We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but I would not want to stay here if travelling alone.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Principe Eugenio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Principe Eugenio to your Saves list
Principe Eugenio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #455 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but I would not want to stay here if travelling alone.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Take the Vittorio Emmanuelle metro exit and go towards the Maggiore exit. The metro has four exits, all situated around a rectangular park. So, if you exit on the wrong road, it could take a while to find your way. When you get to the top of the stairs, head right. Cross the road and you should be in Principe Eugenio. It is a yellow Hotel sign sticking out from the side of the building. There are directions on what button to press - they will open the door for you.

The neighorhood was okay, but I definately would not want to walk around trying to find my way if I were travelling by myself. It is close to the metro, bus, and tram, so it's pretty easy getting to the main attractions. It's also about 1/2 of a mile to the Colisseum. We went out one night to take night pictures of the Colissem and were followed for about 1/2 a mile with some guy yelling at us. He stopped to hand around a staircase, staring at us, only when we arrived and walked up to the police. So again, exercise caution, especially if you are travelling alone.

The manager of the hotel also cautioned against pickpockets, as did many random locals who would just come up and warn us. We had things pretty well hidden and secure, but you know it's iffy if the hotel manager tells you not to trust a single person.

Anyways, that being said, we really liked the hotel. Our room was big, there was a/c, a safe, and mini-fridge. Wifi was free and breakfast was included.

You do have to hand in your key every time you leave, but that was never a problem for us.

As it's not a touristy part of town, there were some great restaurants - we had some good pizza, Indian food, and fabulous ice cream (it was our favorite of all the places we tried). There is also a good sized grocery store across the street.

I would stay here again - it was a reasonable price...just maybe not by myself. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    103
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
111
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights. Location convenient, 3 bus stops from train station (15 to 20 mins walking distance), also close to some of the tourist spots like Coloseum. The inside of the hotel is way better than its outside, so don't judge simply by its outside. We stayed in ensuite room, the room was very clean and very spacious with balcony. Air-con and Wifi worked very well. Hosts were very friendly despite limited English, they helped us to print boarding pass and the reservation to Vatican museum. Breakfast lasted until 10am, it would be better if breakfast could be refilled even we woke up late. The breakfast was always very limited when we came to the pantry at 9:45am. It is just almost opposite to one of the best Gelato in town G. Fassi that you cannot miss it! My boyfriend said a bit noisy from the road at night but did not affect me as I am a deep sleeper. Good facilities with affordable price, would consider to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is in an old building. The reception is on the second floor while some rooms are on the first floor. We kept waiting at the 1st floor door then went upstairs to realise that the reception is on the second floor. Our room was on the first floor. It is very safe. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean. It is a little far from the main attractions. The nearest subway station is a good 5 min wallk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and safe. The internet was reliable and the staff were friendly (though English was sometimes a challenge). The breakfast was decent, but could use some improvement. The hotel is not really a "hotel" per se, it appears to be a one-floor flat that has been reconstructed to have several guest rooms. The Coloseum was an easy 20min walk away. It can be quite noisy at night (from the street, not from within the hotel), so for those who are light sleepers, I may recommend a place further from the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was spotless, the towels were clean, large and fluffy - not typical of European hotels. The family operators were kind and helpful, quick to respond to any request. A/C worked very well. Bed was a little hard, tv small, fridge didn't keep things cold, just cool, old building full of character. Only 2 blocks from metro, in a very safe area. The hotel owners offered great advice on places to eat; across the street is the best gelato place in Rome! The high point for me was the balcony overlooking a large courtyard with palm and orange trees. Incredible breakfast, with boiled eggs, cold cuts, nice rolls and pastries as well as cereals. Good coffee. Hotel was in a quiet area, I would recommend to families. Lovely!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was my 3rd visit to Rome and 2nd time in this hotel. The room was big (bigger then in 4* hotel I was in summer) and even has a balcony (with a stunning view of oranges and palm trees). The room was very quiet. As everybody states the room was very clean, the breakfast was basic but good. Stuff is great, they offered and booked for us a visit to Villa Borghese museum (because it was the cheapest way) and told us about others interesting places.

The only minus of the hotel is the front door (you must call a reception to enter the door).

The location is good (2 metro stations within 5-10 minutes, supermarket across the road) as almost everybody states, although it's a Chinatown... but it's really quiet there.

If we'll be in Rome again I'll choose this hotel again because the price/quality ratio is unbeatable... and the best pizza (Formula 1) is only 10 minutes walk from there :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My mom and I stayed at the hotel Principe Eugenio for 3 nights in September 2011. The room we stayed in was on the bottom floor and had 2 twin beds. The room itself was equipped with a TV, desk, spacious closets, and powerful AC. The continental breakfast was sufficient and the wait staff is willing to make cappuccinos if you ask. Our first morning there we walked 30 minutes to the Colosseum. There was a metro stop along the way but we decided to enjoy the morning walk. Across the street from the hotel is a gelato place I highly recommend.

Upon arrival, the staff was friendly but we had some complications during our check out. The credit card machine wasn't taking our credit card and the owners insisted that we go to a bank to get cash. There wasn't a sense of urgency from them in getting the system up and running and after insisting once more for them to try our card, the machine magically worked. Overall, the stay in the room was comfortable but the friendliness of the staff was not as expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Principe Eugenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Eugenio

Address: Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Principe Eugenio 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Principe Eugenio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Eugenio Rome
Principe Eugenio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Principe Eugenio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.