We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's about it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Coins B&B

3 Coins B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Coins B&B to your Saves list
3 Coins B&B
Via Dei Crociferi No. 26, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,905 of 2,859 Rome B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B & B for 2 nights in June. On a positive note the location was excellent - a minutes walk to the Trevi Fountain and within walking distance of all the major sites. Unfortunetely our private double room with en-suite was very small with a very old decor however it was clean. The breakfast is virtually non-existent - cup of tea/coffee and a tiny bit of toast! They do not cater for ravenous Irish lads looking for a fry!! The outside of the building and internal hallway looks unappealing and be aware the you must travel up about 5 fllights of stairs to reach the door of the B&B - it would not suit someone with a disability etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

I felt I had to write to redress the balance somewhat since several people had not been at all happy with the 3coins. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of June. We stayed in an ensuite double room. This had a TV in the room and a hairdryer in the bathroom and a fridge to keep your drinks cold should you buy any. Water was nice and hot in the shower, decor was lovely in the room and everything was clean. Room also had an air conditioning unit which was so welcome since it was very hot indeed during our visit. In fact the only flaw in the decor was where the wall paint had been damaged in the installation of this unit. Localtion is great, 3Coins is just steps from the Trevi fountain and we walked to all the sights (except the vatican!!) from the hotel - it's very well situated with 100's of restaurants in the surrounding area.

I can't comment on the non ensuite rooms which people have described as tiny - but our ensuite was a good size. I also looked at the shared toilet / shower room while I was there (It was right outside our door) This was spotlessly clean - as was our room and the kitchen.

The Kitchen is tiny, there really isn't room for more than 2 people to sit and eat and breakfast is a crossant and / or bread roll with preserves and coffee. It is served from 9am and we were always out and about before then to make the most of the cooler mornings so we never ate in the B&B.

The door to the building was mentioned in another review - it does indeed look absolutely nothing like a hotel from the outside. In fact I think much of the building is residential with the top floors coverted to a B&B. The outside door is a huge wooden thing with no lock or handle...but it only opens onto the corridoor to the staircase. 3 Coins is on the fourth floor - which is a long way up if you're not so steady on your legs - for this reason I wouldn't recommend the hotel for older people or those with children, but for younger (I'm 33!) couples looking for clean decent accomodation in a good location I think it's worth a stay. There is a strong outside door to the B&B on the 4th floor and each room has it's own lock also.

Payment is up front in cash. The girl who welcomed us was very nice and we managed to understand each other even though she has little English and we have little Italian! We didn't have the cash on us, but she was happy for us to bring it later when we'd been for a walk.

I'm sure there are other similar places in Rome - it isn't anything particularly special - but it was absolutely fine for us.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

i stayed with my boyfriend 4 days in this hotel, and we were both very pleased with the service. i have read other comments complaining about the rooms and management but it clearly wasn't our case. our room was well deacorated, clean and cosy, had a more than acceptable bathroom and was well equiped with hairdryer, tv etc.. this of course, is a small hostel, more like a house with a common kitchen,but that is no problem, it is better to have breakfst in any of the cafes neraby anyway. the host is great, im sure he will help you with anything if you ask him,and we didn't see the hostess much but she was correct too and not rude in any case, as i have read.
the location is great, really close to the trevi fountain(although you can't see it from the hostel windows) and at walking distance to all of the monuments and piazzas there are to see(we didn't take the bus once.
there is no lift,but really, there aren't that many steps,it's easy to cope with.
i would recommend this hostel specially to young couples, and i would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

This was a truly terrible place. In all my travels, this was definitely one of the worst. There is no guarantee that you can stay here even if you've made a booking.

We turned up at this b&b in rome and after keeping us waiting while he chatted on the phone, the host promptly led us out of the place to a sister hotel quite far away. It seems to be a scam to overbook the b&b at trevi fountain to get people to stay in their other hotels where most people wouldn't normally stay (overcharged for terrible conditions).

After we made some complaints, he rudely assured us that we would have a room at 3 coins the next evening. The following morning, they refused to provide breakfast even though we'd paid for a b&b and said there was no room at 3coins.

The people who own this chain are really just not worth your time. Be careful of their scam and they are really rude.

