We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central yes, would I stay there again? No!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Montecitorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Montecitorio to your Saves list
Residenza Montecitorio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #663 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Central yes, would I stay there again? No!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I will start with the positives, this hotel is central, clean and the staff are ok. However the main reason for my low rating of this hotel is not the hotel itself, it is their neighbours. The set up of this hotel is quite different to places I have stayed in before. There are two parts, one elevator takes you to receptions, multiple, there are from what I could tell at least three different hotels on the property and also individuals living in their own apartments. The other elevator takes you to the rooms. We stayed on level four, where about a dozen other rooms are and also a family living in their own apartment. This family is rude, loud and generally unfriendly. We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and each night they had loud arguments at all hours and felt the need to play extremely loud music between the hours of 11pm to 2am. The hotel staff would not assist, saying we would need to take care of it ourselves. The family only turned the music up louder when we knocked on their door. Please do not stay here, it was a horrible experience and I do not want anyone else to have to go through what we have been through.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    80
    48
    25
    27
See reviews for
45
75
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have spent 5 nights in this hotel and all 3 of us were very disappointed. We had no view...but facing the courtyard....the room itself wasn't spacious at all, but made you feel really claustrophobic, they can't consider it as triple room. We had 3 single small beds and also the mattresses were not that comfortable at all. It was absurd how small the room number 231 was! You can't swing a cat....it might be acceptable as single room, but with 1 single bed.
The wall paper was stained in many parts. The shower cubicle was very small as well.
MOST OF ALL YOU CAN HEAR NOISES COMING IN ALL DIRECTIONS. Walls must be very thin as you can hear literally everything...people moving furnitures in the rooms nearby...people talking...people walking and it seemed they were coming inside our room!
One of the pillows was blood stained and the only window looked old and dirty.
It is in the city centre, but you have many other options, so I would advise to look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 231 is claustrophobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although without a restaurant so no breakfast, the friendly staff and central location make this a great base to explore all the main sights of Rome on foot. Close to the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps, it is also very close to a number of lovely restaurants catering for all budgets

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's a great location and you are in reasonable, walking distance from all major landmarks/attractions in Rome. The rooms are kept very clean and the bathrooms spotless. We had a very early arrival in Rome but they allowed us to leave our bags and check-in around noon. We arranged through the hotel a car service and they met us outside of baggage claim, which was nice after a long night of travelling.

Rooms are relatively small and walls are thin, so don't be surprised if you can hear the entire conversation of your neighbors. Don't stay in the rooms nearest the reception or you will be hearing the intercom buzzer all night, when other guests need to enter the hotel. You will also hear the hotel phone every time it rings as well. This goes back to the thin walls. Beds are stiff and hard and sheets are thin.

The central location combined with the price outweighed the negatives, so we got what we paid for in a week's stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nicely situated close to everything. Unpretentious, clean and friendly. Our room was on the small side and a bit dark - mostly because of the blue wallpaper and heavy curtains, but also because one of the lamps was not working. No breakfast available but there are several places in the vicinity that serve coffee and a croissant. Great value for money that we would consider coming back to.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We (couple in our 30s) chose this hotel due to its central location and the price. And you get what you pay for in this circumstance. Of our two week stay in Italy this hotel was by far the worst! I am not one to complain but almost immediately upon arrival my husband and I contemplating checking out and going elsewhere..... When we arrived we were directed through a dirty courtyard to an small elevator in the back (good thing we packed light) up to the third floor then up some stairs (you will find the elevator doesn't match with the actual floor?) into a small reception area
The receptionist advised we would have to go back down the stairs/elevator and into another small elevator at the front. Then up to the forth floor and back down some stairs down a small corridor and then get buzzed into a portion of the building that is associated with this "hotel" and finally into the room. In addition to all this you also have to be buzzed into the main entrance on the weekends and at night. It doesn't sound too bad until you have to do it every time you come back to the hotel.

When we found our way into the room there was a strong cigarette smoke smell in the room. Despite the cold weather we had to open a window to air out the room.... (Maybe I neglected to req a non smoking room)... The room was tiny! About 2ft clearance on either side of the double bed. The term bed I use loosely. It was more like plywood with sheets and thin pillows. The bathroom was a little better but with a small shower. There is no breakfast included but there is a reasonably priced cafe across the street. Also, while I am hesitant to note but feel it important enough to include, one day upon return to the hotel there was also a strong distinct smell of marijuana smoke in the courtyard. It is a shared courtyard in all fairness but it was still alarming.

As for the positives it was a budget priced hotel so again you get what you pay for. There was free Internet and there is a small balcony that overlooks Via del Corso which is nice. Also the location is really good.

I wrote this review in hopes that others will be better prepared in the event they elect to select this hotel for their stay. Had I known what I was getting I would have spent the additional 50 euro a day and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here as a couple (in our early 20s) for four nights at the end of October. Couldn't have asked for a better base for our first trip to Rome!
First of all, the hotel is in an absolutely perfect location. No more than a few hundred yards to the Trevi fountain (especially if you get to know the shortcuts!) and within very easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. We didn't use public transport at all, visiting both the Vatican and Colosseum by foot as well. Make sure and bring a good pair of shoes!
The hotel itself is small, but from the looks of things, so are most Roman hotels. Our room was more than big enough for the two of us, with a comfortable bed and very effective air conditioning. There was some noise from the streets below, but nothing that would keep us awake or bother us. Very large bathroom and an excellent power shower. Rooms were cleaned every day and the bathroom was kept spotless. The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, recommending places to eat and organising transfer to and from the airport for us (we had awkward flight times and didn't want to rely on public transport).
There are a couple of things which some people might raise issue with, but which has no bearing at all on how much we enjoyed our hotel and trip. Firstly, there is a small tax of 2Euro per person/per night to be paid at the end of the stay - luckily we read this both on here, and on the hotel website, so didn't have any unpleasant shocks when checking out! Lastly, after a certain time (not sure what the cut off was) you have to ring a buzzer to get back into the hotel. We didn't mind this at all, if anything the extra security made us feel all the more secure.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone I know and definitely wouldn't think twice about staying here again should we return to this beautiful city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Montecitorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.