We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Diocleziano to your Saves list
Hotel Diocleziano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Kiryat Ono, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value and great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Diocleziano for five days from November 15th 2012 and really enjoyed our stay there. A great location (quiet, close to termini station and walking distance of up-to 30 minutes from all major attractions) and warm place to stay. The room is a bit small (but usuall in Roman hotels' standards). We certainly will come back and recommend to our friends and family.

Hasson, Kiryat-Ono, Israel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    431
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
322
845
62
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lived in this hotel from 17 to 20 November. My wife and I arrived in the great city of Rome to mark the 18th anniversary of our wedding. We have experienced only positive emotions!
Perfect location, excellent staff, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts. I recommend this hotel to all. Thanks for almost home atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel between 29th Oct - 2nd Nov, lovely boutique hotel in a quiet side street. We couldnt have asked for a better location, nothing is to much trouble for the staff all of them being especially helpful including Doreen who always had a smile on her face and a friendly word. We were initial put into a large room on the ground floor which was a lovely room but a little noisy, by just asking not a complaint we were moved to a smaller quieter room on the 3rd floor looking out over the front. This room was lovely with a bath which is something that we both really needed after all the walking we did. The breakfast were just what we needed to set us up for the day. With complementary drinks, snacks, te and coffee in the room every we needed for a fab stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, nice local restaurant and not a bad area to stay. Thank you very much and hopefully we'll be back to see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Italy before catching an early flight home and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room and bathroom were large and came with great amenities (complimentary tea/coffee, snacks and cold drinks in the fridge), and the front desk staff were helpful.

However, while it's close to the train station, the neighborhood around the hotel just isn't the best. Earlier in our trip, we rented an apartment in the historical center (near Piazza Navona) and found that neighborhood much more comfortable at night, and having better restaurants and shops. Even the neighborhood just a 5-minute walk further west (Monti) is much more interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are glad to learn that you have appreciated so many things about our Hotel. It is very important to us to know that our Service and Staff were up to your expectations.

However we have understood that you did not find the location convenient to tour around Rome. As you well said the Hotel is close by Termini main train station, this is probably why you thought it comfortable for your last night and to catch your early flight. However, compared to Piazza Navona, Diocleziano’s location still gives you full access to the sights of the Eternal City.

First of all it is just round the corner from the main underground and bus junction of Termini Station, which covers a large part of Rome and many important sights such as the Vatican. Furthermore, few metres away there is the main terminus for the hop-on hop-off buses, which are very convenient especially if staying for a short period. Also, with a only 10 minutes walk you will reach immediately the beauty and bustle of the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.

If in doubt about the location, our selling websites features a detailed map depicting the Hotel and the main sights, furthermore our receptionist are always available to give directions or for any other particular need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3nights. Had booked it on recommendations on this site. We were not disappointed. Great little hotel in a very convenient location for train, bus and underground system. Very helpful and accommodating staff with information and advice for our stay. The variety at breakfast was a pleasant surprise as was the fridge and complimentary drinks. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Nice local restaurants. We will be returning to Rome and this is where we will be staying.
Just to warn of pickpockets on subway, we very nearly got 'done' and my bag was under my fastened coat. Be aware and look after your valuables. Just like any big city.
We cannot wait to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to see the many sites in Rome. Fabulous city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Approaching the Hotel Diocleziano, you will find a very modest entry with the Hotel name posted on glass without any big sign out front. Do not let the modest entryway fool you. This is a very nice boutique hotel. My wife and I recently stayed there for 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them. The price is very reasonable and the hotel is spotlessly clean and everything works as it should.

The beds are comfortable and the room was very quiet despite the fact that it faced the street.

The location is excellent on a quiet street a 5 minute walk from Roma Termini the main train station.

There are excellent restaurants within walking distance.

You can also book tours through them at a reasonable price.

A very bright attraction for this hotel is the staff. On the front desk, Doreen, Emilio, and Giordano are exceptionally cheerful, with very good English (Doreen especially) and very eager to dispense advice on almost anything in Rome. The staff that helps with luggage, etc were also quick and cheerful.

The complimentary breakfast is very good with a good assortment of both hot and cold entrees. Again, the staff is exceptionally cheerful and helpful.

Especially note that the AC works very well, non-smoking rooms are really non-smoking without a trace of smoke, and they keep the fridge in the room stocked with COMPLIMENTARY soda and bottled water. This is refreshed every day!

I am a very critical reviewer (if you look at my other reviews, you will see that) but I found nothing to complain about here. When we return to Rome, we will definitely stay at the Diocleziano without question.

I recomend this hotel with my highest regard. Book ahead because they may always be booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn Noranda, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were a party of eight and we stayed at this hotel for 10 nights. It was a wonderful experience: the rooms were VERY clean, the complementary breakfast varied, good and tasty, the staff was friendly, helpful and was sad to see us leave (they even took a picture a picture of us as we were leaving), excellent location either on foot or by bus/metro. My husband and I had stayed there in 2010 and the experience was as great as before. If a third time in Rome, this is where we will be going.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diocleziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.