We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maryelen to your Saves list
Hotel Maryelen
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #970 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this B&B. The rooms we had were spacious, clean and quiet. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 4 more days at end of our trip in Italy. This hotel is near the Termini train station which was convenient for us to go to Venice and Tuscany. Breakfast was good and the personnel was helpful to provide information on your stay in Rome. Close to Termini is also great because you are close to transit bus station. The personal understand English which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    122
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
157
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel a few minutes walk from the Termini station. We had a 5th floor room with a small balcony (there is an old style lift for when you arrive with your cases!) and it was clean, tidy and had a nice (small) bathroom with good working shower. There was a fridge in the room too which was helpful to keep water/drinks in overnight for taking out during the day. Hairdryer and towels provided.

Good value for money, breakfast is buffet style with bread, cheeses and ham, cereal and yoghurts, pastries, cake and biscuits along with coffee.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, pointed out some nice restaurants in the area which we visited and were not disappointed with at all. The hotel is in walking distance of all attractions (15 mins to Colusseum, then just a bit further down the road to Roman Forum, Vittoriano, and 20 mins walk to Villa Borghese Park) we did a hop on hop off bus which left from Termini regularly one of the days, and got the number 40 express bus from Termini to the Vatican, easy to buy your ticket at the station and then stamp it on the bus).

Would definitely return and stay at this hotel again, thanks for everything Loredana and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is in a very convenient location near the Termini train station, although the area can feel a little intimidating after dark if you're by yourself. I have stayed here several times, and find the hotel to be always clean and welcoming. The staff take a personal interest in their guests and are extremely helpful. The breakfast is basic and heavy on pastries and sweets, but tasty. The hotel is cash-only, which can be a problem if you stay several nights, but there is an ATM nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just about a three block walk from the Roma Termini train station. The room and bathroom was very clean and quiet, the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations of restaurants and shopping. You can catch the city tour buses at the train station. We bought a 24 hour pass and got on and off at all of the sites we wanted to see.

The breakfast was satisfying and there is wifi in the lobby. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a small, family run hotel near the main train station in Rome. Our room, the lobby and breakfast dining areas were spotless. One of the cleanest places we have stayed. Our room was small, but had all the neccessities we needed including a small fridge. The only negative was the fact that the heat was not turned on until 4pm. Mostly that was ok because we were out and about. We arrived early the first day and were given a room right away. We had wifi available in our room. The availability of wife has either improved, or it may depend on the room you get. Ours was fast and reliable.
The free breakfast was a large assortment of pastries, bread, small sandwiches, ham, cheese and good coffee.
The location was excellent. We were able to walk to most places. If you don't like to walk, the train and buses are only about 2 blocks away. There were also many restaurants in the area and a small grocery store.
The staff/owners were wonderful, helpful and so friendly. We had an early flight and the owners got up at 3am to let us out. We even got a hug goodbye. If (when-I tossed my coin in the Trevi fountain) we will certainly stay here again. Oh yea. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

just few mins walk to termini train station which is great because easy to come from airport with suitcase and also walk distance to bus station. my room was really really small but bed and bathroom was really clean. no wifii in rooms just in lobby, breakfast is nice several choices you will have. it's a family hotel and they are nice .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #970 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maryelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.