We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diocleziano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“extraordinary hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this amazing hotel for 4nights recently during our travel in Italy.
Pros; 1. Very close to Roma Termini so convenient for commute to anywhere in the city or other cities. 2. Rooms are kept very clean. 3. Minibar is complimentary and refilled everyday. 4. Very quiet atmosphere despite being close to the train station. 5. Staff are very helpful and keeping attention to whatever travelers need. (i.e. we had to check out early in the morning and they kindly open the morning buffet earlier than usual JUST FOR US.) 6. They have a gym and sauna which I, as a Japanese, liked a lot. 7. Free WiFi
Cons; N/A

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    430
    50
    12
    8
See reviews for
321
840
62
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom had everything you needed.
The breakfast had such a lot of choice you could have something different every morning, with freshly squeezed orange juice " delicious" The staff were very helpful especially with places to eat and which buses to take. Also the Diocleziano is pretty central and you can walk to quite a few places of interest. If I return to Rome I would book the same hotel.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room higher up or on the back as I am a bad sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located next to Rome's main train station. The hotel service was superb. The staff was incredibly kind and accommodating. Breakfast was included, and the food was better than most hotels' "free breakfast." The hotel desk answered our every question about tourist attractions and made great restaurant suggestions. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Disgusted by our first night stay in the so-called four star hotel Arison, we run away next morning to the near by Hotel Diocleziano, a couple of blocks away, but still near Termini, where we want to be. Since it's on short notice, we pay the highest rate possible but for that we are awarded with a miniature room on the top with its own doll size terrace and with incredible views which are making it all worthwhile.

It is also next door of the Termi Diocleziani which currently host the Archeological museum of Commune di Roma
I will, however, keep looking for a decent hotel near Termini, because I need the convenience of the train staition.

Room Tip: ask for room on the top floor with views of the Termi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sirs,

It is always with the outmost interest that we read our Guests’ reviews. We always cherish their opinion in order to constantly improve our services.

As far as we understood you did not really find anything wrong with your stay with us, as a matter of fact you have decided to change you previous hotel and come to Diocleziano since the other one was not satisfying your needs.

Regarding your specific reservation, we have to admit that we could not find it on our system, not at least as a last minute stay in April for our VIP suite. As such we cannot actually verify some of the points you have underlined on the room rate and size.

However, we would like to clarify some information for our future Guests.

First of all, as the Guests underline, they made a last minute reservation. Normally, if we still have some rooms available to sell on the day, we decide our rates keeping in mind those of our competitors in the area. Furthermore, the rooms which we leave available are standard double rooms. Since April in Rome is full high season, it is possible that the rate was quite high even for a last minute reservation. However, it does seem strange to us that the Guests had the possibility to book directly the VIP room instead of the standard one. As fully described on our selling websites our standard room is 13m² and offers a king size bed (180 x 195 cm), with en-suite bathroom with a shower or a bathtub, while the VIP room is 19m² with a king size bed (180 x 195cm) and comes with en-suite bathroom with a bathtub. Furthermore this is the only room with a private terrace. This is equipped with a small table for the Guests to enjoy their breakfast and the stunning view over the ruins of the Diocletian Baths and the cloister of St. Maria degli Angeli church.

What we think actually happened is that the Guests booked the standard room as a last minute reservation and were upgraded for free to our VIP room.

Conclusively, we cannot fully understand if the Guests were complaining about the VIP room or not since they too judge the room a bit small, but “with incredible views which are making it all worthwhile”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Ideally located within a spit of the Termini metro and railway stations and taxi ranks. No traffic noise in our 2nd floor room. Our matresses were a little firm and our triple was a twin room with reasonable comfortable extra bed so a little cramped. Nice breakfast with freshly squeezed blood orange and espresso coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights over the Easter school holidays , 3 of us (grandma, mum, daughter). Room was clean, comfortable, and small (this is however typical for italy). Bathroom was clean and small. Room had a mini bar - and the things in it were complimentary - each day we received free waters, and soft drinks - a nice surprise.
Cupboard space was ample, though a few more hangers would have been useful.
Bright and fresh room - warm, when we needed it to be at night, and we could open the windows easily to air during the day.

Breakfast included was great: juices, pastries, toast, fruits, some cooked items (scrambled eggs). The breakfast staff were very friendly, and brought tea or coffee quickly. Bright breakfast room, nice atmosphere.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - giving us directions and advice, and generally being welcoming and concerned. Other staff were also friendly. Lovely atmosphere.

slight drawback was the location - in that we needed to catch a bus to get into the parts of Rome we wanted to visit - this was ok in the morning, but in the evening the buses were quite full - having said this though the bus trip was quick about 10-15 minutes depending on time of day.

We had great fun exploring the Forum, Colliseum, Vatican, and the squares and fountains. Campo di Fiori was fun to eat in during the evening, sitting outside (but be warned the prices there are geared for tourists and are very high - we found they were about 3 times the price of a similar meal that we had in a restaurant in Trasterveri).

The hotel was well located in a street set a couple of roads back from the main bus stop and station, round the corner from the recently opened Diocletian baths, that we enjoyed walking round. It is in the side street - and quiet in terms of almost no cars coming past - this meant we slept very well, and could open the windows without breathing in fumes.

we had a fabulous week, and the hotel was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary based on past reviews. It was a pleasant surprise, clean and quiet. We had a room at the back with an good view. The hotel is situated in a quiet street away from the busy traffic of Rome. It is within walking distant of the main Railway and bus station, making it an ideal location for visiting Rome and further afield, especially if you take advantage of the transport multi-ticket.

The staff were very friendly and most helpful. The rooms were a good size, clean and in good repair. The breakfast choice was excellent. I have no hesitation about recommending this hotel, especially, if there is an offer available.

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors at the rear have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#30 Business Hotel in Rome
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diocleziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.