We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Golden to your Saves list
Hotel Golden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #8 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was my third visit to Hotel Golden. I now feel like I am visiting old friends.The breakfast is always excellent and on time. Mamma Teresa is so sweet. Papà Mario, Maria Teresa,Giuseppe and Marco are always happy to help you, making your visit easier. These are honest, wonderful people. Super clean, super safe and great location. Do your self a favor and stay here, just make sure there is a room left for me :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    400
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
555
761
102
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the exterior (currently has scaffolding) as soon as you buzz in you can tell this is a nice place. For the price it is very reasonable, the owners are friendly and you couldn't really fault the rooms.
Yes the breakfast room is small but people are in and out quickly so we never had to wait. if you fancy a change from your bog standard hotel come here for a slightly more quirky stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having a beautiful home made breakfast before a long day of site seeing in Rome was a perfect match. Very nice. Very quiet. A perfect places to rest after a long walk in the Eternal City. The all family staff was very nice too.

Room Tip: This is more of a boutique hotel. There are a limited number of rooms so you feel like its your pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the Hotel Golden in Rome. It was so nice to visit with the family again. They set up transportation for us from the airport and to the cruise ship - it made everything so easy! The hotel is located within walking distance to many attractions: Basilica of St. Peter's and Vatican City, Pantheon, Tiber River, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Borghese Gardens, Colosseum and many great restaurants near the hotel.

The hotel is very clean and there are many room options - from small to family units. They all have a privatge bath. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast awaiting us. We really appreciated having a nice meal before taking off to explore the wonderful city of Rome.

There is a computer available at the front desk. This made it easy to keep in touch with our family at home.

We look forward to visiting the hotel and the family when we visit Rome again.

Room Tip: We had a different room both times and so did our guests. They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I agree with many of the comments here. This is a gem, well positioned and a super place from which to explore Rome. This is a family run hotel and Giuseppe was outstanding in looking after us. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent, always fresh and plenty of it. Well worth the visit. I chose it because of these reviews and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on first trip to Rome and we are so glad we did! Hotel Golden is operated by the Loria family and has much to offer that larger hotels do not. It is conveniently located near the Spanish Steps and Termini station in a lovely area. We walked quite comfortably and felt safe. Accomodations were beautiful and spotless with an amazing breakfast that was the best I have ever seen in Europe!! If you "eat first with your eyes" you will appreciate this breakfast prepared lovingly and artfully displayed each day by mama Teresa and daughters Alina & Teresa. But there is more! Sons Marco & Giuseppe were invaluable in helping us navigate the city with everything from where to eat to making sure the taxi driver did not overcharge us! They were very patient with our inability to speak Italian and communicated well in English. It was a wonderful first experience in Rome and would not consider staying anywhere else because of the cultural exhange that is so much apart of any travel. Mama Teresa and papa Mario have not only a fine hotel but a wonderful family that we feel so lucky to have experienced. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it was not good! The hotel is in an appartment building and our room was not even in the main floor of the hotel. Every time we left we had to be buzzed into the hotel and then one of the staff had to come with us up to the next level and unlock the door as we did not have a key to it. The floor above us was a regular appartment and they were extremly noisy throught the night which on the of the extremly hard bed made it impossible to sleep. The one great thing was it was within walking distance to most major sights. Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#22 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.