We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a clean hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Hostel

Legends Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Legends Hostel to your Saves list
Legends Hostel
Via Curtatone 12, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Alessandro Legends) (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Northwest Romania, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“a clean hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My philosophy is that when you're visiting any city, you don't stay in the room, unless you are very very sick. Since it's a hostel, you need it only to sleep,shower and eat some breakfast,eventually.

Some people complain about the lock-out period, probably for the party people, that come at 5am to sleep, it might be a problem, but for discoverers, like me, it's ok, at 10am it.s time to finish breakfast and hit the city.
Some people complain about the small/non-existent common room. Be serious, who wants to socialize in the common room of a hostel, in a city full of coffee-places? One is just downstairs, 5steps away from the hostel, another one is at 100meters away.

I was afraid of bedbugs, but there was none. Due to the reservation I made, I had to change 3 different beds during my stay,it didn't bother me at all. And no bedbugs in any bed. The rooms that I slept in had bathrooms in the room, very clean. Linens were changed every day. Breakfast was symbolic,but enough to make you resist until noon. Friendly staff, clean hostel, good location, close to the Termini train station and end of many bus lines. Many buses to and from airports start/stop at Termini.
They have internet access for guests (2 computers), but in the area are also 1 or 2 internet places.
There is also a supermarket and a market with fresh fruits near the hostel.

I will go there again and I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
13
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lots of problems.

(a) They forcibly evict your from your room every day from 10:00AM - 3:00PM. They do so to "clean", which in fact takes only 3-4 minutes. I expect that they have this lock out in order to save on their electric bill.

(b) There is no real common area; only a small room with some small tables and nothing else, inconveniently located, where no one ever goes. Traveling alone this made the "hostel" nearly useless for meeting people. What if on one of my nights here I don't feel like going out? Nothing to do, then, but stay in your room (but, of course, NOT between 10:00 - 3:00).

(c) The shut the "air conditioning" off in your room every day from 7 AM to 7 PM. Rooms are therefore quite hot, and when it is on, it barely does anything anyways. So yes, they "have air conditioners" in the room, but useless ones.

They did offer a pizza dinner Monday, Wednesday, and Friday -- this and the breakfast are basically your only opportunities to meet anybody. This aspect was alright, but did not make up for the other mass ineptitudes of the hostel.

Room Tip: DO NOT book at this so-called hostel: it is nothing like the hostels you have stayed at in the past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

The worst hostel I've stayed in. Twin room had one real bed and one with a collapsing mattress (which they finally changed for our third/final night). The air-conditioning did not exist (apparently was on a timer?) and we were COVERED head to toe with bed bugs starting from the first night. 30 degrees outside, 40 degrees inside!! The staff were really friendly though. The wifi was not discoverable from our room (3rd floor). The hostel had a very small sign on the street, and we couldn't see it at first, so did the block twice with luggage before we found it. Elevator fit only one persons luggage at a time. While building smelled of mould!!! Really badly. And I am allergic to mould. Bathroom was new but simply trickled water when in the shower. €80/night=fairly substantial. We stayed somewhere else for same price the next time we came to Rome, and were in a beautiful hotel room with air-conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

staff friendly ... rooms clean, toilets clean and in great condition for an hostel .. I could enjoy every morning an hot shower our bath :D and after it if you wake up earlier you could have the typical breakfast.
The dinner it's the same .. but don't forget !!

if you arrive late for the breakfast or dinner ... there's nothing left for you.
both, dinner and breakfast are free!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Great location, minutes walk from the Roma Termini, with a secure gated entrance, nearby bars/restaurants/market and laundry with internet. The dorm rooms are fairly sizeable with a hutch for luggage and ensuite bathroom (plus hall bathrooms that are pretty much communal). Cereal/toast breakie is light but comp'd and the free pasta dinner sign up each night is a good beer sponge but will leave you hungry. Overall good value.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Hey Everyone!!! Staying at Legends RUINED my vacation. They have bed bugs.... Not just myself but another girl in my room were eaten alive. Now I am in Madrid and cannot enjoy myself because I look like I have giant chicken pox!!! I stayed in the girls dorm 3 on a top bunk. Please do not stay here!!!!! I know its hard to resist the temptation to stay in a place so cheap, but now I am going to have to pay twice that to have my laundry done here because I am paranoid that I brought the bugs with me!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Hostel under new management now has Free Pasta at night with a glass of wine, Free Breakfast in the morning Kicken/ common room has every thing you need to cook and even free food in the cupboards, staff are awsome and so much fun, has everything you need with out leaving the hostel, Internet, International Phone and they have Free Dvd to watch if you wanna relax and put your feet up..

  • Liked — Nothing is ever a problem 4 the staff and they are there making sure your having fun
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legends Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Hostel

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Alessandro Legends)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Hostel (formerly known as Alessandro Legends), has become an independent hostel after recent renovations with new administration. The hostel is ideal for families and those who prefer cozy and tranquil lodgings as it is in a quiet location. The Legends Hostel is geared primarily towards private accommodations and smaller dorm rooms, either with shared or en-suite bathrooms. Our international atmosphere and English speaking staff help make us a true backpacker's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legends Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.