We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Montecitorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Montecitorio to your Saves list
Residenza Montecitorio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #646 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

In between Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain but walkable to the Colosseum. Room was charming in a vintage victorian royalty kind of way. Bathroom was narrow, but plenty of pressure and hot water. 10 minute walk from the closest Metro Station, Spagna. Biggest television I've seen in Europe, 42" if that is important. WiFi signal was also strong. No complimentary breakfast and hotel has a weird layout, but once you figure it out, not really a big deal.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    72
    44
    25
    24
See reviews for
38
70
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days. Our bathroom drainage was blocked. Even after making complaint on the first day, they kept on making excuses that we will check it and fix it and nothing happened. Moreover, they are not a proper hotel. They have booked the top floor of an apartment community and converted it in hotel. The room was made of some raw timber. Room was very small and bed was even smaller. Moreover, you could clearly hear the conversation in adjacent rooms. Moreover, some of the guest robbed just outside the hotel one night. Moreover, no iron in the room. On the positive side, location was good and girls on reception were very friendly and helpful. Overall, the price they charged was too much...overall would not stay there again and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Sanremo, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Were there a full week in August and had a great time.
Our room was in the part of the buidling where the reception is located.
The good:
very nicely priced (a bargain:10% special offer through the hotel website)!
location (right in the heart of Rome)
clean! (linen and bathroom ok!)
jet shower (a lovely surprise)
nice and large bathroom (but no bidet)
large screen tv
air conditioner
good mattresses
acceptably quiet (you are in the centre after all!)
bus stop just out of the front door

The bad:
room a bit small (for two), yet big enough
needs little revamping (and bits and pieces were not cared for, like skirtboards coming off the wall, shower doors not shutting properly, wallpaper)
no vending machine as advertised on the website (the receptionist just said the website is not updated), but just a minibar in the room (but, as you imagine, more expensive). A pity as the hotel does not serve breakfast. They should have a new one put it - with tea and coffee, too.
lift (there is one but then you must climb down or up some steps to reach the hotel - it is ok if you are young and fit but not if older with a lot of luggage)

Overall very positive.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in a room in the building where the reception is located (overlooking Via delle Convertite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in late July 2012 and were really happy with it. Aside from the beds being super hard, the location really made this place. It was walking distance from EVERYTHING! I would say that it was probably about US$20 overpriced, but still was not a bad stay. We paid USD$100/per night, plus they have to tack on Euro 2/day PER PERSON that the city charges.

The staff was very helpful and was able to give direction and help whenever we needed it. English speaking was very good.

Room Tip: I would stay here again, we had an "executive room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

When I was booking our hotel for a six day trip to the eternal city that is Rome, I was most interested in location of the hotel and second most important thing was the price. I have to say that Hotel Montecitorio met those criteria with excellent numbers. As many have already said on their reviews. The hotel is smack in the middle of the city. You can walk to anyone of the major tourist attractions straight from the front door of the hotel. Walking even further, say trastevere and still could easily make it back without making much distance.
About the decor of the hotel I have only this to say. It was excatly as depicted in the booking info. It was small yes, but that really is not uncommon in european hotels. We had the executive suite which cost a little extra but was well worth the money. There was a double bed that took up most of the floorspace but that was okay since you really don't come to Rome and spend your time watching italian dubbed tv in your hotel room, now do you ? Some have said in their reviews that the interiors were not up to scratch but I disagree. It is styled in the late 16th or maybe 17th century style with a lot of stone and marbel. I really can't say anything bad about the decor. It was very romantic in style, wich may not be to the liking of everyone but it really suited us. Oh, and there was a french balcony as well. With a view right to the busy VIa Corso street. You can't really beat that.
The shower and bathroom facilties were again small but really quite enough. Some Bathroom supplies with soap and such. Showerroom will be a bit small if you happen to be a big person (I'm about 180cm tall and 89kg) but one makes do. And again the bathroom was nicely decorated with stone and marbel. Liked it.
About the services they provided. The room was kept nice and neat everyday. They didn't disturb us in the morning but instead waited for us to leave and then cleaned the room. The receptionists (whom varied quite a bit) were all very helpful and spoke good english so that we were always understood. A special thanks to the woman who ordered a relatively inexpensive private car to take us to the next leg of our trip. All in all very nice people with a good handle on customer service. Many thanks.
Oh, there was no breakfast as many have written but does that really matter when there are about a dozen little restaurants and coffeehouses in every corner. Again, you don't come to Rome to spend your time at the hotel.
So, as far as I'm concerned Hotel Montecitorio is a great stay and I think that all the bad rap that it's been getting here has been undeserved. If you are looking for a four/five star hotel that tends to your every need and insist on staying in your hotel room all the time (I really don't understand why you would even come to Rome to do that =) ), you may want to look elsewhere. But for a nice stay with excellent staff, a nice little romantic room and an outstanding location you can't go wrong with Montecitorio.

Room Tip: The excecutive room seems to have a bit more floorspace, the balcony and a view to the street so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOIDA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took a romantic trip to Rome and England, my wife was pregnant and we wanted a quite and easy trip thus taking a tour package was out of question. I also had a bit of business to take care of in Rome, Milan, Edinburgh and London so had to stay near the work place. We read a lot of reviews on TRIP ADVISOR and found Montecitorio within our budget. We booked a double superior room. When we went there, the staff was very helpful, they gave us an immediate upgrade to a bigger room and complimentary minibar for 2 days. We stayed there for three days in total and we just walked around beautiful places since almost every tourist destination in Rome was accessible from our hotel. We took bus only for Colosseum and Vatican City. For all other places, we just walked. It gave us better understanding of the city and people. Lovely hotel and great experience

Room Tip: Rooms near Via Del corso are better, though bit noisy during day but you will have a view from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for our long weekend in Rome because of its perfect location in the city center near the Spanish steps and because of the price. In this respect the hotel absolutely met our expectations. However, the rooms were not so nice as they seemed in the pictures. The furniture and the decorations obviously need renovation. We stayed in the room where the bed linens, the curtains, the walls, the carpet - everything was blue. And there was no view from the window. Therefore, the room was always dark and a bit depressing. But in general, the hotel is good for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Montecitorio

Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Montecitorio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The precious elegance of the environments and his rooms, the exclusive design of the furnishes, the adopt technological solutions (digital TV to the plasma 46' and playpen shower vertical hydro massage in all the rooms), they are alone some of the characteristics of this new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residenza Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecitorio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Montecitorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.