We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Golden to your Saves list
Hotel Golden
Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WIFI & BREAKFAST
Ranked #7 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed August 16-18 after a cruise. The family running the hotel is very helpful, from arranging transport from the port to helping us arrange a few walking tours around Rome. The room was clean, not spectacular, but considering Rome hotel prices in general a good value. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and although we had to leave at 7:00 AM for the airport- food was out and ready for us. Will stay there next trip for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    374
    40
    16
    4
See reviews for
502
702
93
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. He gave us good advice on how to get to all the major tourist sights, as well as nearby restaurant recommendations. The hotel is small and family-owned, giving it a unique homely feel despite being in the city.
The breakfast room was quite small and on one occasion we had to wait for others to finish so we had a table to sit at. This only happened once though. Wifi was free and quite good but there is generally a one log in per person limit. We managed to get an extra one but was still short for all our devices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday 08/06-08/08/13, very great experienced. The breakfast buffet is superb, everything is fresh and delicious. The room is perfect for us couple, it was different and interesting but overall we had a comfortable stay. Location is perfect, very close to everything like the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and the Metro. We took the taxi service from the FCO airport since we didn't know where to go at first, but going back to the airport we took the train since we learned on how to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here in 2012 and were just reminiscing about what a great hotel it is. Great rooms, nicely deorated, well air conditioned, great breakfast, and great staff. One of the brothers went outside with me as we were checking in to help me find street parking - he drove my car and parked in this impossibly small space on the street. Saved me 100 euros over the course of a few days. They were very accommodating and helpful with directions and suggestions. I wish I were there this summer!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had to see Rome in a day and a half and I would not have been able to do it without this hotel! My partner and I checked in and the desk staff was so helpful, providing maps and explaining how to get to all the sites. They also recommended a fantastic restaurant right down the street. The hotel was situated in a quiet area, close to shopping and dining. There is a beautiful park (Villa Borghese) to walk to where we were able to have a gorgeous view of the whole city. We could also walk to the Spanish Steps from here and to several metro stations. The room was very spacious and had a huge bathroom, but we were so busy sightseeing, I barely remember it! Breakfast in the morning was in a small room with homemade goodies (fruit, baked goods, meats, eggs, coffee). Everything was delicious and it made us feel like part of the family, it was very intimate and charming. I can't say enough good things about the staff here, they seemed to really enjoy having the opportunity to show of their city. A trip to a huge city can often be confusing and almost never lives up to expectations, but our trip to Rome was right out of the movies, everything we hoped it would be! It was beautiful, romantic, delicious, historic, eternal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This small hotel occupies one floor of an apartment building in a central location in Rome close to Villa Borghese and Piazza di Spagna. There is a taxi stand around the corner and public buses to the main attractions. Be aware that most taxi drivers were not aware of the location of the hotel, so provide the address and state it is close to Villa Borghese. The staff is essentially a family, part of which lives in the same building. They cook the breakfast (excellent), staff the front desk, clean and so on. We found the room to be impeccably clean and the service extremely friendly. An extra full size bed was added for our kids. The only minor drawback is that since all the rooms open on a central corridor, there is some noise from people walking in and out of their rooms during the day that can make it hard for you to take an after-noon nap if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is one of the most memorable on our trip ( we have been traveling the world for 9 months now) The owners are hands on and deliver a wonderful experience from check in to check out The rooms have all you need but if you need anything its never a problem.I think the position is perfect and in a great neighborhood near the Villa Borghese.The bus is a block away and easy to to all the sights. There are some of the big brand hotels nearby and great little restaurants. Ask the owners for a recommendation. I had a sore Knee and the owner organised for me to see his family doctor within hours. We tried to stay longer but they were fully booked of course.I had an email after we left inquiring about my knee. If you actually get a chance stay here jump in with both feet. You wont regret it

Room Tip: If possible ask for the junior suit.Its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.the hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.and the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!come and visit us.. we will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.