We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimama

Kimama
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kimama to your Saves list
Kimama
Via Emilio Morosini 18, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #565 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Kimama. The room was very clean, and came equipped with a small table and chairs for eating, a mini-fridge, a personal espresso-maker, a large flat screen TV, big comfy bed, and a beautifully tiled bathroom. The view out the window was of the apartment complex courtyard, giving an authentic roman feel. The room had heating and air-conditioning. It is right next to the tram station, and a few blocks from the heart of trastevere, the center, and the river. There was also free wifi and a computer in the hall you could use. And the prices were very reasonable! Lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having just returned from staying at Kimama I've checked and checked again to make sure I booked the right place. I've re-read all the Tripadvisor comments and checked all the photos of the place, and Kimama's web site.

We got the right place, paid the standard price but got a very different deal from what most people report. Our room was neither of the two shown on the web site (the web site shows the green room and the orange room. I think we got the box room). The room was small - acceptable for sleeping in if you're out all day but it is also where you take your breakfast and we stayed several nights.

Kimama is listed as a B&B. This means different things in different places. In Kimama it means a fridge under your table containing yoghurt, milk and fruit juice, tea and coffee facilities and four slices of bread provided daily. It's actually a perfectly reasonable way to take breakfast (just don't expect the homely virtues of a B&B), although given that a fridge was available, real fruit juice (instead of stuff in a carton made up from concentrate) would have been nicer.

Like the bedroom, the bathroom was clean, but cramped. I very much got the impression that letting the box room was an afterthought. I should have checked the website on arrival, although there was little that could have been done. Trastevere gets booked up quickly.

The location is fine. Easy to get to from the airport via Trastevere station and five minutes walk from the main square in Trastevere (ie not far away and not too close!). Fifteen minutes walk and you are in the heart of historic Rome. Plenty of good restaurants, especially south of the main road through Trastevere.

Kimama was not an awful place to stay - just way below the expectation we had and our room was not good value for money. Kimama's web site states the room rate as between Eu75 and Eu100. Given we paid Eu95 and mid April is not high season, it is reasonable to expect one of the better rooms - at least one matching the descriptions offered.

Room Tip: Confirm exactly what room you get for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the triple room which was huge with a double bed and one single plus a big kitchen and bathroom with enormous bath tub, our own apartment. Everything was very nicely decorated and very clean. Fresh bred was left in the kitchen every day for breakfast and there was milk, juice, butter and jam in the fridge and a coffee maker, so you can have breakfast whenever you like. We loved staying in Trastevere. There are lots of restaurants nearby and market with fresh fruit and cheese just around the corner. Will definitely stay again on next Rome visit!

Room Tip: Stay in the triple room if you want a spacious apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just wanted to write a quick note about my experience of Kimama in Trastevere, Rome.

Wow, what a place. Perfect location, very helpful host and the apartment is just amazing.

Everything was wonderful. The feel of the place, the wonderful kitchen (coffee machine, tea, biscuits and yoghurt), gorgeous bedroom and great bathroom.

I have nothing at all bad to say. I wish I couldn't give it such a good review because I'd love to keep this place a secret ;)

Really, thank you so much for making the last part of my time in Rome so wonderful.

Will definitely be back to stay in Kimama when I'm next in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

we stayed here in mid september. the location was very convenient - close to the trams and the wonderful sights of the neighborhood of trastevere are a few steps away.
the apartment was clean and well-stocked and comfortable. there is street noise, so bring some ear plugs - this is common in rome, so i wouldn't put this as a negative for staying here.
the owner is really sweet and helpful - i am always a little unsure about making reservations without something formal, but they kept their word and followed through on everything.
i would highly recommend kimama for anyone.
db

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Chose Kimama for a short stay late July 2012. Both my wife and two children aged 10 & 7 loved the accomodation/location. The apartment itself was excellent and the children were delighted by the homely feel to the place. Genuine flexibility and help was on hand where needed and I would certainly hope to make a return visit one day in the future. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimama

Address: Via Emilio Morosini 18, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimama b&b is a newly renovated cozy apartment. It is centrally located and it's made of 2 double rooms with ensuite bathroom and a large suite, more like an apartment than a suite. Rooms are equipped with all comforts -satellite tv, fridge, cofee and tea maker, hair dryer, and breakfast is self made. The area - trastevere is very lively and ancient and close to all hitoric sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Kimama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.