We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Knight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!& amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saturnia to your Saves list
Hotel Saturnia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Knight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!& amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

we selected Saturnia, through Trip advisor ratings and we are very glad we did.
On arriving we were greeted by the most nice and lovely Concierge we have ever met !he was extremely nice Charming, and helpful. He gave us very helpful, clear instructions and gave us a map showing all the points of interest in the city which was very helpful . that made it very easy for us to see everything. Then helped us with our luggage,also let us use the front desk computer and printer to print our boarding passes for our flight and to book the Vatican museum .
he seemed to really like doing his Job, and enjoy doing it!!!!. unfortunately we don't know his name, but he looks like Richard Gere 20 years ago!!!!!!!!!and always smiling, really fantastic
also the staff at breakfast were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast itself was very good, there was bread, ham, cheese, and orange juice, cookies, etc. The cappuccinos were delicious , lots of choice,
The room was very pleasant and clean. It was truly well worth the price. These are small things which can easily be fixed,But the location, the spotless cleanliness, the atmosphere and the welcome- all make it a wonderful place .
The location of the hotel was very convenient ,We walked everywhere from the hotel, all points of interest was within a reasonable distance.We even walked to the Vatican!
If you want to buy beer, wine, cheese, bread there are many stores nearby.
We checked out and our flight home was late. the hotel looked after our luggage for the day so we could spend the day sightseeing.
Everybody who works there really cares for the guests and we were made to feel very welcome. Thanks all Saturnia staff (specially the guy with Richard Gere eyes)

We were very sad to leave and look forward to our next visit.

We cannot wait to go back
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    197
    84
    35
    34
See reviews for
84
365
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel is incredibly good value for money, the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to help us, recommending places to see and eat.
I can honestly say that I have not encountered more friendly staff in any hotel we ve ever stayed.

A great family friendly hotel, would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We arrive at Saturnia early in the morning, about 11:00 a.m., and the man at reception advised us that our room was maybe ready. Time for a lovely cappuccino maid from a young lady and as promised our room was ready. We've really appreciated this because for an only two days stay in Rome time is precious. Room are perfect for a couple, all needs are inside. The location is the other advantage of Hotel Saturnia. You can walk everywhere, to Colosseum (amazing), to the Vatican (incredible), to Spanish steps (wonderful) and best shopping area is also 5 minutes walking. At least we recommend this place to all people want to visit Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for room on secon floor, no lift but nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We arrived early and were offered breakfast while our room was cleaned. We received our room at 9:30 AM, which was much earlier than the official check-in. Breakfast was good. Ask for coffee from the lady behind the counter. The room was as advertised, clean and with all the necessities. It was not large by any means, but this is expected in Europe. The hotel is on a side street off of Via Cavour, so the noise was not an issue. Make sure you have the address handy for the cab driver. The front desk was always willing to help with any request. We chose this hotel because of its location to the train station and the metro, proximity to the Forum (and other sites), and cheap eats. I would re-book if we return.

Room Tip: The cost between a shared bathroom and a double room is small. Make sure that you get a bathroom in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed there for a long weekend with the Missus. Snow everywhere and Hotel was on a hill, far from ideal. Booked and paid for a room with bathroom and double bed. Double bed was 2 beds pushed together and a damaged mattress on one of the beds. TV in the room is all Italian channels bar a few music channels which play some English music in the evening.

Heating did not work, or we could not work it, put it on to 30degrees but it kept resetting itself to 22 degrees. Shower head was not attached properly to the clip meaning that every time we turned shower on full blast it kicked back and sprayed everywhere.

To be honest once we unpacked and spent the first night there I could not be bothered to say anything for the sake of 2 nights sleep so we stayed in that room. The room was comfy and was room number 102, the first in the hotel so good location.

Breakfast was Ham, spreadable cheese and roll (a DIY job) pastries and 3 types of cereal. All though a bit bland, the pastries and bread rolls were amazing! And it seems like a cold breakfast is the done thing in Rome.
The hotel is on the outskirts of city centre, 2 minute walk from Termini tube station. 5 minute walk down to the Forum and further 2 minutes to Colosseum one way and 2 minutes away from Monument to Vittorio Emanuele II the other way, about 20 minute walk to Trevi fountain where there are quite a few restaurants. Very little in the form of bars in Rome that are open in Feb.
do not be scared to walk everywhere you see so much and it is all really close to each other (Vatican aside) we walked to the Castel Saint Angelo (accidentally) and only took about 40 minutes to walk back, but on the walk back you can see some great sights as well.

Everyone in the Hotel speaks excellent English and they will help you with directions and little tips.
Not that I have any bad memories of the place, it was nice enough and friendly but I would not go there again unless the price was drastically cheaper, can't see how they can charge the same as hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews of this hotel I was fairly excited about the trip and thought my boyfriend had chosen rather well! However it's fair to say that I was underwhelmed and quite disappointed.

LOCATION
The hotel has a relatively central location, within walking distance of the main sights, however any hotel in the city centre boasts this trait! You don't need to stay at the Saturnia for that!

STAFF
The reviews on hear state that the hotel staff are outstanding.. I'd have to disagree I'm afraid. On arrival the hotel staff were not overly welcoming, and after attempting to ask where a nice restaurant would be for dinner (and getting no help!) we quickly developed a bad impression of them. This was somewhat rectified the following morning when one of the staff members kindly helped us find our feet and plan our route around Rome. However this was the only time that we saw him and the rest of the staff just weren't up to the same standard.

ROOM
We had a standard double room. However it was not a double, it was two single beds pushed together. Now I work for a Travel Agent and I understand that this trait is applicable in Europe as you often get two beds pushed together BUT this should only occur when you book a 'standard room' if the room type is stated as DOUBLE that is exactly what it should be. One of the beds was also damaged, the shower broken and the heating in the room failed to work.

FOOD
The breakfast at the hotel was awful. I'm sorry but there's no other way to describe it. They had croissants, ham and coffee. That really was the extent of the breakfast. Needless to say I only ate the breakfast once.

ROME IN GENERAL
Rome however is amazing! And I'd recommend it to anyone! Beautiful city and so much to see! Me and my boyfriend went from the 3rd of February - 6th February and we experienced Rome in the snow which was so pretty! Unfortunately a lot of the attractions were closed due to the freak weather, but hey, how often does in snow in Rome?! Makes for amazing photos! :)
TOP TIP: There are some amazing little restaurants near the Trevi Fountain definately worth a try, Al Picchio was our favourite.

OVERALL
I would recommend Rome to anyone! I just wouldn't recommend the Saturnia. If you're looking for a cheap but lovely little hotel perhaps look at the Columbia or the Amalfi (excellent 3* stars) or if you're looking for something more upmarket try the Capo D'Africa (4*+ stars).

Room Tip: Make sure when you book that you actually have an en-suite bathroom, as some of the rooms don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Saturnia for business for four days in January. This little hotel is a wonderful find and great place to stay. It is certainly small and simple, but I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. The staff are incredible and made me feel like I was in my own home. They could not have been more accommodating.
The location of the hotel is also ideal as it's within walking distance of the Stazione Termini and the Colosseum. Its location right off Via Cavour makes it easy to find without having all the noise that a large street brings.
If I were to ask for any improvement, it would be the breakfast. It was very basic and certainly not bad, but I would have appreciated some fresh fruit. However, this is a minor complaint.
Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Rome
#288 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saturnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.