We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely part of Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gattopardo Relais

Save Saved
You added Il Gattopardo Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Gattopardo Relais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giulio Cesare 94, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #598 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely part of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel is for the traveler who doesn't want to stay in the heart of Rome. It is however a short stroll to the Vatican so I really enjoyed daily trips to St Peters Square to relax and appreciate where I was. The trip into Rome was very easy on the Metro, and every night I loved coming back to the local charms. The local food is amazing and I found the shopping to be the best. So many little boutiques with reasonable prices. The hotel was lovely, private and the staff will be there for you every minute if you want, or leave you in peace if that is what you want. It is hard to locate for a driver, and it has 2 small but wide flights of stairs to climb with luggage. I found no noise at all and loved looking out my window watching the bustling street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
33
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our birthdays in Feb, we stayed for 4 days in Rome and loved every minute of it. The hotel, although it only consists of a few rooms 5 i think, was easy to find and located close to local shops, the metro link (even though we only used it once) and Vatican city, about a 10-15 min walk.
The location was great for us since we enjoy walking around and stumbling across landmarks or sites of interest. The one time we used the metro was when we were on our way home and my suitcase had broken.
The room had a nice double bed and a marble bathroom there was minimal noise from the street and towels were provided. The room was clean and felt homely and characterful which we is what we perfer as aposed to the sterile modern finishes that are found in large new builds. Breakfast was proved which was pretty basic, some cereals, breads, jams, croissants and yoghurt. There was a 24 hour reception so although the doors were locked at night you just had to knock or buzz to get in. We found the staff friendly although they didn't speak much english but there was no need for them to.
While in Rome we visited St Peters (well worth climbing for the view), Vatican museum (got a bit lost), the colosseum, city museum, spanish steps, the majority of the fountains and numerous churches, botanical gardens, pantheon and other stuff i can't properly remember since we did randomly walk in the general direction of things and see others by accident. Having tea outside the pantheon is well worth doing as is seeing the colosseum at night. To be honest there is so much to see its hard to put priority on anything. We could easily go back.
We would recommend this hotel to couples wanting a quieter getaway that has a good location and is really reasonable. Had a lovely stay that we couldn't fault.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

1. If you have luggage or travel with older ppl, don't stay here
- There are 2 flights of stairs to this 'hotel' (apartment), situated between lift floors. The stairs being narrow is pretty hard to get the luggage up. THERE IS NO PORTER and the HOTEL PPL DO NOT HELP YOU!!!!

2. BROKEN TOILETS THAT DO NOT FLUSH, SHOWERS get flooded because of the poor plumbing
- There seems to be some plumbing issue with the bathrooms (The plumber later told us it is a consistent issue) - the water will not go down. We told the reception of our problem and he doesn't seem to care and said that too many ppl were showering at the same time. Seriously?!!!!
- My family in the suite room had it even worse : Their toilets won't flush and were told its our fault and that we shouldn't use the toilet and the shower at the same time. WHO DOES THAT. In the end, the shower can't be used entirely. WHen we asked for a change of rooms, they said they were all out. THIS IS THE WORST BIT - We will be leaving the next day and my family member was unwell and resting in the room that afternoon. The hotel wants to have a part causing the flushing issue to be replaced, however, it will not be fixed in our stay there and insisted on removing the part that day. LOOK, some one is resting!
We told them that they can do this tomorrow sinmce they informed us that they had no ppl in the room after we left. They insisted that they have to get it done and the plumber will be here in 30mins, then 1 hour then they eventually came at five. The very rude receptionist was shouting at us after the hour wait because we questioned the time of arrival of the plumber. Look someone is sick and trying to rest and they made them wait.

Like one hotel staff shouting wasn't enough, 2 of the staffs, shouted at us saying that they are already going to take 50Euros off. WHat do you want - You want the toilet fixed or the discount? I told them that they couldn't get anything fixed whilst we're there and they went into a frenzy! Is this how you talk to your clienteles?

3. Cleanliness - The place feels a bit grimey - Like after you wipe the place down with a dirty cloth. The sheets in some of the rooms were stained.

