibly helpful and pleasant staff, well done Hotel Diocleziano, your doing a great job!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here recently - good location to most tourist attractions (10-30 mins walk) and train/metro near by (5 mins walk) if prefer not to have to walk. Staff friendly and willing to help with directions. Hotel room is small enough (we had a double superior with jacuzzi) but very clean. Really only two english tv stations but you can pay for english movies if you wish at €5 per day. Mini bar has free drinks - water, coke, fanta. As mentioned train station close so you can get train from Fuimicino Airport to train station and walk the five minutes to hotel. Plenty of restaurants within 5 mins walk and also a spar shop about 10 minutes so you can stock up. Breakfast is hot/cold with cereal, cake and fry available.
Hotel down a quite street so no traffic noise. Free Wii-Fi. Pricey enough but then it is rome and its central.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights recently and was so impressed with everything about it. The staff couldn't have been nicer. On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a superior room! The rooms are smallish but are absolutely spotless and cleaned really well every day. There are also complementary minerals replaced in the mini-bar every day. The hotel has free internet access. All of these little touches really added to the service. The hotel is conveniently located very close to Termini Station. This area isn't the prettiest or cleanest in Rome But the hotel is located off a side street so you don't even notice really. Overall we had a great experience here and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Before my husband and I came to Rome I did a lot of searching the Internet to find a good Hotel and we wasn't dissapointed it was in good location a few minutes walk to termini station and spottessliy clean with an excellent hot and cold buffett breakfast and friendly staff waiting on. We stayed for one week and but was delayed due to the volcanic ash and had to stay an extra week it was a stressful time for us not knowing when we would be able to fly home but beeing able to continue our stay in this delightful hotel with the friendly staff which we formed a close rappor. From the reception staff and breakfast staff and also the porters what incedible people, they should be proud of themselves they are a cedit to the hotel group which they belong to as it is the front line staff what work so hard well done.We have stayed in hotels all over europe and nowhere have encounted such kind and helpful staff nothing was too much trouble on the first day we arrived we found our kettle wouln't work and on asking where we could find an electrical shop Simona kindly loaned us one which we really appreciated.The complimentary soft drinks and having a fridge in our room was a bonus also the free internet was a godsend when we was stranded.I can't praise the staff enough for all they did for my husband and myself.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We selected this hotel for a one-night stay-over on our way to Florence. It was a short walk from the train station. The friendly staff helped us with an orientation tour, held our luggage until check-in. The rooms were updated, clean and comfortable (bathrooms spotless, beds a little hard). Free soft drinks in the room fridge, free wi-fi throughout the hotel. A very nice breakfast included. Very happy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#38 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Diocleziano is a 35 bedrooms hotel located in the heart of Rome. Hidden in a quiet street behind the Diocletian Baths (Terme di Diocleziano) it is the perfect spot where to start touring the Eternal City. Rooms are well equipped with toiletries, free minibar and complimentary internet connection. The Hotel offers a full breakfast buffet in the morning and a small gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diocleziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.