We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Dark Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hotel

Save Saved
You added Black Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sardiello 18 | Centre - Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #804 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Dark Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes, it is BLACK! What a surprise it was.
A lovely place, friendly and professional service, great breakfast. I loved my room (which was the only not black thing). Nice little pool.
Not far from train into Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    111
    108
    63
    63
See reviews for
44
160
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was relaxing and most of the staff were friendly and welcoming. I had booked a transfer to and from the airport so we didn't have to worry to about finding it, which was well worth the money.
Getting to and from the hotel to the centre was not a problem at all, we used the local transport and was impressed with how easy it appeared to be and how very quick it was.
My only reason with the hotel was there were no coffee making facilities in the room, which was a big issue for me.
We enjoyed coming back to the hotel and sitting outside with a glass of wine, really lovely at night and very peaceful!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very quiet, never had an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked our holiday with Fleetway Travel ( 3 adults + 2 kids ). We had researched the hotel and read all reviews which to be honest were mixed and the conclusion we came to was that most of the guests seemed to be the problem, not seeing the bigger picture. We got a great package deal for 1 week so hey why not! We KNEW the hotel was a bus ride to the nearest metro which was only 5-10 mins once on BUT this is not the hotels fault. However in the whole week we were there we only had a packed bus twice which was due to their public holidays. The metro itself is easy, hard to understand why people moan about it they run every few minutes. Only thing i will say is there aren't lifts in all the stations BUT this is not the hotels fault.

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted very pleasantly and swiftly booked in and shown to our rooms. So not quite sure why people are saying how rude they were treated by the staff.

The room was small with a double bed and a single bed, the bathroom was very clean and catered for all our needs. The wardrobe space could of been a little larger but it did not cause us any problems. The room has a t.v which YES is in ITALIAN but you are in ITALY and if this causes concern it says more about the person(s) than the hotel. The room comes with a digital safe which was easy to use and free. It comes with a mini fridge with which we just emptied and replaced with our own products. We had room service everyday and sheets changed 3 times, fresh towels every day and the room generally tidied.

The wifi in the hotel for us was adequate, however each floor including reception has a router in the center of the hotel, so the further your room from the center the weaker your signal will be.

The hotel has a lovely large terrace with great mood lighting at night. It was quite busy most nights and there is a tariff on the bar. The bar staff were again extremely nice and polite we tipped most nights because we felt they deserved it, in return, we were getting free drinks and snacks. Thank you Simon and Mario!!!!

The hotel has a pool round the back of the hotel which opened 10am. Towels were provided every day at no cost. The pool was clean and tidy with an occasional guest lizard having a drink.

The Hotel Black had a decor which as you might guess was BLACK and modern. It is darker than the average corridor but not bad enough to moan about.

Overall, our family experience at the Hotel Black was FANTASTICO!! The staff were great and the hotel too. Our advice to any future guests is learn as much basic lingo as possible, not only is it part of the experience but the people of Rome really appreciate the effort and more often than not will help you. Enjoy xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Date of stay 7th to 14th August 2013

A lot of what has been said before still applies.

To get here - from Fuminicino Airport we took train to Rome Termini - takes 30 mins aboard Express Train however cost is €14 per person but under 12 is free. However for a family this can be quite expensive.

Took Metro Line from Rome Termini to Cornelia station. Cost €1.50 if travelling within 100 minutes. We then found a bus station on exit - or bus stop is other direction you look for the number 246 which takes you maybe 10 or 15 minutes before stopping outside a supermarket.

Hotel is uphill from Supermarket (5 or 10 min walk) maybe longer with baggage - not easy of bags are heavy.

The hotel - well it sure is very black, the walls, the rugs, the floor, gave me a sense of feeling that i was going to bump into something or fall over.

Room - on the small side - with walk in shower. Air conditioning on all the time didn't seem to make any difference.

Had some food from the restaurant first night but it didn't appeal to me was luke warm not very much and not worth the €14 euro paid. I tried to ask if they did Bar Snacks but told no only restaurant menu which is same every night. Looking at this menu its not cheap = steak entrecote at €20 with a baked potato at €6 and vegetables at €6.

