We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roman holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saturnia to your Saves list
Hotel Saturnia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
fez
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Roman holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned from Rome having booked an attractively-priced package holiday with Expedia which included five nights in Hotel Saturnia. Any qualms that I should have booked a three-star l were quickly dispelled. The room was clean and tidy; it overlooked a quiet street which was ideally situated for reaching the main sites and Termini. Breakfast, which was included and served between 7-10.30am, was more than adequate. Above ll it was the staff's welcoming, friendly and accommodating presence which made our stay such a memorable pleasure....not least their unceasing patience and good humour whenever I tried out my faltering italian on them. Multi gracie!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    197
    83
    35
    34
See reviews for
84
364
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Saturnian at the end of December and loved it. The staff is warm and welcoming and the hotel is very conveniently located. After reading so many Trip Advisor reviews we chose one of the fourth floor rooms with the shared terrace. The view is lovely but as the week wore on I started to dread that last spiral staircase! The fresh air, sunshine, and bistro table made it worth the hike.

Tziano, Alenjandro, and Alberto are all wonderful (and quite handsome). When chatting with Roman friends on our second night there we said, "We went to dinner and then went home." They laughed at the concept of calling our hotel "home" but it really feels like a peaceful homey haven in a sometimes chaotic city.

The neighborhood has some great places: definitely make time to see Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica! Second only to St. Peter's in ornate beauty. We loved Mela D'Oro for lunch and dinner and returned several times. The tiny store Namaste is nearby; we found beautiful scarves, bracelets, necklaces, and rings as gifts for friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location was excellent, a short walk from Termini, the colesseum, and forum. The staff was friendly and breakfast was very good.

Only minor issues: We stayed on the fourth floor, which was quite a trek with no lift. Also, while it was nice to have free wi-fi, the connection was sketchy, at best. The beds were not comfortable in the least.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our room overlooked a lovely walled garden; and we enjoyed breakfasts in their breakfast room every morning. But it is the staff that makes this place great! Alejandro always seemed delighted when we returned and let me use my paltry Italian as I wanted. When we were considering moving to a lower floor the manager, Tiziano, would not hear of it ("What?! In that little room?!")

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Saturnia for 3 nights. Hotel is located very near to Roma Termini with few meters of walk from Colosseum. Cleanliness in rooms was ok, only wash basin of my room had some blockage, but was manageable. Hotel staff, specially Alberto was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, and I will recommend this to others as a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Select spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

For us older folks an elevator is a must. No such luck here. What was worse, we got booked in the penthouse - two rooms accessible by a NARROW winding staircase. When we made our concerns known to the staff, they were very obliging and helpful. They carried our stuff up (there was no other way, we would have had to leave). The next morning they moved us to the very bottom floor (no other rooms). It had no windows, no internt access and it was cold and noisy. We moved that evening (about 7:00 pm) to another hotel around the corner. We were charged full price for the room.... they said they were totally booked and we checked out too late. Live and learn.

Room Tip: Nice if you are young and fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The only negative point that I have: the Wi Fi was not working in my room in the last day. I was there for 4 nights. The people were friendly. Reserved by internet, I got 20% off in the whole tariff, for more than 4 nights. The breakfast is ok - I took the room with shared bathroom. Overall the hotel is okay! Probably i will come back to this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Rome
#288 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saturnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.