We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location (in relation to Termini)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brando & Gio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brando & Gio to your Saves list
Brando & Gio
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo) (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #888 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location (in relation to Termini)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I really liked this hotel, very friendly staff and generally very clean. Didn't change the towels during our whole stay, but otherwise the room was cleaned reasonably well and bed made.
Had air con in the room but the bathroom was rather small. Shower was a a bit weak.
Breakfast was included and taken at a cafe further down the block, but was nothing to write home about and was just a coffee each and croissant.
Price may not have been best value for money but it was overall and fine experience here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is a quick 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was a good size, the bathroom was a little small and the air conditioning was really good. The beds were awful, so hard it was impossible to get much sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbond_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very much a "budget-hotel" in a backstreet, so it wasn´t so nice to be heading home much to late, but besides that very close by to the central station and good restaurant and a good supermarket (condeti). The room was ok, but in the bathroom we found some muld :-( and the staff wasn´t so good at english, but they tryed to help us with directions when we asked on the map. The hotel was ok, but that´s it. The room was kind of small.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luleaiscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, prior to starting an Intrepid Trip. We joined the Intrepid group at this Hotel. It is within walking distance of Termini. Te room size was adequate and it was clean. However the shower did not have hot water - the only way we could have a shower was freezing cold. It was not fixed in the time we were there. Others in the tour group had same problem in their rooms. After 3 days we had to ask for our towels to be changed and bathroom to be cleaned, otherwise we would not have had clean towels offered in 4 days. The gentleman at Reception was rude and barely acknowledged us on arrival, and checkin. His manner did not change the whole time we were there. There was another man on reception at times who was much more pleasant. No Wifi or internet. Lift access to the hotel on 3rd floor. If you don't mind being in Rome in 40degree heat and not being able to have a shower - this may be the hotel for you, otherwise go else where.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed 4 night at the hotel. The location is perfect, just some minutes from Termini station (I came from the airport). The room was really comfortable and very good furnished, with WORKING air-conditioning. The room was very loud because of the street but if you close the windows you can't hear anything from outside.
Staff is helpful and they are nice people. If you smile on them, they smile back. I had problems with the plug (in my country the electricity system is other), but the girl at the reception gave me an adapter.
The only negative: my room was not clean enough. I mean on the mirror were dirty spots and I also found some long hair.

All in all, the hotel is worth for another stay at Rome.

L.V.
Hungary

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gw9y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Arrived in Rome after a hell 24 flight. So wasn't in the right frame of mind when we walked into the hotel. The antiquated lift at first scared me but became my best friend! The hotel staff were a family it seemed and seemed a bit bemused by two tired kiwis wanting a room. We were a bit early so had a coffee and came back. I was pleasantly surprised. Wooden shutter windows looking into a italian courtyard, nice clean rooms. Stayed there for 4 nights so got the hang of the metro. I would recommed this Hotel. Its not 5 star,but it fitted well with us. During our stay in europe we stayed in over a dozen hotels and this one was fine compared to some!

Room Tip: Ask for the room looking into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buck8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I stayed there for a 7 nights and was very satisfied.
The staff was friendly.The room in which we stayed was very nice, clean and comfortable.
The location is perfect.
The only problem that can occur is the noise from the street below - but with wrking AC it is OK.
Overall the hotel is perfect when you are looking for cheap and comfortable hotel with very good location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calipsomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#750 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#640 of 1,271 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms Trani
B&T Rooms Trani
#902 of 1,271 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#439 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#629 of 1,271 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#835 of 1,271 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brando & Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brando & Gio

Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #888 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Brando & Gio 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brando & Gio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brando & Gio Hotel Rome
Brando And Gio
Castelfidardo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing