We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Giovy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Giovy to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Giovy
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Principe Amedeo, 85/a, 185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,587 of 3,081 Rome B&B and Inns
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We made our 3-night (at €100/ night) online booking four months in advance via B&B Giovy's website, based on TripAdvisor recommendations, but ultimately stayed only one night.

Our taxi from FCO brought us to the address shown in the website, Via Principe Amedeo 85a, which is a large, nondescript wooden door next to Hotel Cortorillo. After a false start ringing the wrong doorbell, we were shown to a nice, new entrance and Reception at Via Principe Amedeo 87, which B&B Giovy uses since becoming Hotel Maryelen & Giovy on 1 Oct 2010. We were promptly checked-in.

Then, we were led quickly through a corridor behind the Reception where a sliding glass door opens into a large rectangular cobblestoned courtyard surrounded by 5- and 6-storey buildings. Arched doorways labelled "Scala..." lead into their interiors. Through Scala D which has "1883" in mozaic on the floor, up flights of steps (it turned out the elevator was not working but no-one mentioned it), past a locked wooden door with "Giovy" etched on a small metal plate, into a narrow corridor with doors on both sides, one of which opened into our double room.

Our floor-tiled room appeared clean, well-lit and had two twinbeds pushed together. Next to the full-sized cupboard is the dressing table which had new plastic cups stacked beside two extra toiletpaper rolls, a bowl of sweets and sachets of shampoo/bath gel. An empty minibar-sized fridge stands on the floor. Between the top of the dressing table mirror and the ceiling is a small shelf supporting a flat panel TV with cable access. Reading lights flanking the bed are equipped with electricity sockets. WiFi access was trouble-free until it suddenly cut-off around 2230hrs. The curtained window is doubleglazed. The small, well-lit ensuite bath boasts a wall-mounted towel rack, clothes hook and hairdryer with variable temperature control. Things proceeded downhill from there.

The bathroom door could only be opened partially before it hit the bed. One of our three bags had to sit in the cupboard to make space for us to move around the room. The air-conditioner was on but the remote did not work; changing batteries made no difference. Leaving the window open did not make it less stuffy. It was impossible to sleep comfortably.

Apart from plastic-wrapped croissants at the next morning's buffet breakfast, there were slices of ham, bread, cheese, and tomatoes with mozarella. The reddish "orange juice" was diluted to coloured-water status but the cappuccino was relatively good.

On the way back to our room, we met Giovanna on the stairs and she animatedly thanked us for staying at Giovy, which she runs with her family. When went to check out a few minutes later she said we had to pay for the balance of our 3-night booking and that she could have shown us new rooms had she known we were unhappy with our room and the non-functioning elevator, etc, and she had to pay a commission to the booking agent. It rang hollow to us as we clearly had three large bags in full view when we checked in. Ironically, three other guests at the Reception were complimentary about the size of their rooms. We could only wonder if some form of discrimination is practised at Giovy, like airlines that deliberately overbook, and persons deemed unlikely to be regular guests are assigned inferior rooms. We settled on paying cash for two nights instead of three and left for another hotel.

Based on other critical TripAdvisor reviews of B&B Giovy, it seems a consistent and pleasant experience is not necessarily assured.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    19
    16
    11
See reviews for
43
199
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Earlier this week the new sign went up (see photo), making it easier to find. (Mary and Elen are, I believe, Giovanna's nieces). Giovanna and her sister will really make you feel welcome and at home with greetings, service and help during your visit. We stayed two different times in Sept and Oct 2010, double room with bath and our rooms both times were very nice and quiet. It is a little hard to describe how the rooms are located in the 1883 building, but you will get a little experience of how the Romans in the neighborhood live. You can probably use a little elevator depending on your room location

Re the area, it will look a little gritty in places, esp. if you make a right turn out of the hotel, and go a couple of blocks (but no need to do that). After the first day we never had any concerns, just behave and watch your possessions like anywhere in Rome. This is a very active area, 2-3 blocks from the termini, and can be loaded with students on tour, mainly from elsewhere in Europe, and lots of other tourists as well. It is not boring. Nearby lots of restaurants and bars (European type), good laundry right across the street, cash machines (payment by cash only) halfway to the station and also in the station), and the grocery store around the corner make it all very convenient. Across the street to the left and right there are two very good restaurants, we kind of favored the one to the right side with downstairs seating, but both are good. The one on the same side of the street on the left is also OK.

We found the breakfast fine - if the "long coffee" is a little weak for you, they will make you an espresso you can add to it, or if too strong, a little hot water. They will also make a very good cappuccino for you.

