We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure in rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Golden to your Saves list
Hotel Golden
Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WIFI & BREAKFAST
Ranked #7 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on first trip to Rome and we are so glad we did! Hotel Golden is operated by the Loria family and has much to offer that larger hotels do not. It is conveniently located near the Spanish Steps and Termini station in a lovely area. We walked quite comfortably and felt safe. Accomodations were beautiful and spotless with an amazing breakfast that was the best I have ever seen in Europe!! If you "eat first with your eyes" you will appreciate this breakfast prepared lovingly and artfully displayed each day by mama Teresa and daughters Alina & Teresa. But there is more! Sons Marco & Giuseppe were invaluable in helping us navigate the city with everything from where to eat to making sure the taxi driver did not overcharge us! They were very patient with our inability to speak Italian and communicated well in English. It was a wonderful first experience in Rome and would not consider staying anywhere else because of the cultural exhange that is so much apart of any travel. Mama Teresa and papa Mario have not only a fine hotel but a wonderful family that we feel so lucky to have experienced. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    374
    40
    16
    4
See reviews for
499
701
93
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it was not good! The hotel is in an appartment building and our room was not even in the main floor of the hotel. Every time we left we had to be buzzed into the hotel and then one of the staff had to come with us up to the next level and unlock the door as we did not have a key to it. The floor above us was a regular appartment and they were extremly noisy throught the night which on the of the extremly hard bed made it impossible to sleep. The one great thing was it was within walking distance to most major sights. Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Could not have stayed at a more welcoming hotel. The rooms were spotless, the continental breakfast excellent, the greeting when you arrive felt as though you already knew the family. Nothing was too much trouble from recommending restaurants to arranging a trip to the Vatican. This was our first trip to Rome, and definitely will not be our last stay at the Golden. It was recommended by a friend, and it certainly met every need from location to comfort and hospitality. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for making our first trip such a memorable one and we will be returning and recommending this lovely hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

it was just wonderful.How nice people,excellent servis and very good breakfast!With mu girl friend we just wanted to choose some nice small place close to center.But we were not expecting that good place and clean rooms!Thanks to everybody who works there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac Du Bonnet
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our first trip to Rome - checked into the Golden and immediately felt comfortable and welcome. Every member of the family was welcoming and sooo helpful. We loved the neighbourhood (just off Via Veneto) and found we could walk to most of the famous Roman attractions - Ancient Rome, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc. With Giuseppe's help we navigated the subway system and went on a great tour of the Vatican booked by him.
The rooms were clean and well-appointed - quiet for sleeping after along day of walking in the eternal city. Breakfast was a treat - good variety and nicely presented.
We would definitely stay at the Golden on our next trip to Rome and would recommend it to other travellers!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on the main floor - they were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Golden for 2 nights prior to our cruise. We are so-o-o glad we chose this hotel as it felt like home away from home and we were treated like family. Our room was an older type with lots of charm and included a lovely, modern washroom and very comfortable bed. Most of our contact was with Marco (son) who, from our initial contact from our home, was absolutely fabulous. Any enquiries were answered promptly and, after arrival, we also met Giuseppe who, like Marco, was also extremely helpful and informative on the places we wanted to visit and highlighted all points of interest on our map. We could walk to all our must-sees from the hotel. A lovely buffet type breakfast was prepared each morning, by Momma, and it started our day perfectly. I would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Golden again and, if/when we return to Rome, we will not need to find a place to stay, we already have one :-) !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My brother and I stayed in Rome for the first time and decided to book this small 1 floor boutique hotel. We expected it to be cramp and possessing only the barest amenities that something this small can usually afford. How wrong we were.

Instead, we found a very friendly group of family operators that provided impeccable service, making excellent suggestions on where to eat and how to most efficiently spend one's day(s) in Rome. They provide free maps, upon which the desk attendant takes the trouble to scribble and trace detailed routes on how to get around, complete with notes on what is where and how to go about doing the fun things in the city. And, which came as a very pleasant surprise to my brother and me, they manage to provide an amazing complementary breakfast, complete with fresh pastries, homecooked omelets, pineapple, and freshly brewed coffee. To top it off, when I checked out, they helped to send out my postcards for me!

The room we stayed in was huge for two people, with towering ceilings and an enormous bathroom. I'm not sure if this room is typical of all the rooms at Hotel Golden, but to see a room this size for a hotel that appears so outwardly small is astonishing. For comparison, this room was easily twice the size, perhaps more, than a room for two in a city like New York, and it would be priced the same.

Should I return to Rome in the near future, I am definitely coming back to stay here. The location is convenient, being very close to the Borghese Museum and only a 10 minute walk from the Spanish Steps and the Trebuchet Fountain. A cafe with amazing pizzas, authentic pasta entrees, and deserts, though a little pricier than other places in Rome, is just a couple blocks down, and is patronized by locals and tourists alike. Highly recommended folks.

Room Tip: Room 104 is the huge cavernous room in which we stayed. It is equipped with an AC, so those of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Business Hotel in Rome
#90 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.the hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.and the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!come and visit us.. we will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.