We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and clean minutes to Rome train station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maryelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Maryelen
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #653 of 2,563 Rome B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming and clean minutes to Rome train station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Close to trains, bus and Metro but on a quiet side street. Staff were excellent in this family run hotel/B&B . We had been booked in a B&B around the corner that was dirty, noisy and overpriced and found this gem. Very reasonably priced - clean and well run. They helped with reservations for the Vatican Museum and recommended restaurants nearby. Excellent WiFi in the room as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    202
    41
    21
    13
See reviews for
37
142
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

arrived here after flying from Denver to Frankfurt, then to Rome. Jet-lag had set in but we found the hotel with the provided instructions.

Very clean, comfortable room, great breakfast. I grumbled about no toaster at breakfast, and our hostess overheard me, and her husband made me toast, now that is service!

Yes I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this B&B. The rooms we had were spacious, clean and quiet. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 4 more days at end of our trip in Italy. This hotel is near the Termini train station which was convenient for us to go to Venice and Tuscany. Breakfast was good and the personnel was helpful to provide information on your stay in Rome. Close to Termini is also great because you are close to transit bus station. The personal understand English which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel a few minutes walk from the Termini station. We had a 5th floor room with a small balcony (there is an old style lift for when you arrive with your cases!) and it was clean, tidy and had a nice (small) bathroom with good working shower. There was a fridge in the room too which was helpful to keep water/drinks in overnight for taking out during the day. Hairdryer and towels provided.

Good value for money, breakfast is buffet style with bread, cheeses and ham, cereal and yoghurts, pastries, cake and biscuits along with coffee.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, pointed out some nice restaurants in the area which we visited and were not disappointed with at all. The hotel is in walking distance of all attractions (15 mins to Colusseum, then just a bit further down the road to Roman Forum, Vittoriano, and 20 mins walk to Villa Borghese Park) we did a hop on hop off bus which left from Termini regularly one of the days, and got the number 40 express bus from Termini to the Vatican, easy to buy your ticket at the station and then stamp it on the bus).

Would definitely return and stay at this hotel again, thanks for everything Loredana and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is in a very convenient location near the Termini train station, although the area can feel a little intimidating after dark if you're by yourself. I have stayed here several times, and find the hotel to be always clean and welcoming. The staff take a personal interest in their guests and are extremely helpful. The breakfast is basic and heavy on pastries and sweets, but tasty. The hotel is cash-only, which can be a problem if you stay several nights, but there is an ATM nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just about a three block walk from the Roma Termini train station. The room and bathroom was very clean and quiet, the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations of restaurants and shopping. You can catch the city tour buses at the train station. We bought a 24 hour pass and got on and off at all of the sites we wanted to see.

The breakfast was satisfying and there is wifi in the lobby. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #653 of 2,563 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maryelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.