We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Castelfidardo, Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brando & Gio

Save Saved
You added Brando & Gio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brando & Gio
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo) (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #840 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Castelfidardo, Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Plenty of space with a comfy queen bed for me and a single for my travelling partner. Clean and air conditioned room, which was great as it was VERY hot! It looked like our room may have been recently refurbished. A tiny lift (that worked well). Ideally situated near Termini and walkable to some tourist spots. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Street not so noisy as others.

Room Tip: We (2 women) had a queen bed and a single in a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
26
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of my time in Italy. It is located close to Roma Termini station which is great for travelling beyond Rome but it is a fair walking distance to all the other tourist sights.

When I arrived the first time I was lead to a room which already had someone elses bag in it. It seemed they weren't sure where I should be. I ended up in a double room, near reception which was quite ok if not a little noisy at times. The beds were very hard but I found this to be common throughout Italy. The second visit I was in a single room which was very small but was quiet with a bathroom adequate for my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception and the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I really liked this hotel, very friendly staff and generally very clean. Didn't change the towels during our whole stay, but otherwise the room was cleaned reasonably well and bed made.
Had air con in the room but the bathroom was rather small. Shower was a a bit weak.
Breakfast was included and taken at a cafe further down the block, but was nothing to write home about and was just a coffee each and croissant.
Price may not have been best value for money but it was overall and fine experience here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is a quick 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was a good size, the bathroom was a little small and the air conditioning was really good. The beds were awful, so hard it was impossible to get much sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very much a "budget-hotel" in a backstreet, so it wasn´t so nice to be heading home much to late, but besides that very close by to the central station and good restaurant and a good supermarket (condeti). The room was ok, but in the bathroom we found some muld :-( and the staff wasn´t so good at english, but they tryed to help us with directions when we asked on the map. The hotel was ok, but that´s it. The room was kind of small.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, prior to starting an Intrepid Trip. We joined the Intrepid group at this Hotel. It is within walking distance of Termini. Te room size was adequate and it was clean. However the shower did not have hot water - the only way we could have a shower was freezing cold. It was not fixed in the time we were there. Others in the tour group had same problem in their rooms. After 3 days we had to ask for our towels to be changed and bathroom to be cleaned, otherwise we would not have had clean towels offered in 4 days. The gentleman at Reception was rude and barely acknowledged us on arrival, and checkin. His manner did not change the whole time we were there. There was another man on reception at times who was much more pleasant. No Wifi or internet. Lift access to the hotel on 3rd floor. If you don't mind being in Rome in 40degree heat and not being able to have a shower - this may be the hotel for you, otherwise go else where.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed 4 night at the hotel. The location is perfect, just some minutes from Termini station (I came from the airport). The room was really comfortable and very good furnished, with WORKING air-conditioning. The room was very loud because of the street but if you close the windows you can't hear anything from outside.
Staff is helpful and they are nice people. If you smile on them, they smile back. I had problems with the plug (in my country the electricity system is other), but the girl at the reception gave me an adapter.
The only negative: my room was not clean enough. I mean on the mirror were dirty spots and I also found some long hair.

All in all, the hotel is worth for another stay at Rome.

L.V.
Hungary

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brando & Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brando & Gio

Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #840 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Brando & Gio 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brando & Gio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brando & Gio Hotel Rome
Brando And Gio
Castelfidardo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brando & Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.