After the first night, we left and ended up staying at a hostel whose conditions were much nicer (basic clean sheets and towels which was more than these people could provide and the hosts actually had manners) for less than half the price.

If you've decided to make a reservation here anyway, make sure you turn up very early to make sure that you get a room, otherwise you'll end up somewhere you definitely don't want to be. Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

My wife and I, plus three other travel companions, stayed at the 3 Coins in May 2005. Our first impression was horrible. They don't show the actual place on their website for good reason because the front door looks nothing like a hotel.

There is no reception desk-- just a sullen young woman who appears to hate life who checks you in while sitting in the tiny, cramped kitchenette.

Do not stay here unless you are on a tight budget and you do not care about charm or amenities. If all you need is a cheap bed and a clean bathroom, then this place should be tolerable.

Another note of warning-- there is no elevator and you have to hike up four or five flights of steep staircases that have broken or unsecured rugs running up the middle. This was not too treacherous for us, but it would have been a problem if we had had an elderly person with us.

Also, be careful about your reservations. First, we reserved a room with two twin beds for a pair of our companions. When we arrived, they put them in a room with one bed to share and blamed us for not understanding. Second, they falsely claimed that we did not book our last night there so we were forced to waste time searching for another place to stay. We ended up at the airport Hilton. It worked out in the end because the last night in luxury was great.

-Richmond, Va

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

Stayed here the last night of our 16 day 20th anniversary trip as last night before we flew out. Had contemplated staying at Airport hotel but opted for one more night in Roma for more good memories. Wrong!. TheB&B we had earlier stayed at in Rome was booked. They had graciously made these reservations which we appreciated but we don't think they had ever seen this place. I had used TripAdvisor extensively for hotel reviews for every place we stayed during our 16 day stay. Loved every hotel or B&B! Every TripAdvisor review was true. All places reviewed by me and booked were right on and excellent! Unfortuneately I had not researched this place, just relied on the other hotel's recommendation. This one night nearly ruined our 16 day stay in Italy and prior good memories of Rome. Rude hostess! Tiny room with no room for 2 suitcases. Looked dirty. One small window with frosted glass. Had to climb over stacked suitcases to get around room. Horrible Experience!!!. Don't stay here! Stay anywhere but here!!!!! Location is the only positive, but really, being near Trevi Fountain just means being near zillions of other people. So what. Go for any place but this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

We stayed here in mid-March 2005. I can't remember where I found this B&B, but for us it turned out to be a more reasonably priced option. It's about 40 steps from the Trevi Fountain and in a great location. We liked the neighborhood as well. There is also a bus depot area about 1.5 blocks from the hotel. It isn't very close to a metro station (not many places are). The B&B doesn't necessarily conform to what most would consider a B&B concept. Breakfast was coffee and a pre-packaged croissant in a kitchen only large enough to fit two guests at a time. We skipped it for fresh pastries and espresso at the local coffee shop. We reserved a room for 78 Euros with a shared bath. The bathroom was very nice and clean each day. There was plenty of hot water. The best way to describe the room is clean but small. I've had college dorm rooms easily twice the size, and dorm rooms are always small. The width of the room was just large enough to fit a full size bed and nightstand. We got what we wanted in this place. Which was a good location and reasonable price. I'd stay here again but only for a couple days at a time. The room is too small for a week’s stay. They were accommodating with our very late arrival of 11 pm. We made sure to keep them updated on our arrival time via email to avoid problems. They work on a strict cash up front basis. This place is truly in a great location. There are larger rooms available but at a higher price.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 Coins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Coins B&B

Address: Via Dei Crociferi No. 26, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,905 of 2,859 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Coins are referred to Trevi Fountain, known as the welcoming place where everybody that comes for the first time to Rome, follows the tradition tossing over the left shoulder 3 coins with three wishes. This small jewel with a family atmosphere is right next to Trevi Fountain and few steps from Piazza di Spagna, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Piazza di Popolo not to mention that the Roman Forum and Colosseum are a 10 minutes walk away. Extraordinary elegant and spacious bedrooms are decorated and furnished with good taste and personal attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your 3 Coins B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Coins Bed And Breakfast
3 Coins Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Coins B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.