We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Center of Rome B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Center of Rome B&B to your Saves list
The Center of Rome B&B
Via Cola Di Rienzo 212, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,040 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great place to stay on a budget location which is literally 8-10 minute walk to St Peters / Vatican, 20 mins walk to Piazza del Popolo. Small rooms (easily enough room for 2 - rooms have large double bed, table & sofa) and very clean (daily). We had a street view room but the noise outside wasn't too bad at all.

The owner Georgio and Maria the maid / breakfast preparer were both extremely helpful and polite. I emailed them a couple of days before arriving and got a nice response with helpful tips on gettting to the B&B.

Breakfast was a real bonus, served at a time to suit you, in your room. Typical continental fayre; croissant, toast, fruit juice, tea / coffee but easily enough to set you up for the morning!!

I would (and have already) recommend this as a place to stay, location is great, very secure and safe - the Prati district of Rome is a good / safe place to stay. There are some good places to eat / drink in the area and not as expensive as the more tourist trap areas! The B&B is only a 5-10 minute walk to the metro stop and only 5-6 stops to Termini (main train station). Don't be put off thinking this is a B&B and the standard will be lower, having stayed in many European capitals this place is easily as good as many 2-3 star hotels.

Room Tip: If you email the B&B beforehand - it is sometimes possible to get a courtyard facing room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have been living in this B&B for almost two weeks and that was just GREAT. Amazing location - everything you'll want to see visiting Rome is near, and lotta great bars nearby. Great service - we had vary breakfasts and even been given great advices about what to see in the city. There is a fast wifi and if you'll need anything - you could always ask Giorgio (the owner) or Maria (housekeeper) - they'll make sure you are comfortable and have all you need for great stay.
The personel of B&B is great beyond comparison. They are friendly, caring and really nice to talk to. Maria could advice you about couple places in Rome which are not described in a guides yet worth visiting.
So if you are looking for a budget yet extremely place for stay while you'll visit Rome - pick this one, you won't be dissapointed. You have my word on this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

If u want a clean safe no frills attached place in Rome this is a good bet. Our room was everything we needed for a stay in Rome on a budget. We had the basics, a full sized bed, toilet, shower, and sink. The maid comes in the morning and brings breakfast to your room, breakfast was cappuccino, juice and assorted breads and jam. The front desk is not staffed, the owner will meet you when you arrive to give you directions on how to operate the keys/gates and collect payment, he prefers cash. For the price this was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

"The center of Rome B & B" is all you should expect from your mid range budget stay in Rome.
We are a couple stayed in Rome for 4 nights for 100 eur per day including very basic breakfast.
Rooms are basic, clean and quiet in a regular resident building 5 minutes walk from the Vatican city.
The location is pretty good comparing to the price - 15 minutes walking from Piazza Navona and 20 minutes walking from the Spanish steps.
The B&B is located in the heart of Via Cola del Rienzo which is the best bargain you can find for Roman clothes shopping
All in all - we would recommend staying there though a more centered location would be considered...

Room Tip: All rooms are the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Here's our take on the "Center of Rome B&B":


ROOM: During our stay at "Center of Rome," the average daily high temperature was around 95 degrees F (35 degrees C). Consequently, the air conditioning at "Center of Rome" was greatly appreciated; after a day of walking around in the blistering heat, the 75 degree room was a lifesaver. I mention this specifically because the majority of Italian B&Bs do not have ACs.

The bedroom was strictly average. A little cramped, and a little smelly (sort of a chemical smell with an underlying pungency). Did have a TV and a reasonably sized internal bathroom. The hotel comprises a small part of a large condo- or apartment-type building; the building itself is attractive, with a quiet, expansive courtyard and a security-controlled entrance. Very quiet at night (a big plus).


LOCATION: Great if you're visiting the Vatican and the Vatican Museums; a little far from the other attractions. (Though the subway is only a 10 minute walk.) While staying here, we got into the habit of strolling down to St. Peter's Square at dusk. It's really close. The street outside (Cola da Rienzo) is bustling and upscale, with nice shops and a supermarket.


BREAKFAST: Delivered to your door on a tray. Basket of breads with butter and jam; juice and cappuccino. The lady who served our breakfast was extremely sweet and friendly.


HOSTS: Two individuals staffed the front desk during our stay. The first, a very kind and accommodating woman, spoke little English. The second, a younger, less-friendly man, spoke better English. We had no problem with the hosts. Like many Italian B&Bs, "Center of Rome" asks for payment the day before departure, and strongly prefers payment in cash.


