We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome in June” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Saturnia to your Saves list
Hotel Saturnia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #284 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
“Rome in June”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent value for the price! The breakfast was first class and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are dated for someone looking for a luxurious accommodation; however they were always clean. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning and a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    191
    80
    34
    33
See reviews for
82
356
70
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The staff was very friendly & accommodating. The room was nice, clean & neat. Breakfast was excellent & the hotel is in a convenient location. Our room could have used an air conditioner so we didn't have to sleep with the window open. It allowed the room to be cool but a bit noisy with the traffic outside.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool but there was an excellent restaurant right next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very lucky to have selected Hotel Saturnia as our Hotel in Rome. First, the location was very good close to the train station and metro and walking distance to many places. Second, our rooms were very nice and always clean. Third, the staff was wonderful and treated us like their family - we were a family of 18, and we felt that we were coming home, when we returned to the hotel. We stayed in the hotel for days before and after a 7 day Mediterranean cruise. The breakfast they offered was very good and was enjoyed by all of us, including some very hungry teen age boys and girls.

We highly recommend this Hotel and hope to be able to stay there again one day. Beyond what the Hotel offered us as guests they assisted us in arranging bus transportation to and from the airport and to and from the ship.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in january 2012 whilst travelling alone. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and I immediately felt at home. location is amazing, fiive minutes from temini station and a ten minute stroll from The forum. In fact all the main attractions are within easy walking distance. Would recommend staying here if you dont intend staying inside. Cheap and simple, but comfortable. Rome is amazing and this is a lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Dont use Google maps to find it, use the hotels directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Saturnia for two days in July and wished I could stay longer (I actually tried to cancel my other bookings to stay here!)

Location - very close to the termini station and colosseum (walking distance)
Friendliness of the staff - I met four of their staff and ALL were very helpful especially Lily :)
Room - decent sized, (I stayed at a double room with shared bathroom) and the bathroom is extremely clean.
Breakfast - basic but delicious- fruits, bread, cereal, coffee and milk

Overall, it was very pleasant experience and I would definitely stay here when come back to Rome!

Room Tip: No elevators so if you have heavy luggage, you should ask for lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The stay at this hotel gave us everything we needed. They were clean and spacious, very cool as we went during a massive heatwave. If you want to stay by the Colosseum then this is the right place for you as it is in walking distance from it. The long road that this hotel comes off is perfect if you want to pop out for an evening meal, the restaurant on the corner is beautiful. Also plenty of shops along the road for souvenirs etc. At the top of the hill there is a bus station where you can board the tourist buses which take you everywhere if you don't feel like walking. It is quite a walk from places like the spanish steps and trevi fountain but that for us was one of the perks - we got to see a lot more of Rome this way. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The stay was just wonderful - it is basic but we spent all day walking round and all we needed was a place to crash and this did the job just great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Hotel Saturnia in July of 2013 for 4 nights.

Firstly, the staff were wonderful. They were extremely helpful and eager to help with anything. The general area of the hotel was very attractive with beautiful paintings and overall vibe. The hotel is also in a great location, walking distance to some great restaurants and the colosseum.


However, we found the breakfast very average. It comprised of some juice (more like cordial) and some baked goods that actually tasted quite bad and flavorless. The room was very small and we could barely move around the room (which wasn't a huge problem for us). The room smelt awful, it smelt like the sewerage pipe in the bathroom had exploded, closing the bathroom door was all we could do but it didn't help too much. Also the internet on our floor was "temporarily" broken, so we had to sit down stairs to use the internet. There was also no elevator so i would request a room on the first or second floor. Additionally the air-conditioner was the worst thing ever. I'm not convinced that it worked at all. After a extremely hot day in the sun you just wanted to come back to a cool room but the room was just as hot as outside even with the "air con" on full power.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saturnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.