We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brando & Gio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brando & Gio to your Saves list
Brando & Gio
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo) (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #840 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at Brando & Gio for the last three nights of our 50 day trip. We stayed in lots of hotels, most were better than this one. The staff was indifferent, I don't know if it was because they were rude, or just didn't understand English. Answers to our questions were short and curt. We had contact with them only during check in and check out.

The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was adequate. We were in a non-smoking room, but the adjoining room apparently was smoking. The beds were small and very uncomfortable. Free internet.

Positives:
Ten minute walk to the main train terminal
Very low price
Elevator
Free Internet
Very Clean
Good neighborhood - lots of restaurants nearby

Negatives:
Small room
Small uncomfortable beds

We decided that we would be out of the room most of the time, so we would sacrifice comfort for location and price. Luckily the weather was good, if it was raining, it would be tough to spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking just for a place to sleep, this will fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The room wasnt the same that we booked so we had to pay 50euro to get our room,whatever we stayed 5 nights.No breakfast,the staff was not friendly AT ALL,i do not recomended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner I I booked this hotel 9 months in advance for our stay of 1 night. Three months after the booking was made, we received an email advising our booking was cancelled and no explanation provided. We immediately sent an email asking why, and a response was received some days later advising a mistake was made with our name and the booking was cancelled by accident. We were then advised if we wished to rebook, the room would now be double the cost, after the hotel made the mistake and cancelled our booking! Needless to say, we did not re-book the room.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The room was clean and tidy with the added bonus of an in room safe. Bathroom was tiny, but clean and sufficient. I would definitely recommend this for the budget conscious traveller. Good location close to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Plenty of space with a comfy queen bed for me and a single for my travelling partner. Clean and air conditioned room, which was great as it was VERY hot! It looked like our room may have been recently refurbished. A tiny lift (that worked well). Ideally situated near Termini and walkable to some tourist spots. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Street not so noisy as others.

Room Tip: We (2 women) had a queen bed and a single in a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of my time in Italy. It is located close to Roma Termini station which is great for travelling beyond Rome but it is a fair walking distance to all the other tourist sights.

When I arrived the first time I was lead to a room which already had someone elses bag in it. It seemed they weren't sure where I should be. I ended up in a double room, near reception which was quite ok if not a little noisy at times. The beds were very hard but I found this to be common throughout Italy. The second visit I was in a single room which was very small but was quiet with a bathroom adequate for my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception and the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I really liked this hotel, very friendly staff and generally very clean. Didn't change the towels during our whole stay, but otherwise the room was cleaned reasonably well and bed made.
Had air con in the room but the bathroom was rather small. Shower was a a bit weak.
Breakfast was included and taken at a cafe further down the block, but was nothing to write home about and was just a coffee each and croissant.
Price may not have been best value for money but it was overall and fine experience here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brando & Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brando & Gio

Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #840 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Brando & Gio 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Brando & Gio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brando & Gio Hotel Rome
Brando And Gio
Castelfidardo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brando & Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.