4. General amenities - Airconditioning in the rooms don't work so we had to open our windows which were very noisy as it was two floors up and next to a main road! You can't come and go as you please - We went out till 12am and the staff at the door was really unhappy taht he had to open the door for us (U have to buzz in)

NOT A HOTEL!!!!! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilgattopardoRoma, Direttore at Il Gattopardo Relais, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
On August 18, 2010 we received a booking for a total of 5 rooms: 2 doubles, 1 suite, 1 triple and 1 single use 17 to 20 October 2010 of the following clients a couple of which have already been our guests in 2004.

Having booked for the second time the hotel, meaning that they have received good service and have found good in his time.



The customers of the Suite, on the night of Oct. 18, have clogged the toilet and blocked the drain pipes with non-biodegradable material, despite the cartel prohibition laid over the water but not to throw toilet paper.



The wasteful use and the lack of attention of customers mentioned above, has caused serious hardship in the first place, to them, because they could not use the bathroom for one day (they have benefited from a bathroom of one of their relatives from the next room to them) and secondly, to us, damaging both economically and from an organizational point of view / management, to overcome this discomfort immediately.



The next morning we were immediately used to solve the problem, by involving two technicians, a plumber and a company that specializes in water systems.

The interventions have shown that instead of denying customers, namely the presence of strange material that had clogged the drain to prevent drain the water. We wish to emphasize that these are new bathrooms.



Customers realizing he had made a loss, and of course they were afraid to make good, you are put on the defensive, arguing that there was nothing thrown into the water if only cartiginica and that they demanded a discount on the room bill.





Despite everything we offered an accommodation in another hotel of superior category, they immediately refused, and accepted a rebate from them, to demonstrate our good faith and utmost dedication and professionalism to customers.



Hopeful of receiving further trouble from customers, however we ask you to monitor this reservation to avoid being victims of a negative comment but especially their defensive untrue and damaging to the image of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a tiny, charming, old fashioned hotel in an excellent location as a jumping off point for the Vatican area sites, and a mile or two's walk to the ancient sites. Also very convenient to the Metro for points beyond. Neighborhood seemed safe and busy until the wee hours.

Rooms were quaint and clean. Service was friendly, and just enough English spoken to get what we needed.

Though I had read other reviews complaining about noise from other rooms, we did not hear any at all (including from the busy street the hotel fronts). Air conditioning was welcome.

Breakfast was limited (pastries, cold cuts, yogurt), but espresso and cappuccino were just right.

Cabbie had some trouble locating the discreet entrance, so placing it precisely on a map before you arrive would be helpful. Buzz to open the door. No lift, but 2 easy flights of stairs up to the hotel. (You'll have to carry your own bags.) Wifi is at a small fee by the hour.

All in all a good value for a nice serviceable place to lay our heads after walking the city all day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here for four nights. Its Location is great close to the Vatican and at same time well connected to the centre with the metro and buses. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious. The down side is that breakfast is quite limited.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC CANADA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Comfortable, quiet hotel very close to St. Peter's Square and the subway, in a central neighbourhood that is very safe to stroll in at all hours. Only 5 rooms; ours was large and more than adequate. Staff is very helpful. Only criticism would be that the breakfast is very limited but this is amply made up for by the tasty capuccinos and the really helpful 24-hour front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Having walked a lot during the day, it was great to come back to a spacious, comfortable room. The hotel was quiet, with the traffic outside only audible when a siren went off.

The location was great, a short walk away from Vatican City and not far from buses, trams, small supermarkets and other shops, cafes and restaurants.

Our hosts were the only let down - during most mornings, a woman acted as receptionist and was not helpful - when asked about buses, she advised us to go on the Metro, clearly not listening to what we wanted to do. Most of the time we saw her, she was on the phone for very long periods. Although, the man who normally had the night shift was very polite and far more helpful.

My partner and I never use hotel restaurants, wi-fi / internet, gym or swimming pool - we only need a comfortable, clean room and this was ideal. For those looking for more, they should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Gattopardo Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Gattopardo Relais

Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 94, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Gattopardo Relais 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Il Gattopardo Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gattopardo Relais Rome
Il Gattopardo Relais Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gattopardo Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.