We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Principe Eugenio

Save Saved
You added Principe Eugenio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Principe Eugenio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and were in the hotel room for only sleeping in the night. It has a very good location since the nearest metro station is only a short walk away. We took the place for that reason and did not regret it. It is not very visible but Google maps helped find the location. It is a very basic hotel (more like a flat converted into hotel rooms) but has decent amenities like a clean room, fresh linen, air conditioned room, balcony etc. It also had an attached wash room too. Nothing exceptional, but was good for a night stay only. It is a family run hotel/guest house and we got some good advise from the reception guy in terms of metro to use, while we had done our own homework on the places to visit. Breakfast menu is rather limited, but as vegetarians choices were limited for us.Colosseum is walking distance from the hotel.It was a good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    171
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
107
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenville, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here first week of August 2012 with my two sons. Very clean, nice room with balcony, private spotless bathroom with hair dryer and buffet breakfast. Breakfast included rolls, two types of meat, cereal, milk, juice, tea, coffee, pastries, hard boiled eggs, apples and toast. It was all you could eat and with two sons 16 and 20 years old that was a big plus. There is also a Emme Pui grocery store across the street. The oldest gelato store is around the corner and we got gelato there every day it was the best in Rome ! The lady working the desk has limited English but communication was not a problem even though we spoke almost no Italian. She was very sweet and friendly. The neighborhood is the only drawback. There is a lot of grafitti on the buildings but the hotel is very secure and safe. It is a multi ethnic area with a lot of chinese which was not a problem for us. 10 minute walk to Termini train station or 2 metro stops nearby (Manzoni or Vittorio Emmanuelle) and a city bus which stops right outside of the hotel door. We walked to the Colosseum in 15 minutes. I had my sons so felt very safe. A woman by herself might want to take the number 105 bus right outside the door. We traveled in Spain, to Rome, then Florence, Venice and Paris and I have to say that Rome was the dirtiest city. The metro tunnels, trains are covered in grafitti, pick pockets are everywhere so use common sense to keep your belongings safe and AC, ice in drinks and free refills that you take for granted in the United States are not the norm in Europe. Rome does have a great system of free fountains for tourists to refill their water bottles up while walking around seeing the sights. Metro system easy to use and once you figure out the bus system it is too. Spend one day at the beach to escape the city which I highly reccomend. Take the Metro outside of the city like going to Ostia Antica but go to the end of the line to Cristoforo Colombo you can then go to the beach across the road or do like we did and take the #7 bus there down the road to a beach less touristy. Nicest areas in Rome for those who want to spend more need to look at area arond the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish Steps but I bet you won't get as nice a breakfast or a cleaner room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Principe Eugeno and were pleasantly surprised, having stayed in other 'adequate' European hotels.
The owners/staff are very friendly and pleasant, offering us tips on travel, dining and lesser-known touristy-attractions.
Rooms are very spacious, modern and maintained to a high standard, with large bathrooms (inc.frills - shampoo, soap etc); equipped with safe, TV, telephone, full-length mirrors and large wardrobe space.
Breakfast was typical European (cereal, packet toast, fruit, cheese, ham, fresh bread etc, but nothing hot).
In terms of location, it is a 5 - 10 min walk from Termini station, closest to the coloseum attraction-wise (15 mins), and a 30-40 min walk into the center, but you can always get the tube (3 min walk) to save your feet.
Would recommend for single travelers, couples and families with older teenagers

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed 4 days in July. Had requested a quiet room and it was perfect. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The owners are very helpfull and the hotel is well located close to train station and metro access.

We will likely return on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

There is better hotels in Rome, bu this was ok.
We stay here for a week back in May 2010.
Had a little difficulty with the language barrier on check and some other issues, plus it was late and we was greatful to get to bed, finally. Room was hugh, way too big for 2 people but not complaining
Breakfast is nice and there was plenty.
Located near to the worlds best ice cream parlour with so many varieties to choose from. Open till late most nights.
Locations wise not great, near to the main station. had to ge metro or tour bus to all attractions every day all day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel was more of a hostel. The people that worked there were nice but the area is a real dump. While it is relatively close to the Termini train station, it is not walkable if you have luggage. We tried it and it took about 15 minutes. Not fun. The area is basically Rome's version of Chinatown with building after building covered in graffiti. The rooms are clean and the AC worked, but I wouldn't stay there again. Just as a reference point we are an American couple in our 30's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were very warmly welcomed by the staff there, nothing was too much trouble. The room was great very pleased indeed, clean fresh and tidy, nice balcony over looking the city sights, nice courtesy bottle of Vino enjoyed to unwind. Breaskfast was too much infact we made our lunch from breakfast which was no problem.. Will for sure be staying again...Many Thanks

Room Tip: Close to Rain so it was easy to find, only a short walk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Principe Eugenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Eugenio

Address: Via Principe Eugenio 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Principe Eugenio 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Principe Eugenio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Eugenio Rome
Principe Eugenio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Principe Eugenio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.