We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Home

Royal Home
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Home to your Saves list
Royal Home
Via Ostiense 263/E, 00146 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2,127 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the worst, but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My one big complaint: the description for Royal Home (on wotif.com) advertised 'breakfast included', however it failed to note that this involved being given a coupon for a croissant and coffee at the McDonald's down the road. Otherwise, it was clean and relatively well situated, however the staff weren't as gracious as described in other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Up to the day we arrived in Rome, we assumed we had booked a room at the "Hotel Royal House." Once we figured it out, we were a little disappointed since that hotel is right next to the Colosseum. However, things turned out for the best. The Royal Home offered a reprieve from the activity in the tourist areas and it is only a few metro stops away from the centre at Basilica San Paolo station. (The metro only runs until 11:30pm but there is also a nightbus stop nearby). Though the room was a little small, it was clean, well-appointed and quiet. We didn't notice the metro noise that others have complained about. The lobby has a computer which we used quite regularly for internet access. The best part about the hotel, though, is Nazario the owner who was kind and offered us plenty of good advice. Bottom line: the Hotel Royal Home is excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I recently stayed at the Royal Home for 7 days during my vacation to Rome. The Hotel was very close to the Metro (Basilica San Paolo) and several buses. The hotel was clean and nicely maintained. It is a small inn with a friendly staff who was helpful and polite. There is a computer in the lobby for internet access, and breakfast was served each morning (although I only ate it once).

The room was small but neat and clean. It has a bed, desk, wardrobe, tv, air conditioner with individual control. The bathroom was *very* small--but this is supposedly standard for European hotels. Despite the small size, and the very small shower, the bathroom was up-to-date, tiled, and clean. There is a cleaning service each day to provide new towels and make the beds and vacuum.

The hotel is a great option for the tourist who spends the day in the city and needs a quiet place to lay for the night. The price is very reasonable and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

This is a lovely, excellent value, refuge to come "home" to after a hard day of sight-seeing. We are a family with 2 kids, ages 6 and 10, and found the room #10 ideal, the staff gracious, and the breakfast (included) very generous. We liked staying out of the rush of the historic center. It took a few extra minutes by subway, but the hotel is literally a couple of minutes from the San Paulo station. It's in a very quiet location, small and family run, except for the rumble of the metro which stops by midnight and resumes at 6am (it didn't bother us). The front desk gave excellent restaurant suggestions for non-touristy delicious food nearby. There's also a grocery close. The breakfast is unusually large: a hot beverage of your choice, and your choice from a buffet of cereals, yogurts, juices, breads, toast, fruit, and cheese. We didn't stay out late at night, so the transportation was never an issue. The hotel seems to cater to a peaceful crowd. Book direct with them. The room was clean, fresh towels and a great bath with excellent shower. I would definately stay here again in Rome!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Home

Address: Via Ostiense 263/E, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,127 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Royal Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.