We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WIFI & BREAKFAST
Ranked #7 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a quaint and nice family run hotel in a fabulous location in Rome. You can easily walk to many of the main sights including the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The hotel is on the second level of a larger building. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were large and comfortable. They also served a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,015
    346
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
419
613
83
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. Room is very clean and quiet with double glazed windows. The location was perfect within easy walk to all sites and close to the large villa Borghese gardens. Excellent recommendations for restaurants and best route to sites on map provided were of great benefit. Buffet breakfast was fresh and delicious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Family run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Small, but I didn't go to Rome to stay in the hotel. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Restaurant suggestions and reservations. Tour recommendations and bookings. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. They even let us eat early one morning. This hotel was spotless. The room was a little small, but we didnt spend much time in our room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel Golden is a gem. Very well sited, easily accessible from the Termini, within walking distance of central Rome and all of the wonderful things to see and do. And really comfortable indeed.

Stayed for the start of a family holiday in Sicily, and we had the family suite, with two bedrooms, a good bathroom and a nice communal area. The suite was really great, spacious and comfortable, air-conditioned, and perfect for the family - there were 4 of us. The owners are really friendly and helpful, and made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was excellent, with a great selection. And of course, great coffee.

There is a small elevator, so moving heavy luggage between floors is no hassle. The hotel can arrange transport to and from the airport (€50 flat rate), and are very responsive to email if you need to arrange stuff ahead of your arrival.

Awesome, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Thank you to all the lovely staff at Hotel Golden for making our stay in Rome extra special. After a long journey it was lovely to be greeted warmly. We received a map of the city and excellent directions which made great use of our short stay in Rome. The recommendation for a restaurant was to a lovely traditional trattoria with crispy pizzas, tasty pastas and fabulous Parma ham!

And I cannot forget to mention the buffet breakfast! This was extra special....a wide variety of cooked goodies, hams, pastries, juices which were all presented beautifully. Just the thing to fuel our family ahead of the long days of sight seeing. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in Rome.

Quite surprised to see how unwelcoming, unfriendly and frustrated the management (husband & his father) were given the string of positive responses. Albeit the breakfast lady was very friendly & welcoming and room were clean and tidy.

Be careful of the rooms as we had bugs bits. My partner woke up with bites all over her legs. Seems a common occurrence from the negative reviews of this hotel which we failed to consider when reviewing all the positive responses on Trip Advisor.

If you're looking for just a bedroom to stay then its ideal as the room's are good and clean. There are no communal areas to wander around on during an evening (after site-seeing) to relax so its your bedroom or outside! It didn't bother us as we spent evenings in restaurants but just for those who have family or are on a tight budget.

I didn't feel very comfortable following the management greeting us with tutting, demanding passports to write details and getting us to sign a printed paper (in Foriegn text) which when asking what we were signing to, he responded just sign it. You feel like your having to tip-two around a family home (which of course it is). Perhaps we caught them on the wrong day?

There are only 5 small (2 seated) tables to accommodate over 12 or so rooms. Many people are seen to be waiting outside in the narrow corridor (some with children) on the morning for an available table (after people have finished food).

Toilet seat is faced up to the shower so your tightly wedged in. I can vouch for the comments of this made on review.

Would I stay there again? No, definitely not. Felt very uncomfortable being there and wouldn't want to see the management again and don't want to be bitten again!

Lastly do be sure to have cash for the taxes on the rooms which is not factored into the cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
it is the first time in so many years that we reply to any comments of our guests.. we highly respect everyones opinion and we are here to improve and do everyday better and better.. opinions but not lies!!

I am not sure who you are and WHY you are doing this to us.. I would not even report your review to tripadvisor, because honestly what I care the most is that persons who read about our property on tripadvisor understand that we are a Family that wants everyone to have the best time possible while visiting Rome and that we will do our best for making everyone feel like part of our family while styaing with us.. so having saying that, isn't it stange that you state you have stayed at the Golden five nights and you do not even know our personal names?? even guests staying with us only one night they go away like if they knew us for ever, calling us by name and even inviting us to their country and their home.. you say you have stayed here five nights and you call us "the husband", "the lady", that is easy to do.. we are so personal here at the Golden.. since our guests arrives at the desk, we present each one of us, by name and with a smile.. just to offer our willingness to help without being invasive.. just to let our guests know since the very beginning of their stay that each one of my family memeber is here to help in anything they need.. and by the way, my name is Giuseppe!

I will not go over everything you have wrote because I prefer that our guests respond to you with their own words and their own emotions, but as I wrote at the beginning of this reply, I will not permit you to lie:

1) here there are no bugs.. we take such a good care of our property (just like home) just to make it the best place to host friendly people.. our mother Teresa starts very early cooking breakfast (just like making breakfast for the Family, the large Family of the Hotel Golden's guests) and she does it with love, using the best ingredients, fresh omelettes cooked at the moment with anything you ask it to have.. she bakes bread and croissants in the morning, she makes cakes for our guests and at the end of the breakfast, together with my sisters Maria Teresa and Alina they take care of the cleanning of the rooms, and they do it just like doing it at home.

and not only cleaning.. we have a program that we follow constantly to disenfect rooms, mattress.. we change pillows frequently.. we decided even not to have any type of rugs or carpets in the hotel and in the rooms, just to avoid bugs.. we do not only cleas and we want our property the most higiniec as possible.. we have tile in whole property to make the dayly cleanning even better.. and we have gone beyond it deciding to make the Hotel Golden "not smoking" just to favor freshness and candid ambience.. so please do not lie!

when you enter one of our rooms you feel the freshness of a cleanned room.. and several times I hear our guests saying WOW just entering the room (and there is nothing that makes us happier that seeing those smiles in the face of our guests) happy to be with us and enjoying us as a family.

and it is not only the genuine and dayly cleanning of the rooms and the whole property... we are proud of hosting our guests and we do the best we can to offer them a nice spot to stay in.. safe, confortable, clean and quiet rooms.. our constant supervison, we are always here so you are sure to find always the family to help you with anything you need (and there are other 1000 reviews that say just that)

why do you have to write something that is not true.. just because you wanted to create a quick damage to us??? something easy to write negatively?? I repeat myself, I do not know why you are doing this but it is not fair to mislied other persons with lies.


2) secondly, our rates are honest... what you book is always total rate (nothing else we add in top of what you book) we offer free breakfast and free internet (24 hours a day free internet)

all our rates, even the discounted ones, are all inclusive of goverment taxes and IVA tax.

the only tax that is added on the rates is the new city-tax that the city of Rome requests us to charge: 2 Eur per person per night (while kids under 11 years old are exempt from this city-tax) that is all, so please do not LIE.. this city-tax is charged by all the hotels in Rome!

I will not make this longer, as I wrote above, I will let past and future guests respond to your comments...

we care a lot about everyones opinion and we are a honest family willing to meet and host everyone with passion and help you visit and explore our city as true locals.

warmly,

Giuseppe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family stayed at Hotel Golden for four nights in June. Wonderfully service - a special thank you to Giuseppe as he went out of his way to help us with train tickets. Great location - easy walk to some key sights but far enough way from the crowds. They certainly made us feel at home. Rome was our first stop on a three week trip and it was a wonderful introduction to Italy! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.the hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.and the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!come and visit us.. we will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.