We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza al Corso

Save Saved
You added Residenza al Corso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza al Corso
Via del Corso 18 int. 3, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #679 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Al Corso for 3 nights during Oct, 2012 last year.
The hotel is located at Via del Corso street, where there's a lot of shopping stores.

- Friendly staff that can help us with traveling spot in Rome!
- Walking distance to the Spanish Step and the town center
- Many local restaurant and shops near by
- The Metro Train station is about 5 mins walk from the Hotel
- The room got high ceiling
- The shower is very small but it was okie

Hope this helps,
Cheers
Diana B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Residenza al Corso for four nights. We arrived to find a wooden door with few markings, leaving us to hit random buzzers to get someone to open the door for us. After this awkward start, the stay was terrific. The staff of this small, family-run pension was terrific - helpful, available, and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very nice - they even set out breakfast early for us one morning due to a tour that we had arranged!

The room was suitable for my wife and two teenage kids. We liked the open space and high ceilings - a/c was available, but we used it only at night. The beds were comfortable - the least comfortable was the roll-out bed, but that was to be expected.

Our impression of the area is different from some of the on-line reviews we have read. We really loved the street that we were on - it was pedestrian with the exception of electric buses(very convenient for getting downtown - 107 or 109 ran every few minutes - fantastic!) and cabs. You could walk comfortably down the street to get a gelatto, have dinner in a streetside cafe, or take the 20-30 minute walk to Trevi, Spanish Steps, etc. We had a view of the Piazza del Popollo from our hotel room and easy access to the metro with a short walk across the piazza.

I also read reviews about the toilet - there is definitely room for improvement in this area. The bathroom was small - especially the shower, and the toilet was not working as well as it should have. The staff came and did quick repairs - always responsive to our needs! - and it worked a little better.

We would recommend this hotel to friends, but it is important to note that this is not a formal hotel that you might imagine (Best Western, etc.) - it is really a single floor of a building that is a family run pension. We embraced this difference and enjoyed every minute of our experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed in two different rooms at the residenza al corso as we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip to Italy. We stayed in a suite which was large, had a beautiful, painted ceiling with windows opening to the street below (3rd floor) which when closed pretty much blocked out the street noise. The other room was a triple and it was quite large as well - charming, beautifully decorated (simple) and also had windows on the street. In both rooms, there was plenty of light, the bathrooms were pretty, the beds comfortable and hot water was plentiful. The rooms were heated (quite nice and warm) and very clean. The location was great - right on the via del corso off the Piazza del Popolo, close to the spanish steps - near the metro and walkable to many things. Overall, we were very happy. As this is a small hotel, there was not a person permanently stationed at the front desk every time you came in and out (with your own keys) however, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly and there is a small bell that when rung, the staff immediately appears. Personally, I prefer this! Breakfast was sufficient - toast, croissant, cereal, yogurt, oj and cappuccino, espresso or coffee. There's a wonderful small restaurant / wine bar on the side alley called Il Brillo - delicious and good prices. So... go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

This hotel had been suggested by an acquaintance and the website ad and photos looked good. Once we got there, we were so dismayed that we only stayed for the first of 4 nights and quickly found ourselves another hotel. Our room, which was billed as a double-queen, was quite large but dim and dingy. The room had not been painted in many, many years; single chair was badly broken; only one nightstand with dim light; dried floral arrangement that must have been sitting around for 20 years--dusty and gray. The bathroom was what really got to us...think of the 1960's...pink toilet, bathtub and bidet with all fixture poorly maintained. Rusted toilet brush holder and bathroom faucet that was missing its cap, so there was green rust growing in it. A small 1970's TV sat on top of a small mini-bar and was humming with vibration from the fraction of the TV (not on) on top of the fridge. You get the picture. Front desk was not particularly friendly.

This is a pensione, not a hotel, so if you're a very budget-minded traveler who wants to stay fairly close to the Spanish Steps and don't mind the above description, this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, stay away. This was what hotels were like in Italy when I visited 20 years ago.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

This hotel was clean, the staff were unbelievably helpful. I would not, however, stay there again for a number reasons - none of which were the fault of the extremely friendly, helpful and generally lovely staff. The hotel is simply too noisy (and I can normally sleep through anything!). The Via Del Corso is a VERY busy street with noise from very early to very late, also there is a emergency centre nearby which resulted in sirens. Breakfast is very basic as are the rooms. All of these things are, however, reflected in the price, which was very reasonable. Ultimately though, I would also say that (depending upon what you intend doing when in Rome) this isn't the best location - too far down the Via Del Corso.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Water leaking in through eiling, high noise level
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Arrived on an unseasonally rainy cold March night and were a bit apprehensive when we saw the entrance but really we needn't have worried. It is an ideal place to stay, convenient for everywhere, comfortable bedrooms and charming staff. We were leaving early in the morning and would have been too early for breakfast but the manager was so good he got up and made us some breakfast himself. We had an 80 year old lady in our party of 5, and it had always been her wish to go to Rome and the Rezidenza lived up to her expectations. Of course the street was a bit noisy in the mornings but in the centre of Rome that is to be expected and it certainly wasn't intrusive. There is an added bonus of a really lovely ristorante/bistro across the road which was patronised by the locals and the food and value for money was excellent. I would go back to the Rezidenza like a shot!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

i read a review about the hotel here in tripadvisor..the hotel , or residence, was a bit too small for our family. we were a party of 3 yet the triple room was too small for us. plus , the elevator was too tiny to even carry a single person . we had trouble carrying our luggage from the ground floor up to the second floor where the residence is . also , make sure to take with you earplugs. the main street AL Corso was very crowded and even at early hours of morning , trash trucks were so noisy , and street cleaners were going and coming like a million times a night. it was crazy .
other than that the breakfast is good , great coffee and croissants. the cleaness is good and the workers are very friendly.

  • Liked — location is very close to shopping . i didnt need to carry my heavy bags for long.
  • Disliked — the bathroom is too small for a normal human scale. the noisy street .
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza al Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza al Corso

Address: Via del Corso 18 int. 3, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Residenza al Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Al Corso Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza al Corso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.