We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WIFI & BREAKFAST
Ranked #7 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family of 6 people stayed at the Hotel Golden in the family suite for 4 nights last week. The suite was perfect for us. It is located 1 floor above the main area of the hotel and had 2 huge bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and common area. The staff is very helpful and attentive and made great suggestions for our stay in Rome. When my daughter lost her cell phone on a tour bus, they were happy to help call the company several times and ended up locating the phone! The hotel itself is located 1 minute from Via Veneto and the entrance to Villa Borghese, and about 10 minutes to Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps. The restaurant San Marco and coffee shop Lotti, around the corner were both excellent recommendations. Thanks Hotel Golden for a great stay!!

Room Tip: The Family Suite is very large and good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,015
    346
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
419
613
83
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was our second time in Rome together and we again chose to stay at the Hotel Golden. It is a small, family run hotel in an upmarket location. We felt completely safe at all times and the staff are very helpful and attentive. We walked miles during our 4 night stay but also used public transport to visit the catacombs (metro and bus). At 1 Euro for a 75 minute duration ticket, it was remarkable value. In addition to their help with this, the hotel staff also informed us of the little 116 bus that you catch just around the corner from Harry's Bar. This was a delight and wound its way through narrow cobbled streets before eventually crossing the river to our intended destination of Castel D'Angelo. Following a visit to the Vatican and the area around the castle, it was a pleasure to catch the same bus back again and save on the walking for a change.

The hotel staff are very helpful and genuinely want to help you make the most of your stay. The location is very convenient for wherever you want to visit. We loved our stay at Hotel Golden and hope to visit again in the near future. We would highly recommend it for location, safety and its genuinely helpful staff.

Avoid the pizza restaurant just around the corner (Bruschetta). It's expensive for what it is and they attempted to add a rip-off 5.4 Euro cover charge for bread that we didn't ask for or touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here after an awful hotel stay in Florence and thank goodness we did! Family run business done professionally.

Service: They settled us in quickly, provided and reviewed a map with us, made tons of great recommendations and even suggested we visit the Villa Borghese park for bike rides and museums, while there was still light out on our first day. They recommended the best routes to take, how to maximize our time and trips, they were just wonderful. We enjoyed Rome so much and largely due to them! They welcome you in and you can feel that they truly want you to enjoy your time in Rome and at their establishment. You can see the pride in their service.

Hotel: Cozy, very clean and in a great location. Its a "budget price" but way above other budget hotels and B&Bs and I'd give a 3.5 star hotel ranking. We went every where from here. There is plenty within walking distance or a short bus ride. Even for the Vatican, Colosseum, Spanish Steps we never took more than 15 mins to get there. Great pizzerias, wine shops and delis all around on the same street. We ate at the La Bruschetta 3x, right below our room window and loved it.

Room: Double Room Superior - Clean, large bathroom (in ours), robes, great lighting, large windows to leave open and take in the sights and sounds around us. Bed and pillows were comfy. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, sound comes in through the door but only is a slight problem if it is quiet in your room and not if you are talking or watching TV. I'm a light sleeper and slept soundly with my ear plugs.

Breakfast: Excellent, fresh, plentiful and the variety was outstanding. It completely fueled us for our long days out.

Would definitely recommend staying here and we will be back!

Room Tip: Double Superior Room facing Via Sardegnia. the street is not that busy and we got great light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We would definitely recommend this hotel. This was our first, and best hotel of three that we stayed at in Rome. Located a little north in the city, it was easily accessible to many sights. The room we had was a little small for three adults, but typical for Europe. We didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't an issue. It was clean and quiet. The family who run the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They gave suggestions for restaurants and sights we hadn't originally considered but were very glad we explored (the park just to the north) and told us the city was safe except an area they marked on the map for us. The hotel is in walking distance to many big sights-Trevi fountain and Spanish steps. Breakfast is typical for Italian hotels-rolls, oranges, espresso. They held our luggage for us as we explored the city the next day and called a taxi to take us to our next hotel (for our tour of the country). Enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Hotel Golden. We took our two daughters to Rome and were welcomed by the friendly staff to a clean, comfortable family room. Staff very helpful. Great location - beside Villa Borghese - the girls loved hiring rickshaw-style bicycles in the park. Quiet street location but easy walking distance to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The hotel staff organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport on arrival which was great.

Room Tip: Family room - lovely big double bed and smaller fold up double bed fro children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights late March. Good location near Villa Borghese. About 10-15 mins walk from Spanish Steps. Characterful building with quaint old fashioned elevator. Hotel occupies the first floor. Staff very helpful, Guiseppe provided map and suggestions of where to go as well as local restaurant recommendations. Room was comfortable, not huge but everything was clean and of a good standard. Some noise from the street during the day but quiet at night. . Breakfast room is quite small but there was always a table free during our stay. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here last year and returned to enjoy another excellent stay. The hospitality as always was attentive, informative and enjoyable to discuss where we were planning to visit and afterwards how we had enjoyed our day.
The room was again clean, comfortable and spacious with everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was again excellent and filling with a great variety and as vegetarians catered excellently for us (which on previous holidays has always been a concern but no need for concern at Hotel Golden)
This was our second visit to Rome and we are already planning a third for next year to continue to explore and visit the places we didn't get around to visiting this time, and of course will be intending to stay at Hotel Golden which I now refer to as our home in Rome to visit with Giuseppe, Marco & Family again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.the hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.and the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!come and visit us.. we will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.