OTHER: No internet. And a cautionary note: while staying at "Center of Rome," we witnessed another party get stranded outside without being able to check in. This party's train had arrived in Rome approximately an hour and a half later than scheduled; as a result, they arrived at the B&B late, and there was no one to let them in the door. We found them outside on the steps, with no key and no way to get a hold of the proprietors. This kind of situation may happen a lot in Italy, as most B&Bs do not keep staff on duty all day long; rather the proprietors ask for approximate arrival times, and then hang around only during those arrival times. Always try to call or email your lodging with up-to-date info.

SUMMARY: We would stay here again. If you're taking a few days to explore the Vatican, this is a convenient and comfortable home base.

  • Liked — AC
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I went to At The Center of Rome B&B from May 23rd to May 29th 2008. I loved my stay out there. The team out there was very friendly and helped us with a lot of things such as finding the bus stop and change a 200 Euro bill at a local store. Our breakfast was served on time each morning and the staff was very pleasant and joyfull.

The room was clean and ready for our arrival by 10:00 in the morning and it was cleaned again everday when we came back.

On the negative side, there is no soap or shampoo in the bathroom so think about bring your own. The room is a little bit noisy but we had good sleep even though.

Grazie e arrivederci !

  • Liked — The service, the location, the staff.
  • Disliked — No soap in the bathroom, a little bit noisy.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed at the Center of Rome on 212 via Cola di Rienzo on May 7-12, 2008. We were 5 travelling so we booked 2 rooms, 1 twin and 1 triple. We had previously requested that we would have to go out of town on May 8th therefore asked them not to bill us for that day but they did not agree so we had to pay for the whole day, 2 rooms and that cost us Euro200 extra. Communication was a main problem at the B&B although we could understand their English we just presumed they had a hard time understanding our English! Anyway on the day of our flight we explained to them that our shuttle will pick us up at 2:15pm and since their check out time is 10:30 we requested if we can stay in one room at least. They agreed or so we thought. At least that was what we interpreted when they said: OK YOU CAN STAY" but what they really meant was, "OK YOUR LUGGAGE CAN STAY BUT YOU HAVE TO GO OUT OF THE ROOM COZ IT WILL BE CLEANED" Anyway the owner, Giorgio Primavera was so frantic and almost had to physically move us out of the rooms! The porter explained to us later that it has always been the problem with this B&B, some of their guests would bring out their luggage in the courtyard and fix them there. They have a lovely courtyard, mind you. I would suggest that they put a HUGE sign in front of the mirror of the rooms that guests should be out by 10:30 am on check out day. Or at least, to be a little bit reasonable when guests don't know the policy and not to shout out loud or make a scene. We did appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathrooms. Yes, the shower area is kinda tiny, you would have to wrestle yourself in there but that's a minor concern. NOISE is a major concern, at least where our bedroom was. We forgot to ask for a room facing the courtyard, as what some travelers have reviewed. So if you are the type who can't sleep with noise, remember to ask for a room facing the courtyard. It is NOISIEST at 2 in the morning when the garbage trucks come to collect the garbage from the bins right outside the room window. (You would think there was a whining dinosaur outside, promise!) I had to take a tranquilizer to put me back to sleep the rest of the days.
In fairness, the B&B is located near the Vatican and we did enjoy our walks. We also loved shopping at the COIN Dept store a few stones' throw away. The metro (Ottaviano) is 4 blocks away but the bus stop is just outside the bldg and this is a huge plus. they do not, however, know how to communicate the directions so we had a hard time looking for most tourist places. When you check in, LISTEN to the instructions on how to open the entrance door as it is tricky. On the first day we had a herculean time getting back in~ until someone explained the whole procedure again clearly.
We were in 9 countries for our one month tour of Western Europe and admittedly, while working on the bookings online I was so excited about this B&B amongst our other hotels but I was a little disappointed, maybe because of the minor mishap at check out day and also probably because it was the only city (aside from San Giovanni Rotondo) where we had to wrestle with communications. Overall I would rate our stay at this B&B a 6+.

  • Liked — Its proximity to the Vatican
  • Disliked — Its check out time policy and the way they handle communications
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Center of Rome B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Center of Rome B&B

Address: Via Cola Di Rienzo 212, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Center of Rome B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Center of Rome B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.