Stay there and enjoy Giovy !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells - Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is a gem of a find. We visited Giovanna last year when we were passing through, and decided that in planning a holiday, Giovanna was the main reason. We really wanted to stay with her.
We were not disappointed. Everything is to a very high standard, and Giovanna and family really go out of their way to be helpful and hospitable.
There is a lift, which, although in our seventies, we chose not to use. When the electricity went off, a call to Givanna put this right immediately.
I have read several reviews about other places as well as Giovy that use the word "crap"
I would advise these reviewers to get themselves some lessons and widen their vocabulary. They are not - in any way - credible - and just sound mean and spiteful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We arrived in Rome by train from Florence for our final 3 nights in Italy.
Our stay at Giovy B&B was a learning experience for two reasons:
-we have never stayed at a 1star hotel
-we have never stayed at a b&b
Location was good as it was close to Termini so we didn't have far to haul our luggage.
Shortly after check-in we met the owner Giovanna. Nice lady but the "gushing", hugging, etc. got old very quickly.Made us wonder about her sincerity.
In order to arrive at our room from Reception, we had to make our way through a run-down, dirty courtyard, up some stairs, unlock the elevator, arrive on the 4th floor, unlock the door to a corridor, follow a hallway to finally arrive at our room. Quite a maze ! However, it did seem a safe place with all the unlocking involved !
Our room was fairly clean.The beds were smaller than any we'd ever seen and we've been travelling in Europe for several years. The bathroom door couldn't be opened fully because it would hit the sink (?). The towels were old and rough but appeared to be clean.
Big pros:
-hot water regularly in both sink and shower
-air conditioner worked well
Breakfast was okay, I suppose. Coffee was good. I've never seen croissants in plastic packaging anywhere else in Europe so that was an experience. Orange was not "freshly squeezed" as was mentioned in a previous review.
So....we've learned alot from this experience. Firstly, a B&B may not be for us. Also a 1star accommodation is probably not for us either.
For 100 euros per night I think we could have done better. However, we did laugh alot about the whole thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed here one night after a cruise because it was close to the train station. We walked to the hotel with our luggage and as we were walking down the sidewalk I heard a voice call my name. It was Giovanna, the proprietor of B&B Giovy. She welcomed us into her place, gave us big hugs, and took us up to our rooms and showed us around.

Throughout our short stay she was so helpful and nice she made us feel like we were long lost friends. When I had a need to access the Internet she sent me to her Mom's hotel a few doors down the street to use the computer. When I told her we would have to leave at 5:45am the next morning she prepared a bag of breakfast goodies to take with us to the airport.

However, above all else, I was so impressed with her assistance when our shuttle didn't show up to take us to the airport and she called a taxi for us at 6am and it showed up in two minutes to get us to the airport on time.

I can't remember the last time I received this type of personal service at a lodging establishment. It truly made the end of our wonderful trip that much more special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We recently stayed at B&B Giovy, but I really wonder if we really did. We were taken to a place called Hotel Cortorillo (which has lower reviews on this site) and my room looks a lot more like the Cortorillo hotel than any B&B Giovy picture. I was under the impression that this was an inn with 10 rooms. Giovy stated that she has 45 rooms. The room was very small, the bathroom tiny and had a shower stall with no curtain so everything got wet. The AC basically didn't work, the hairdryer didn't work and even the converter for my own hairdryer didn't work (first time in the whole trip). Yes Giovy is very nice with lots of hugs and kisses, but be careful. Maybe she was overbooked, but it was never mentioned to us. This was the worst hotel we've stayed in during two separate trips to Italy. The hotel pictures have large rooms, updated bathrooms with real showers, and balconys (never saw that). Just make sure you get to stay where you've paid for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The B n B Giovy was relatively easy to find from the Termini Station. The owner greets you with a huge smile and genuine happiness to see you everyday. She loves her job and you can see it with her want to help you in any way she can. The hiccups were only little but worth mentioning. Our sheets were not cleaned at all over the 6 days we were there. On two of the days, our room was not made up when we returned at 3 in the afternoon. There was early construction work taking place outside our window but the air con was not working for the first 3 days so our window had to be opened. The breakfast is plentiful, yet all prepackaged, however she loves to make each and every person a good hot choc, cappucino or tea in the morning. This B n B is in a great location, surrounded by affordable eateries, especially the Restaurant La Mensa Di Bacco, 2 doors down. It absolutely rocked; good food, funny service. People say its a rough place, but we didn't find it too scary at night, as we didn't stay out too late, about 11pm. This place is recommended to people who want a quick and cheap stay in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Giovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Giovy

Address: Via Principe Amedeo, 85/a, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,587 of 3,081 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast Giovy 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Giovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Giovy Hotel Rome
b&b Giovy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Giovy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.