We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Romana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Romana Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Romana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Delle Quattro Fontane, 113, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #455 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for the second time and was very happy with the service. Very clean, and well kept. It is very central, walking distance to everything, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna, and
close to all the shopping areas. The breakfast area was out in the courtyard by the fountain., but if you chose to have your breakfast inside, there was a pretty dining room. I will definitely be back. Pricing was reasonable as well, and we went in July, which is high season.

Room Tip: I got the same room both times I stayed here. Ask for a room facing the fountain in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    231
    85
    33
    8
See reviews for
162
205
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is centrally situated within easy reach of Termini station. Loads of eateries just a few steps away from the hotel.
Helpful reception staff.
We stayed in rooms 306 and 307 family room and double room respectively.
Unfortunately the accomodation most certainly did not meet my expectations of a four star hotel. The floors were dirty, walls mouldy (in family room), wifi did not work, TV set was small with poor quality pictures (probably 1980's tv set).
Rome is terribly warm in the month of August and a good functioning air conditioning system would have been much appreciated.
Some construction work was being carried out within the hotel which started at about 8am needless to say my dreams of getting some lie in were cut short.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Overall this place was way overpriced, small, and so hot. The so called "air-conditioner" was pathetic. Yes I knew going to rome in August was going to be hot, but this place says it has A/C. It was unbearably hot. The beds were tiny, uncomfortable, and the shower HA! Absolutely tiny.

I would suggest staying away from this hotel seeing as it was totally overpriced and not even in a great location. We ended up spending most of our time near Campo De Fiori and loved that area. But back to the shower, I'm 5'6" 155 lbs and I could barely fit into it. It was borderline offensive that they expect a guest to enjoy that shower.

Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaladar, ON Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here to end off our vacation. We began in Venice and did a 7 night cruise of the Greek Islands and finished in Rome at this hotel. The charm of this place really grew on us. We had 2 rooms - one a triple and one a double. I do admit that the rooms were small (was prepared for this after reading the reviews on tripadvisor), especially the triple, but we really only slept there. The bathroom in the triple was very big. I loved the tall windows and the painted ceiling in our room. There was a beautiful sitting area on the second floor. It was very hot when we were in Rome on July 15th and 16th and the air conditioning in the double didn't work unless you used the room key. We loved the courtyard and the breakfast buffet had the best croissants!! One of my favourite times of day was sitting in the courtyard after breakfast with a cappuccino! It wasn't too bad of a walk from Termini, but you need to really watch for it, the sign is small. The front desk was helpful whenever we had questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the reception desk. They are warm, helpfully, and go out of there way to help. There is not much to the front lobby but it is clean and modern looking.

Our room was was next to the elevator and it had a strange shape making it feel very small. The room had wall to wall carpet which looked worn and dirty. The bedding had also seen better days. The best part of this hotel room was the large marble looking bathroom with nice big towels.
We always came back to a "freshened room".

The location was great for going to the Anceint part of the city. However , the walk to the Terri fountain, Spanish steps, and piazza navono, involved walking up and down a steep hill.

We did love the court yard with fountain which we spent every night in with a bottle of wine. (bought from a mini mart across the street.)


For what we paid for this hotel.... We could have done better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My mother and I stayed for two nights after our cruise. we took the train in and followed our map to the hotel. The hotel was easy to find and close to train station. we were able to walk but took a taxi to the airport just to be sure we were not late on the way home. The hotel was great! the comp breakfast had eggs, bacon, bread, cold meats, sweets, cereal coffee, juice, cookies and more. I was able to use the internet in the lobby to print off my airline tickets. The manager and staff were very helpful. There was a mix up with our reservation but the manager fixed everything and gave us a bottle of champagne to apologize. The rooms were big. The staff answered all of our questions and gave us ideas on transit around Rome. We would stay at this hotel next time we visit Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good location, clean & good sized room. The furniture is somwhat dated though. Lovely courtyard and a very good breakfast. The front desk seemed overwhelmed at times. we asked them to book us a 1 day tour to Naples/Pompeii, but when we got to the tour company's meeting place, they did not have our reservation. Just the same, we were able to go as the tour bus was not full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Romana Hotel

Address: Via Delle Quattro Fontane, 113, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Romana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Domus Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Romana
Domus Romana Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Romana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.