We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B University

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B University
Save
You added B&B University to your Saves list
Via dei Sardi 32, 00185 Rome, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,475 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Again we used Trip Advisor's recommendation and were very pleased that we did!

Domenico is a charming & very helpful host. He greeted us on our arrival. As indicated earlier, have no fear when looking at the front door, this place is great!

Each room was very comfortable with a computer that also doubled as a TV (who had the energy to even watch TV with so much to do in Rome). The bathroom, while compact, had all that was necessary.

The area is in San Lorenzo, near the University (hence the name) and while close to the train station, off the "tourist path". It was nice to be in an area populated by "real Rome". Domenico went out of his way to help us enjoy the area. He sent us to a great little restaurant (no sign, just a light over the door with a buzzer to get in). It was super!

We did two tours with Real Rome Tours...another great venue.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I was a bit worried about finding this B&B, so we walked from Termini and found it with no trouble (used the address and then looked for the nameplate - similar to other B&Bs in Italy) - took about 15-20 minutes. Domenico was a fabulous host, providing a great map and great restaurant recommendations. The room was lovely, with a computer in the room and a lovely breakfast. Given prices for hotels in Rome, this was a great deal! It also leaves you in San Lorenzo, a young & hip part of town where you'll pay real Rome prices not tourist prices. A disadvantage is it's not on the Metro, but once you understand the bus/tram routes, it's even easier than the metro!

Also liked the pizza restaurant Formula 1 that's nearby.

Just as a note - I found throughout Italy it is very helpful to communicate with the B&B contact to advise on your arrival time so that you can be sure someone will be there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

THE HOTEL:

Upon our arrival, I have to admit that my first impressions weren't great, for two reasons - it wasn't well signed on the outside (without printing something off Google Maps, there was no way we would have found it) and it's not necessarily hotel-like - the complex seemed to be an upstairs block of rooms in a residential/commercial building.

But that really didn't matter... the guy who showed us to our rooms was really helpful, and pointed out to us which bus to catch to the centre of Rome, where all the attractions were, and even recommended a good restaurant.

The room itself was very spacious, decorated in a modern style, extremely clean and came with free Internet access. The private bathroom was also large in size - very modern, with a more than spacious shower. The sheer amount of space made me wonder if they'd put us in the right room! Of course, they had, but I just didn't expect this much space for £40 p/n.

One other great thing was the breakfast. Each morning, we were treated to paninis and a selection of ham and cheese. I'm not big on breakfasts to be honest, but this was a great way to start off the day's trekking and it was also included in the price. The coffee was also to die for in my humble opinion! Real Italian stuff.

THE LOCATION:

This bit is important if you're a discerning traveller. The hotel is located in the University area, about 15 minutes walk away from the Roma Termini (main train station). There was a selection of eateries nearby, plus a few street cafes and ice cream parlours to choose from. But just be aware that this is not really a tourist area - if you want to be in the heart of it all and you presumably have a bigger budget, then I wouldn't recommend staying in this area. Otherwise, if you don't mind the walking around to get to the bustling areas then this hotel in particular is by far the best place to stay in Rome as far as value for money goes.

I would certainly book here again if I ever return to Rome!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and quality of accommodation.
  • Disliked — Only the location, if I'm being picky.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

It’s taken me a while to get round to writing this but here goes

The best part is the price, as Rome hotels are so expensive. This is a little out of the centre but a bus ride will get you there in no time, and they run late so you can have dinner in the city.

Breakfast was awesome, the misses likes her toast so had coffee and the yoghurt but I loved the cold meats and selection you get :-)

The rooms are simple, as it is a cheap price you get what you need, it’s clean, and kept maintained so it looks fresh i.e. curtains bed boards haven’t faded etc.

There is a safe in the room.

It is a bit noisy but I’d imagine it would be like that throughout many parts of Rome, as you have narrow streets and high buildings for the sound to travel, we closed the storm shutter’s which helps and you’re so tired from looking at all the sights we slept like logs.

Good shower, fresh sheets and towels regularly changed and the lady that serves the breakfast and sorts the rooms out is lovely.

There are some great places to eat around the area, loving our food we tried many places to eat but we went to a restaurant only a couple of streets away near some bars, it has a red pavilion outside and a decking that was on the pavement, we called it Lady Muccas – it’s not actually that because we could never remember the name! A lot of Italians eat there which pulled us in and they have an English menu, at first I was thinking oh no touristy place but the food was the best we had and the best priced, we ate at many of the restaurants around the Piazza Novona and the Pantheon that cost a fortune and could not compare to this, and some places down side streets that looked non tourist driven still could not beat it, hunt it out it’s well worth it!!!

Don’t hesitate, book it (unless you are really troubled by noise)! I used reserver.it to book

  • Liked — price / quality
  • Disliked — a little noisy but it makes it exciting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

Great B & B located near Termini. Bus line nearby which takes you to all parts of the City; also about a 15 minute walk to Termini. A little hard to find but very secure.

Owner is very, very helpful and having a computer in the room is great. We used the metro & bus website to map out all our locations for the next day using public transportation which worked wonderfully. Can be a lot of street noise at night; if that bothers you, might want to bring earplugs.

A great value for Rome.

  • Liked — value and location
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We loved the location, service and convenience..... not to mention the free internet. We had our little 15 month old boy with us and used the kitchen every night to cook his meals, or ours. There was a local supermarket just round the corner and a number of fantatstic places to grab a bite to eat or have a sit down meal. The owner (Dominico) was extremely helpful with directions and ideas and the breakfast, although not what you would get in a hotel was very good for the money and fresh.

Dominico organised a car to pick us up at the airport for 40 Euro and it brought us straight to the B & B.

We stayed the first three nights of our italy trip here and the last two nights before returning home. Dominico upgraded us to the biggest room for the last two nights at no extra charge!

We would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting the convenience of being on a main bus route into rome (15 minutes). There was a great park for kids near by, an ATM on the corner and 10 minutes walk to Termini Station (with a 15 month old!).

The really great thing about this B & B and area is you mix it with the locals of rome, not touristy but a safe area. We even had our washing done at the local laundrymat.

It's great value for money and can't recommend it highly enough!! Thanks Dominico and ?Mika (not sure of the beautiful lady who prepared the breakfast and cleaned but she was fantastic!!!)

Rooms were one bed room with ensuite/bathroom (90 Euro per night). Facilities were perfect and security was great as it is located within an apartment building with secure doors. Had a safe, TV, internet, great airconditioning (which was a god send!) and clean, neat and modern. We wish Dominic all the best for the future and hopefully we will see him again soon..... as soon as someone can take care of the kids!!!

  • Liked — Value for money, location, hospitality and airconditioning!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

This is a wonderful bed & breakfast in a nice area of Rome close to rome main train station. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated with a computer/TV, table and chair, and a good size en-suite. The bed was also very comfortable.

You are only a 15 minute walk to the train station, 2 minute walk to the bus station that passes by the train station, 1 minute walk to a Pizzaria, and 2 minute walk to a cheap grocery store and a small market. Thus, the location was awesome.

Breakfast was great, we got a plate full of meat, cheese, bread, and croissants, every morning. There was plenty of food, and you are also allowed to use the kitchen facility while you are there.

Domenico, the owner was also very nice and he actually gave us a ride to the airport, which we thought was very nice.

You do need to pay in cash, until they get a card machine.

We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Rome and recommend this place to everyone we know as I can't think of any negatives.

  • Liked — Friendly Service and comfortable bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B University

Address: Via dei Sardi 32, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo , Tiburtino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,475 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.