We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, far, expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cinecitta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cinecitta to your Saves list
Hotel Cinecitta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via eudo Giulioli, 13, 00173 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,141 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic, far, expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The hotel is more run-down then a highway motel but the rooms are clean and staff was moderately helpful - aside of the fact that you could barely find one that speaks English.
Rooms were clean but that's where the good stuff ends. Room is decent in size however no carpeting, only tiles on the floors, kind of uncomfortable to walk on if you didn't bring slippers -- which they do not provide - , a very hard mattress ( double room means twin beds put together) lousy pillows. The walls look like they've been painted with a broom, the light fixtures have been recently changed i assume however they forgot a wire that was just dangling from the ceiling near to the other light fixture.
The location, it's on the outskirts of Rome, minutes walk to the Subway and 14 subway stations to Termini. Did not look like a very safe place to return to at night.

Overall, i would not recommend this place to anyone for more than a night's stay if you cannot find anything else. Now the person that chose this hotel for our group got a piece of our minds when we got there and we learned too look up reviews before going somewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    11
    12
    29
See reviews for
5
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Buyer Beware! Our tour coordinator for a soccer trip (4 Tors Sports Tours) booked us into this hotel. Clearly it doesn't take much to earn a 3-star rating in Italy. There are only three positive points I can make about this hotel: the cappucino in the coffe bar next door is good; the bathroom in my room was ok (but one of my fellow travelers had only drops of water coming from the shower); the subway station is a short, scary walk away. The negative points are legion so I'll just give you a few: one of our tour members had to take a cab to this hotel and had a hard time finding a driver that would take him there; the carpets in the common areas are filthy and stained; the mattresses on the single beds are ancient (I would guess that they date from the 50's). If I had been by myself instead of with a large group, I would not have felt safe here at all and would have moved to a different hotel immediately.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

If iou'e going to Hotel Cinecitta don't be put off by the reviews- they are OTT.
Yes , the hotel is run down and a little tired and struggles to live up to its three stars, but it does not approach the levels stated in the reviews. It is fairly clean, basic but comfortable, the atmosphere is friendly and the staff are helpful. The Metro station is only five minute's walk away, and although the area is not attractive, neither is it intimidating.
Some people are not happy unless they are complaining.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my whole life is called Cinecitta in Rome. This hotel ruined my trip, b/c I basically went without sleep for 5 days. Of course, a place like Rome gives new meeting to a city that does not sleep, but after 12-hour days in the city, scouring museums, churches and other tourist destinations, the last thing you want to find is a shower that is so small that you can't bend over ( I showed alone) and the obnoxious hotel management does not even turn on AC until the month of July. I was there in May of 2005, and it was increadibly HOT. The coffee tastes like @$$, the beds are too old, the mattresses were also from hell. If you have back problems, stay away from here. Heck, if you have an ounce of common sense, stay away.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Stay well clear of this dreadful hole!

We had three rooms there for the family and it is truly awful - filthy dirty, marks all over the walls and 'ladies of the night' hanging around after dark and obviously using the hotel for business transactions!

The area is nowhere near central Rome and is located in a poor neighbourhood in the suburbs.

I am a very frequent traveller and have put up with poor hotels but this one is a real dump.

Mr Howard
London, UK

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

One of the worst hotels we have ever been to. The rooms are very small and the standards very low. Not to mention the poor location. About a 10 minute walk to the metro in what appeared to be a very unsavory area. We didn't feel safe standing outside, let alone walking to the metro!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cinecitta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinecitta

Address: via eudo Giulioli, 13, 00173 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,141 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cinecitta 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cinecitta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinecitta Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cinecitta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.