We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPRING TIME IN ROME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Royale

Save Saved
You added La Maison Royale to your Saves list
La Maison Royale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison Royale
Via G. Vitelleschi 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #918 of 2,685 Rome B&B and Inns
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“SPRING TIME IN ROME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We visited Rome during the w/o 5/14/13. This was an excellent value for the price paid and its an ideal location since your in the heart of the city. It's essential that you know that the Atlante Star hotel is the owner of this property (only ~50 feet away) where you check in and have your complementary breakfast. Our room was comfortable, clean with A/C and your own bathroom. There is no signage advising of La Maison Royale, so make sure that you've recorded "Atlante Star" in your notes upon your arrival.
This location is within a few blocks of the Vatican and makes it quite easy to visit several times. Suggestion - Vatican is open 7AM to 7PM; to minimize waiting on long lines, go early as you can to visit this site. For the many sites within the city, we walked along the river which was nearby and crossed over bridges as needed for a specific site. Unless you have a private guide for Rome, make sure you take a map of the city and map out your destination(s). Yes, there was a lot of walking, however, we found some beautiful churches, gardens, museums and nice places to have lunch (i.e. paninis, pizza, etc.). I strongly suggest that guests take a taxi (40 euros) from Fiumicino airport to this location since you'll save time and avoid the various connections if you go via public transportation.
Personally, we found that there was a lack of signs and assistance for visitors speaking any language besides Italian. Overall, my wife and I were tired at the end of this vacation, but we had a wonderful time touring the city, eating great food and of course, lots of gelato.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    94
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
22
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Room was clean and comfortable and a short walk from both the Vatican/St Peters and Castel Sant'Angelo. Also very convenient for some good restaurants and shops. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and the rooftop restaurant with the amazing view of St Peters was a real treat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This B&B comprises rooms in an apartment building about a block from the main hotel where you check in and have breakfast. The Atlante chain have two hotels here, plus this annex.

Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. Decor was in good order and there was reasonable space. Security was good with a locked gate to a small courtyard (you press a button to open from inside and use a key to enter from the street) plus steel door leading to the hallway. Signs reminded you to close the shutters so I guess they may have had problems with people getting in previously. The room felt a little claustrophobic with the small window but I guess this is good in the summer, and it totally blacks out if you want to sleep during the day, say after a long flight.

The bathroom was good, though the advertised jet bath didn't work and the shower head was awkward. Towels and sheets seemed to be changed fresh each day. Bed/mattress itself was not the most comfortable but adequate. There was a mini bar with a selection of drinks but no price list (guess it wasn't cheap). We used the fridge for our own drinks from a small supermarket nearby and took our own travel kettle. For some reason there were teapots and cups available in the hallway.

The TV was disappointing. All the channels were Italian, the TV stand was broken and I had to fix the SCART connection to the satellite box. It would have been nice to have a news channel or two in English (or different languages for other guests).

Breakfast was served on the 6th floor of the main 4* Atlante Star hotel, though the roof garden was understandably closed in January. This gives great views of Rome, particularly St. Peter's and the Vatican. There was a good choice of cereals, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bread rolls, cheese and cold meats along with tea, coffee and cold drinks. The fruit juice was good quality. The surroundings are very nice.

We grabbed free newspapers from the main hotel lobby each morning and they had free wifi available in the bar area which we used successfully for Skype calls, web and email (it's chargeable elsewhere, including to use their computer). There was no wifi available in the room at La Maison Royale (only a resident's own signal which has a passcode).

One of the best ways to get to and from the hotel is to take one of the airport shuttle buses to Termini (we used Ciampino airport) then get public bus 40 Express which leaves from a stand near the information booth/tour bus hut at the front of the railway station. You can buy public bus tickets at news stands and tobacconists for 1.5 Euro each, then you must validate them in the machine on the bus. The airport buses typically cost 4 or 6 Euros each way. You can get a return for 8 Euros but we found it good not to be pre-booked as on arrival at Termini we caught an earlier bus to the airport from a different firm (we had flexibility). Sitbus seemed the best overall. It was a little tricky to find the hotel from the bus at first, whilst dragging luggage, but we made it easily enough. It was just a 5 minute walk. Be aware that the 40 express buses going to Termini start off from a stop around the corner from the waiting zone where they drop you on arrival (the waiting zone is along a wall/viaduct). Termini to or from the hotel takes about 30 minutes, even in rush hour though we allowed longer. Just check a map. The overall transfer from the hotel to the airport took under 2 hours, but that was with plenty of waiting time. The bus rides were 30 plus 40 minutes. Cost was about 13 euros each, return (6.5 per person each way) which is much cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was 5 stars Hotel in very good location. We were really satisfied. View from the restaurant (where we had breakfast) was amazing. It was included in the price. Prices in the hotel bar were little bit higher. Hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great service for very reasonable price. Hostel is situated 5 minutes from Vatican and similar distance from Angel´s Palac.
Metro is not far either.
Very cosy rooms. Breakfast that is included in the price may eat in the restaurant on the 6th floor where you will find extraordinary panorama of the city.
For sure will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungtington Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

La Maison Royale is a place of last resort! As a single with an eight night stay, the only plus was the desk staff (who worked at answering all questions), the location near Vatican City, and the fact it was clean. The room was very crowded...trying to sleep six in a one/two person room. The bed was jammed so close to the closet that opening the door to hang clothing was nearly impossible. To access WiFi you had to decend three floors, go outdoors to reach lobby of the main hotel next door and pay an hourly rate. Breakfast was minimal; the numerous keys to unlock four different doors were pre-1800's and frequently didn't work- requiring the assistance of the hotel staff. The shower hand-held shower head was suppose to also rest on a wall hook to allow for a true shower....hook not stable so unable to use the shower as a shower!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a little surprised, in a good way when we went to check into our hotel. For $116 euros a night we were not sure what to expect as the website really had few deatils. We checked in at teh atlantic star hotel and the shuttle ran us around the corner. He opened a gate and we went down a driveway. At the end of the drive way there was a patio and a couple of doors. We were not sure what to expect. However when we walked in we had a living room, a kitchenette with fridge and a large bedroom. We sat in the lemon garden and enjoyed a couple of drinks then went to explore. We were only a couple of blocks from the vatican and st peters. Lots of bars and resturants in the area and very clean and safe to walk around. The best was the included breakfast. On the sixth floor of the atlantic star it gave a panoramic view of the city and a great view of the dome at St Peters. We never were expecting this kind of place for the money we paid for it. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Royale

Address: Via G. Vitelleschi 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 2,685 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Royale Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.