Bar prices quite expensive also €5 becks in a bottle, cokes €3 or €4.

Solution to above - remember that supermarket - we bought big 1.5ltr pepsi and 2ltr water. The pepsi cost €2.99 for 4 bottles and the water was €0.25 for 2 ltr. Food we bought some breads, meats,cheeses used the mini bar to store them. Remember to take strong arms, bags to walk up hill with.

Breakfast - setup was in a conference room, bland, nice coffee machine but only cold continental foods. OK but many may not like it.

Touring Rome - Best to order shuttle but they only have 3 (08:30am, 09:30am and 10:30am) and I think they only run one of each so if its full they dont help you. Otherwise walk to bus stop maybe wait 30 minutes for a packed bus.

If staying long period you can get an all inclusive Metro and Bus ticket €24 for 7 days, remember to validate it by using it on Metro or punching it on the bus. Once only to activate I think.

Now the big problem. It advertises High Speed Internet Access in all its 67 rooms. However if working wireless this is not the case. Very Poor to almost NO Signal in the room we were in. Not great if you're trying to work out where to travel. Everyone is huddled around reception looking for a poor wireless signal. Personally I went outside with a beer to cool down but it's very hit and miss. My wife managed to bounce off someone 5g signal !!

Now to get back to Airport - told by reception that taxi charge anywhere from €55 to €65 to get to Fuminicino. So hey try the shuttle. Oh its full (Book a week in advance???).
So back walk to supermarket with suitcases (not fun), get on packed bus (omg i couldn't even get the bags in) but 15 mins of hell eventually we could get off.

Not sure - its quite a lot of travelling time between this hotel and centre rome, by the time you add walk, waiting for bus, bus ride, metro you spent a good hour and half just travelling one way then the same when returning.

Pool was good, a little small but relaxing if not too packed luckily we went early evenings hardly anyone else in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

It has a beautiful terrace,which is a relaxing place to spend your free time.There is no wifi at rooms,however there is Wifi in reception area;which is terribly slow.otherwise rest of the things are fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

from the center of rome to cornalia tube station 15 minutes which not to bad then have to get out the tube station walk 3 blocks down to find a taxi who dont even know the name of the hotel until you show them the full adress and its only 5 minutes ride and at a cost of around 10 euros one way ....once you arrive you get greeded by unfriendly staff who cant be bothered to show u or help u in any way We were there for 4 days and 3 nights only to find-out they didnt bothered to change our sheets altough we did asked the second day and the third day which for the money we paid its unexcusable Shuttle bus is a joke 8.30/9.30/10.30 and thats that As for breakfast what a mess nothing fresh and tasteless not worhing turning-up Tried the esspresoo tastless the only half pallatable was the cappuchino And to just top everything-up while was settling a bill cause everything was paid while booked with expedia direct i had to pay 3 euro or 6 euro per day as a tourist tax so additional 24 euros on top of everything else SO all in all so far away from the center not worth come close to that place ever again in my life

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does not deserve four stars! I don't know were to start. It's a bit far from the center of rome, first 10 euros for taxi to Battistini or Cornelia, then subway in to the city, takes about 30 minutes or so. The service at the hotel is horrible, the receptionist is not even a little serviceminded or helpfull. The "bar/restaurant" is very poor and bad. Overprized and it takes about 1 hour to get the food, even if it's just you and your partner in the restaurant. I would not recommend to eat there if you don't have to. The food is not even good, they don't have so many choices either. The rooms are pretty small, but OK. No wifi in other areas than the reception, and even there is pretty poor. The tvchannels are all in italian, so it's no point having a tv if you don't understand any italian.
The breakfast is a disapointment indeed. They have juice in small plastic cups, some cereals, yoghurt, white dry bread, some disgusting eggs/bacon/omelettes. If u eat it you will puke.
The pool is ok, the equipment is not though. The garden chairs is broken and some lamps in the pool too.

Do yourself a favour, choose another hotel and your stay and the hotel will be a good memory!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Black Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hotel

Address: Via Sardiello 18 | Centre - Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #804 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.