We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, vary nice people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast
Via La Spezia 58, 00182 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,229 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, vary nice people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Except for lack of English and stable hot water supply, everything is very nice and comfortable. Nice breakfast, cozy room, nice garden from the window and so on... Place is not too far from metro station and several cafeteria.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emiliano S, Proprietario at Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mr Pavel,
thanks a lot for your staying to our B&B and happy for your kindness, sorry about my parents english, they don't know very well but you can uderstand what they say :)
We are looking forward to meet you in Rome again!
Best regards
Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

An old couple! Very nice person and very nice room and very nice breakfast & service.
Everything is perfect. The breakfast is brought into the room. The shower offer nice hot water and soft clean shower towel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emiliano S, Proprietario at Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Mr Sheng,
thank you so much for your kindness, we are so happy to know your staying has been perfect! My parents Gianni and SIlvana thank you for your wonderful present left in the room, thanks thanks thanks!!! :-)
Hope to see you in the future!
Best regards
Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed at this b&b for 3 nights in late July. Roman Walls is located slightly outside the main touristy part of Rome about a 10 min walk from the San Giovanni metro stop. It was a little difficult to find this place because there is construction going on in the road in front. However, we liked that the area of the city wasn't as crowded and it was only about a 20 min walk to the Colesseum. The owners were very friendly and they served us breakfast in our room daily which consisted of some buns, croissants, toast, juice and a pot of coffee. We liked the ambience of the building - we felt like we really were in an Italian home. It was good that there was a little kitchen where you could keep food/drinks in the fridge and use the plates etc. The shared bathroom was clean and there was always hot water; however, you had to climb over a big ledge to get into the shower. Anyone with mobility problems might have trouble getting in and out. The main drawback of the hotel was the noise. Being in Rome in July it is HOT!! We had to open the window at night to bring in a breeze however, being close to a hospital we heard sirens all night which kept us from sleeping well. There was a fan in the room but you needed the window open too. Overall, we would return here but not during the hottest months.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at this B&B recently for a few days, at the end of June.

We should have known when we arrived, having called to advise that we would be late and assured this wouldnt be a problem, we then had to sit on the street step waiting for the owner to get back from the pub. The road by the way is currently a building site.

While the owners are lovely, it does not make up for the stink of smoke (and I smoke!), the lack of air conditioning, towels the size of napkins, lack of fans, beds falling apart and the owner smoking in the shared bathroom.

What really annoyed us was that when we complained about all the smoking and lack of fans (in 39 degrees!) they were absolutely unhelpful. The owners dont speak English and if you need to communicate with them you go through their son. When we tried to speak with him, he said he would speak with his parents and get back to us - he then did not return the call and avoided all of ours. Charming.

We came back exhausted as we really hadnt been able to sleep, with the worry that the bed would collapse, the incredible heat and the stink.

I definitely wouldnt advise it.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via La Spezia 58, 00182 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,229 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast”Roman Walls” is a cheap B&B perfectly located in the city centre, San Giovanni in Laterano neighborhood the second door of Rome next San Pietro. The rooms are large and comfortable perfectly furnished with a big care in each particular. Each morning the Breakfast will be served in the room, you can use free the kitchen exclusively to make coffie, thè, chocolate every time you want in the day, in the mean time with total respect for your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Walls Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.