We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Via Della Stazione di San Pietro 22, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,754 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

When planning our Euopean vacation my husband and I decided we didn't need to stay in 4 to 5 star hotels and resorts. What's the point, you are going to Europe to learn and enjoy the history and character of the "way of life."
I found the B&B online through a general search, but before "booking" I looked up on Tip Advisor. The B&B received decent reviews, and for what we wanted the cost was reasonable.
It is located withing a 5 to 10 min walk to Vatican City, and right around the corner to the bus stop. If you choose not to take the bus or walk, you just walk out to street or down the street to find a taxi. When in Rome, we didn't have any issues with the location in relation to anyof the sites. The room we stayed in was the perfect size for 2 people stay a couple of nights to enjoy the beautiful city. We had doors leading to the balcony with an amazing view of Vatican City. Every morning there was a small breakfast left outside the door. Neither my husband nor I are huge breakfast people, so milk, juice, cerel and fruit was fine for us. The room was clean, the shower and toilet worked fine.
My personal opinion when traveling is as long as your room is clean, quiet and close to sites I'm happy. Make sure to visit all the historical sites, eat lots, drink the house wine and walk around.
If I go back to Rome I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for two nights spread 9 days apart on our way in and out of Rome. Francesca was very helpful by email to answer all our questions before we arrived and provided excellent instructions on how to get to the B&B from the airport.

The B&B is located very close to the Roma S. Pietro train station making it easy to get to from either the Rome airport or main Termini train station. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Vatican. The neighbourhood is nice and we felt comfortable walking around at night.

We stayed in the Tiber room with private bathroom. The room was clean, the size was large by Italy standards, and the bed was comfortable. The walls seem fairly thin though as we could hear people opening and close the main door of the B&B and their room doors. Unfortunately for us there were people coming and going at 4am which woke us up, so you are at the mercy of the other guests' ability to be quiet. Also we could hear the trains braking from the station across the street. The first night it kept us up until about midnight, the second night was not a problem so I guess it depends on the kind of trains pulling into the station.

The provided breakfast was great, definitely enough food for us to last until lunch time. One issue we had was the Internet connection was not working. I could connect to the WiFi router in the B&B but could not access any web sites. I had no problems with my equipment in the other 4 places we stayed. I contacted Francesca about the problem and she immediately replied that she would look into the problem. When we returned 9 days later it was still not fixed and never heard back about what the problem was.

Overall good price and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We enjoyed our first stay for 3 nights at Casa Franci but were disappointed when we werent given the room booked on our second stay of 2 nights. The ad says the Tiber room has a balcony with a view of St.Peters but that wasnt the room we were given on our second stay. We had no balcony, and no view on our second stay. Beware !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmxxxx, Owner at Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Indeed not all of our rooms have the view. It is true however that all guests can go on the balcony with the view even if it's not in their room. The guests who wrote this article may have well been disappointed they had no view on their third night, however they were well advised of the fact that they were going to change rooms BEFORE they booked, that their room did not have the balcony with the view. We offered them a discount for this, and the rate for the third night was very low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a nice flat on the 5th floor (with lift) that has been converted into a B&B.
Francesca, the owner, is a lovely, charming and smiling lady, and really made us feel home.
The flat has a nice hall as you walk in, with some art works made by Francesca herself.
The rooms (we stayed for 2 nights in 2 different rooms, there's also a third one which we didn't see) are very clean, good size, with private bathroom and hair dryer, and some handwash and shampoo, which usually B&Bs don't provide.
The breakfast terrace has a view on San pietro's dome, it's basically right behind it... what a wonderful way to start your day! Franci serves a nice continental breakfast, you can either have it in your room or on the terrace. We opted for the latter of course, what a view from there!
The San Pietro train station is just round the corner, with direct connections to Roma Termini (central stations), and bus 64, which takes you there too, has its terminal just opposite the station: from there, 5 mins walk to Casa Franci.
There's free internet connection in the flat, and a mobile with which you can call Franci in case of emergency.
We loved this place, it was like having our flat in Rome, and we could go back there tomorrow!
Grazie Francesca! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for three nights in May. We have never traveled to Rome or anywhere else in Italy and were unfamiliar with the idea that a bed and breakfast would be located in a high rise. Luckily, I did read up on that being fairly common here before we left for our trip and explained this to my husband as we walked from the train station.

It is EXTREMELY convenient to the Vatican area and is accessible to the train through the San Pietro station. If you arrive from the airport (FCO) or the main train station, Termini, you will have an easy time arriving here. We paid 8 euros each for a one way train ticket from San Pietro out to the FCO airport the morning that we left. We saw ads all over that for 2 people a cab would have been roughly 40 euros or so and wouldn't have saved us a whole lot of time. This B&B is walking distance from St. Peter's Basillica and has several cafe/restaurants in the neighborhood. We tried All Brothers and loved it, which is along the way if you walk to St. Peter's.

The owners are extremely sweet. My husband and I took an overnight Artesia train from Paris to Rome and mistakenly got off at the wrong stop. We called the owners to let them know our arrival would be closer to the evening and they were very accommodating. They also spoke English with us after we attempted unsuccessfully to speak in the little Italian we knew. :c)

Presently there is some construction going on in the complex on the ground level, however, we didn't hear any noise from it. We left the room between 8:30-9:30am each morning. We heard the train a few times when we left the window to our room open, but again, it wasn't loud enough to bother us at all.

Breakfast each morning was: cornflakes with milk; corn muffin; croissants from the pastry shop next door (these were very, very good); jam; coffee; orange juice. Each morning the owners were in the kitchen so as long as you were up between 8-10am it appeared you could have breakfast at any point during this time period.

We felt safe, it was a convenient location, the breakfast was very nice, and the owners were very accommodating. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Six of us just left Casa Franci on May 10th, 2011. I can't say enough about the location, cleanliness and just all around friendliness of this B & B. Francesca and Cesaer were very helpful and made us feel like family. We definitely would not hesitate to stay here again when in Rome. Its very near the Vatican and has a few good restruants close by. Francesca is very knowledgeable about the metros, buses and where to get good prices on items you might want to buy. We found the items we wanted at great prices with her help. I woud highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, USVI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We arrived during a period of transition for the B&B. Nevertheless we were treated very well. The experience is like staying in a middle class home. We felt totally safe and secure in this building. Many small cafes and gelaterias (my personal requirement) in the area. Very close to the Vatican and the #64 bus. Breakfast was fine. It was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: The Forum Room does have a view of St. Peters Dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Della Stazione di San Pietro 22, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,754 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Rome Tourist centre, a few steps away from Vatican City, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter Basilica. What distinguishes us from other hotels and Bed & breakfasts is the spectacular head-on view of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica from our balcony. We offer two rooms, one of which with the balcony and view. We are are within walking distance from most tourist sites and very well connected to public transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Franci Hotel Rome
Casa Franci b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Franci Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.