We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saturnia to your Saves list
Hotel Saturnia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #444 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel Saturnia is a great place to stay if you want to walk all over Rome. It is centrally located and the staff is exceptional. It is a 2 star hotel, but the service is great and the rooms are clean. Lilly, Marcella, Alejandro, and John helped make the experience delightful. I would definitely stay there again. The espresso and cappuccino were delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    214
    95
    42
    38
See reviews for
93
382
73
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Room is tiny, old and the bathroom is full of mildew. The hose for the A/C runs through the wall and finishes on top of the shower, disgusting. Everything is falling into pieces or has been really quickly fixed. Breakfast is ok and the lady that makes coffee is pretty rude on Sunday mornings ! By the way, is you want an espresso she will do it, but if you want a cappuccino, or anything with milk you will have to take it from a machine. In Italy, that's a disgrace. My camping mattress is bigger than the one in the room. Hotel is on a little street, so not too noisy. It did the trick for 2 days, but for a week I would have leave.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. They really make you feel at home. This is a small hotel in an old building, In a great location very handy to colosseum etc. really nice breakfast. Restaurants on the doorstep supermarket & metro a short walk. Aircond bonus only downside is the metro hundreds of meters below gives slight rumble now and again. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good location, walking distance from the train station, bus stops, and metro station. Lots of great restaurants one and two streets over. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was really small. Overall, it was a decent hotel considering it's a two star. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm not a way too picky person (just a little ;)) but I can't understand how this hotel has so many good reviews!... It is really bad. The decoration is horrible, too saturated (I know this is kind of normal in Roma's hotels but this is way too heavy.. dark/sad colors that tire your eyes.. The wall paper in the rooms is peeling all over. No elevators, bad and poor breakfast.. shared bathroom!!!!! The price is too high for the quality, I stayed in one half priced and better.
There are 2 plus for this hotel: convenient location (close to Termini) and friendly staff... other than that... believe me, there are plenty of better choices at this price ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two years ago and decided to use it again this year because we found it so convenient and friendly. We were travelling through Rome at the beginning and the end of our holiday and so stayed in it both times we were in Rome.

The location is excellent. A ten minute walk from Termini station (trains, buses, metro) and ten minutes from the Imperial Forum and the Colosseum.

It is not the most modern or plush of hotels but it has a lot of character. The rooms that we have experienced were very suitable for our needs - enough space to put things away and to move about, good bathroom, and very clean.

The breakfast is very adequate with the usual choice of meat, cheese, pastries, and fruit that you tend to get in hotels in Italy. We were well able to get ourselves fuelled up for our morning explorations.

There is no lift and this could be a problem for some people but the staff are always willing to take the luggage up to the room. WiFi is available but the reception can be weak in some rooms.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good hotel in a very attractive and convenient location.

Room Tip: Room 108 is tiny. We are not big but we could hardly move about. Room 404 is on the top floor but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived in Rome during a thunderstorm, and when we looked in our bathroom on the second floor we saw that water was dripping through the light fitting on the ceiling. This turned out to be a lucky break however, as when I went down to reception to tell them, the chap gave me a key to a room on the top floor which turned out to be much bigger and have a large rooftop balcony with a nice view (which was shared with one other room, but whose occupants we never saw apart from their towels). I assume this was a superior double for which we would have had to pay more, the first room we saw was a standard double very compact but would have been acceptable had it not been for the leaking ceiling. The staff were pleasant and the continental breakfast was absolutely fine. The location is extremely convenient, within a few minutes walk of the main station if you're arriving by train, the bus from the airport which we took also stops there. Within a few hundred metres of the hotel, which is in a quiet side street off the main road, are small shops and bars, an Irish Pub and Santa Maggiore Church which has an amazing interior. A ten minute walk down the road will take you to the Colosseum which is also worth a visit!

Room Tip: Could be worth paying more for a superior room with a balcony as the standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saturnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.