We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Close to Train Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diocleziano to your Saves list
Hotel Diocleziano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service Close to Train Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was tops during our 4 day stay. Our mini-bar fridge only partially cooled, and when I mentioned it to the front desk, they immediately called maintenance. When it was no better the next day, they brought in a new one still in the box. I can't ask for better service than that.

Perks - 2 free waters, a Coke, Fanta, and blood orange juice in the minibar. They are actually free.
Get the breakfast. $12 Euro if you get it once, $9 Euro if you get it every day you stay. We would up eating a large breakfast, which included scrambled eggs, pancetta, cereals, croissants, fruit, torts, fresh squeezed blood orange juice (they squeeze each glass for you!!).
After the large breakfast, we usually could go way past lunch and have a nice 2 hour Italian meal (how else do two people finish a liter of wine??) at a local trattoria and have the two meals suffice for the day.
The rooms are typical European rooms. Small, but not cramped. Comfortable memory foam mattresses. The baths are small and typical, but designed to even give a large person room on the toilet. Everything was clean, and everyone was friendly.
Free, but slow internet. Mae sure to get a login for each device you want on WIFI.
Just one block to the train station Termini, which also serves both the Metro lines.
I highly recommend this hotel.
Please disregard pool rating - there is none, but I could not clear it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    470
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
360
913
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much (mid March 2013). Rooms are small, clean, and comfortable; excellently priced hotel, too. We liked the firm mattress. Bathroom was good. I was a little skeptical of the location at first, sort of "out of the way" near the train station, but that actually works to the traveler's advantage. (We simply walked to the train station when it was time to leave for Venice.) The street is very quiet at night for a good night's rest (and our room faced the street).These areas are traditionally a little "dicey" for walking at night, but we never felt unsafe. In fact, we walked to several very good neighborhood restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was lovely and the staff in the dining room friendly and efficient. Great cappuccino! Doreen at the front desk is an outstanding resource and so on top of everything. We usually took a cab to one of the tourist destinations and then simply walked and/or took the subway from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed end Feb early March for 3 nights. It’s a great little hotel a few minutes walk from the Termini, which was very handy after getting the train from the airport and for catching the Metro to Vatican City. Other than that and one bus ride we walked everywhere (and did we walk!). On arrival we were greeted by Doreen, the lovely American receptionist, who gave us a map and highlighted some of the more popular sights. We were swiftly checked in and had a nice room on the first floor. The fridge/mini bar (stocked with free soft drinks) was a real bonus. The only downside was the heating – it was way too hot and we couldn’t seem to control it with the air con as it seemed fixed. Breakfast was really good and you can get proper cappuchino and freshly squeezed orange juice and it set us up for all the walking! We slept with the windows open but were then woken up really early with the birds! As others have commented previously, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are all really friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again and maybe ask for a fan for the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent service at a reasonable price, especially for Rome. Very happy about cleanliness, nice bathroom, great breakfast buffet, free beverages in the room, wifi, staff courtesy. The place met all expectations, I will be back when travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, so close to Termini Station, within easy reach of all of Rome's main attractions. Hotel is clean, room was large, the views from the balcony were outstanding. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Diocleziano many times and will continue to do so in the future. The staff is very accommodating and even remembered our anniversary with a bottle of champaign. The rooms are clean, fresh sheets every day and quiet. The location is perfect, within 5 minutes walking to bus/metro. We have come to Rome for many years and since we discovered the Diocleziano, it is "our hotel" and home away from home.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose the hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, less than five minutes from Termini station & Plaza Republica. We received a free upgrade to a superior room which was very nice, a good size and spotlessly clean. Free minibar (soft drinks). Great choice at breakfast. Really helpful, attentive, courteous staff. Great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Apart from using the open top bus and a couple of organised tours, my wife & myself walked everywhere, it was very easy to follow maps or ask locals or one of the many policeman if you needed reassurance on which direction to go. About 20 - 25 minutes easy stroll to the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish Steps. Would this hotel recommend to family & friends and we will stay there again on our next trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#35 Business Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diocleziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.