We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro di Marcello

Teatro di Marcello
Via del Teatro di Marcello, Rome, Italy (Sant'Angelo / Ghetto)
39 064814800
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 722 attractions in Rome
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great little treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The great thing about Rome is, you can wonder around and alsways find something within seconds. Whilst it was closed when we went to visit, its a great just to even see the outside of something like this!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    39
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The area is an archeological excavation. You really get an appreciation for how people built upon the ruins. The coliseum is neat to view and the path connects the Ghetto with the Capitoline hill.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old model for the coliseum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Free of charge and interesting. We went there but it was a rainy day so we couldn't enjoy it much. Plus the book didn't tell us much about it. But it is very interesting as most ancient structures in Rome. You might have another angle looking it from the Jewish quarter. The building itself is a combination of old and modern so take few minutes to go there. Much more important than other monuments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I came here with my mother in September. We attended a classical music evening seated in this area right in front of this lovely Roman ruin. It was extremely atmospheric and a joy to attend. The music the night we attended was a mix of violin led pieces with two violinists and a concert piano playing Bach, Shostakovich and others. It was a magnificent atmospheric setting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely classical concert among the Roman ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you want a very special evening, I suggest you attend an evening concert (20:30 h) at the Teatro Marcello - I Concerti del Tempietto - a summer festival of classical music, and not only, with exquisite execution, surrounded by Roman ruins!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro di Marcello also viewed

 

Been to Teatro di Marcello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro di Marcello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Teatro di Marcello to your Saves list